We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing winery in a Great Location”

Kingston Family Vineyards
Book In Advance
More Info
$50.00*
and up
Bike and Wine Tour at Casablanca Wine Valley
Ranked #1 of 26 things to do in Casablanca
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: In the early 1900s, mining engineer C.J. Kingston left his home in Michigan looking for gold in Chile. While he never found it, his search yielded a cattle ranch in Casablanca Valley. Generations later, his descendants are showing the same pioneering spirit in exploring new frontiers in Chilean winemaking. Growing red wine grapes in a valley known for whites, Kingston Family Vineyards has been hailed as Winery of the Year by Wine & Spirits Magazine.
Santiago, Chile
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing winery in a Great Location”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

This is one of the lesser known wineries in the Casablanca Valley, but by far one you dont want to miss. After only an hour bus ride you emerge into the rolling hills of the Casablanca Valley where we visited the Kingston Family Vineyard. The sophisticated collection of wines were equally matched by the beauty of the landscape we gazed upon from the stone patio with fountains were the tastings were held. I highly recommend making this one of your must stop vineyards on your tour of Casablanca Valley

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank keithmodz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    186
    15
    6
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santiago
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Serene environment, beautiful view and excellent wine”
Reviewed January 18, 2013

What a way to spend an afternoon in the Casablanca Valley (only one hour from Santiago). The tree-lined drive leads you far away from civilization to Kingston's modern bodega. The family's story is like something out of a book or movie. After visiting the operation, a stone patio, circled by fountains, welcomes you to try some fantastic wine while taking in the beautiful view of the valley. I could have stayed all day. A definite must do for any wine lover visiting or living in Chile.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank mitchellmadisonpark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Scenic drive, relaxing visit, and great wines”
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Hidden away in the Casablanca Valley, the drive from Santiago was definitely worth the trip. After leaving Santiago on a hot day, we arrived at the Kingston Family Vineyards to find the valley unexpectedly cool and slightly foggy – a great surprise and perfect for walking around outside. Judith greeted us and took her time walking us through the entire winemaking process, explaining the history of the vineyard, and taking special attention to describe the extra care used in producing their signature Pinot Noir.

We then moved on to the terrace to taste the wine, which was a perfect location. The terrace was set into a hillside overlooking the valley, and was very quiet. With only the sounds of birds chirping, leaves rustling, and water trickling from several fountains, it was incredibly relaxing. We were able to relax, taste the wine, and enjoy the scenery.

Kingston was the opposite of your traditional, large vineyard/winery experience. We felt very welcomed, never rushed, and all of our questions were met with enthusiasm. If you find yourself in Santiago with a few hours to spare, a visit to Kingston should be on your list.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank BCWTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Informative tour in a gorgeous setting”
Reviewed January 14, 2013

We spent a morning at the Kingston Family Vineyards. What a gorgeous setting; on the hillside in Chile's Casablanca Valley. Judith was highly knowledgable about wines and the wine making process, endlessly patient answering all of our questions and so passionate about wines! Her enthusiasm was catching. Wine tasting on the terrace, overlooking the valley, followed by lunch at a local restaurant accompanied by Kingston wines. We returned to Santiago feeling relaxed and clam. Thoroughly recommend a trip to Kingston.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank CD_Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A Family-run Winery - A beautiful day of Sun and Wine - A Great Day Trip”
Reviewed January 14, 2013

A hidden gem. This beautiful winery in Chile’s Casablanca valley is just an hour’s journey outside of Santiago. The Kingston Winery Tour was interesting and informative set amongst a beautiful backdrop of rolling hills and calmness and colour. Post the tour around the Winery itself we then tasted several wines outside on a sepcially built patio while taking in the beautiful scenery. Some amazing wines and a peacful setting made for a wonderful experience. A great day trip outside of Santiago complemented with a trip to a local chocolate factory also!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank blavan1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kingston Family Vineyards also viewed

Casablanca, Valparaiso Region
Casablanca, Valparaiso Region
 
Casablanca, Valparaiso Region
Casablanca, Valparaiso Region
 

Been to Kingston Family Vineyards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing