We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food's grear, ownera are great, perhaps a little training in restaurant management would be good”
Review of Casa Botha

Casa Botha
Ranked #8 of 31 Restaurants in Casablanca
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Food's grear, ownera are great, perhaps a little training in restaurant management would be good”
Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

The place is great, well decorated, it is attended by its owners which is always good and they were great hosters. We had some fantastic plates, including a fish, ribs on a good spicy puree and a fillet. The fillet came too raw which is fine, we ask our waiter to put it a little bit more on the fire... It came back tasting like fish... Of course they used the same sarten as the one of the other plate... A fish tasting fillet is not something you would like in your memory bank... Prices are not low... Overall we rate it excellent it is a minor issue they need to solve

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank juanophillips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    27
    5
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Maidenhead UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Friendliest place in Chile”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We just had lunch at Casa Botha, and it was excellent. David is an extremely attentive host, and in fact the whole experience was rather like a riotous family lunch. By far the friendliest place I have been to in Chile. We had a tabla of cheeses and cured meats to start, accompanied by porotos a lo pobre and delicious juicy green olives. Main of congrio a la plancha - a thick chunk of succulent fresh fish (kingklip) cooked perfectly - with boiled potatoes and parsley butter (even the potatoes are worthy of mention: creamy and delicious). Dessert was homemade apple pie with vanilla ice cream. All washed down with a delicious Refugio pinot noir. We had the fortune to be sharing the room with the owners of the Tunquen winery and so were 'forced' to try their produce - a cabernet franc, malbec and sauvignon blanc. All were outstanding. The Sauvignon Blanc is the only one I have tried in Chile that I liked - so much so that I bought a bottle to bring home.

This meal capped a great weekend - British and Irish Lions thrashed Australia, Murray won Wimbledon, and we finished the Desafio de Peñuelas. The only downer - if you are Chilean - Ghana knocked Chile out of the football world cup on penalties after a last gasp equaliser in extra time.

We will definitely go back, and soon.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank alicadden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
104 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“An Absolute MUST - Amazing Food & Fantastic Experience”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

My father and I spent our final day of a week-long ski trip to the Santiago-area driving along the Casablanca Valley wine route and stopped at Casa Botha for lunch and we are SO glad we did! Our experience here was the standout of our trip. The food David and his talented team prepared for us was outstanding (homemade gnocchi with blue cheese and osso buco lasagna as well as homemade bread and delicious apple pie) and the service was even better. As soon as we walked in we were greeted enthusiastically by David and ushered into the cozy dining area, where we had a table right next to the fireplace -- the perfect spot for a rainy winter afternoon. Having lunch here was more akin to spending a relaxing afternoon chatting with friends (if you are lucky enough to have friends who also produce world-class food!) than sitting in a restaurant we had never been to before. Overall this was a truly outstanding dining experience. David's lovely Casa Botha will be a sure-stop on our next visit to Chile.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NYCTraveller323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Truly exceptional restaurant. Would stand out anywhere.”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

My wife and I enjoyed two excellent meals here over the course of five days wine tasting around Casablanca. David and his wife make incredible food in a charming setting and have a truly unique and exceptional wine list. Not to mention being incredibly friendly and welcoming individuals.

David will happily (and astutely) pair great wines with even better food. We were in South America solely to taste wine and actually ended up cancelling tastings in order to go back to Casa Botha.

This is amongst the best restaurant experiences I can remember having. If you are anywhere nearby (I mean anywhere in Chile), you should make a point of eating a relaxed and wonderful lunch at Casa Botha and tasting some of the difficult to find, local wines they have to offer.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CLSwine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
212 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Amazing lunch time”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

We visited Casa Botha on other expats' recommendations. I had emailed Dave a couple months back and he answered promptly.

We made it there with a visiting friend. The 3 of us absolutely loved the whole experience. We were the first to arrive, the waiter went the extra mile to make us happy with a table in the shade. The terrasse is really really nice. We started with the 'ensalada de campo', an asparagus soup and tuna tartar, everything was delicious but the salad was one of the best we've had. Then, the boys had the duck lasagna while I had the pesto/pistacchio gnocchi. The guys kept saying all day long that their lasagna was amazing (I have to say, it did look great). I'm really picky with gnocchi and pesto as well, both can be boring after a while even when they're good. Well, it wasn't in this case, it was really good all the way. I was in good hands, Dave's wife is Italian (but I've had not so exciting gnocchi nor pesto at Italian restaurants).

Service and waiters were really nice. Dave is an amazing host from South Africa. He's so friendly and nice. We kept switching between English and Spanish, talking about food, wine and astronomy. He bakes the delicious bread (that you'll have along with tasty sauces). We love to follow the passionate host's suggestions when it comes to their dishes and wines. That said, it hasn't happened a lot, except for our favorite Indian restaurant in Santiago which is a winner in that category. It shows that you're not just a client bringing money and that the host doesn't do that job only for the money. We weren't disappointed, we'll be back !

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bigmoumout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa Botha also viewed

Casablanca, Valparaiso Region
Casablanca, Valparaiso Region
 
Casablanca, Valparaiso Region
Casablanca, Valparaiso Region
 
Casablanca, Valparaiso Region
Casablanca, Valparaiso Region
 

Been to Casa Botha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing