We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a bit of a let-down”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Casablanca,Spa & Wine
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Casablanca
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
94 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“a bit of a let-down”
Reviewed December 12, 2011

We were on the last night or a one-week trip to Chile and had loved every place we stayed so this was a bit of a let down. The owner was very nice, the room was really nice but . . . no hot water for a shower in the morning and no spa, although we were able to book a massage but only after business hours. The owner, to his credit, was very apologetic and made sure we left in a good frame of mind. Also, the hotel is less than a kilometer from the main autopista between Valparaiso and Santiago so lots of traffic noise if wind blows the wrong way. Wouldn't avoid this place as it is a good staging point for Casablanca wineries and the owner is trying and deserves a chance

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CRMrules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    55
    45
    28
    25
See reviews for
36
112
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2011

My boyfriend and I were looking to stay one night in the Casablanca region before heading to Valparaiso the following day. We arrived and couldn't find anyone, but soon a guy cleaning the pool found the owner. They were preparing for a large corporate event, but allowed us to stay the night. I believe we were the only folks staying there that night. The owner and his wife were really nice. They gave us a welcome drink of white wine and gave us recommendations on where to eat dinner. We had worked out the price of the room and when our breakfast was to be served the next morning.

However, when we awoke and went to eat breakfast - the manager on duty seemed to be confused that we were there. We were told to go back to our room and that they would bring us breakfast there. After waiting another 45mins, we had to leave - so we went back to the manager and said that we would only pay for the room and not the breakfast part (since we were forgotten and obviously weren't served breakfast). She called the owner and we were given the discount.

The place itself is decent. The room was huge and warm, but it was a bit musty. The pool looked lovely and they had things like a gym. It makes a great place to stay for the night while driving through, but that's about it. We really liked the owner and his wife and their hospitality were by far the best part of this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelislifegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2011

This place Is very contrasted!! When you arrive everything seem idyllic, nice and comfortable bedroom, good landscape, very nice swimming pool, spa... At first sight it looks nearly like a luxury hotel! The problems are if you look the details!!! The jacuzzi had no hot water, the restaurant is in a wonderful huge old building but too big and the were no heating so it was freezing inside! I had to have dinner with my coat... But the worse was the food!! The prices were the ones of a upper luxury restaurant but the food was the same as in a basic supermakert! The "tabla" which is supposed to contain typical products was for the half made of supermarket chips!!!! I complained to the management, and fortunately I get reimbused for the dinner. But that is a pity because this place has a very good potential. Anyway I would recommend this place, very nice to sleep there, but I would recommend to eat to another restaurant called macerado only 3min by CAR from this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Duenito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
1 review
Reviewed August 31, 2011

This is a lovely place to stay, great people, very careful, kind, responsive and attentive to customer needs. It is a place very well located, very nice place to stay, rest and enjoy. This beautiful hotel care a lot about the details making the guest really fell in home and well received / supported.
I'll be back for sure, hope soon.
André from Brazil

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank André Mendes L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2011

We stayed here for a weekend and after reading below were wary there could be issues. However, any problems they might have had are either fixed or nowhere to be seen. We had an amazing stay and at all times greeted warmly and treated like important guests despite staying in the lowest category room and it being a busy weekend.
Our only regret is not being able to stay longer!

Hotel: Lovely, charming property with feature bedrooms. There is a cosy lounge with a fire to read by. It is a shame it was too cold to use the pool but once they finish building the heated pool this will be great. There is a hot tub too.

Rooms: As it was a cold weekend, they had made sure to heat our room before we arrived. The room was comfortable, immaculate and spacious with pretty design touches. The beds and pillows were very comfortable. OK size bathroom and always hot water.

Dining: Breakfast buffet was served til late but could do with a bit more variation. Dinner had good selection and was great to see the owners chatting to all the guests and helping with the wine choice. Food was very good with local produce and also Chilean dishes.

Activities: They organised for us several wine tours and inexpensive transport to get there. We did not have to think about anything but just enjoy. I also had a really very good massage at their spa (v cheap by European standards).

Conclusion: Ignore the negative reviews below. This is the only place to stay to explore this wine region and we only wished we lived closer to return.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sometravel2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork,Ireland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2011

I stayed in Hotel Ruta Del Vino from the night of our wedding for 4 nights. The place is very pretty, gorgeous pool, and stylishly decorated, however, we found it all very disorganised. There was only one key per room so when we left to go out during the day our room was not cleaned and the beds unmade because we had the only key. The most distasteful part was that it was being promoted as a boutique hotel yet as you arrive you see an ENORMOUS sign saying MOTEL HOTEL and it was an ugly sign at that. Considering the hotel was so small, some of our family and friends stayed at the motel which was on the same sight but just not as nicely decorated. My sister chose not to stay in her room as there were ants and other creepy crawlies in the room and she decided to head back to Santiago. On the positive side, it is pretty, it has a big barbeque area that can be rented, the restaurant isn't bad (although it is only open from Friday evening to Sunday lunch time) so that was a major issue when i had left my father and his partner alone for the evening only to have them ring us saying that the restaurant was closed and they had nowhere to go. Nowhere to go simply because the hotel is out of town and they didn't have a car. The staff, however, were lovely and most of them spoke excellent english. The hotel overall is very unfinished. We woke up to builders hammering and dogs barking ( there are LOTS of stray dogs). Overall I didn't love it. We stayed there for the swimming pool and simply because there was no other hotel in Casablanca.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dindalady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orlando
1 review
Reviewed February 5, 2009

the staff was just fantastic, the service and the food out of this world.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank macarena_906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Casablanca
13.6 mi away
La Mirage Parador
La Mirage Parador
#3 of 6 in Algarrobo
78 reviews
23.4 mi away
Verso Hotel
Verso Hotel
#5 of 34 in Valparaiso
233 reviews
20.0 mi away
Hotel Playa Cartagena
Hotel Playa Cartagena
#1 of 1 in Cartagena
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.8 mi away
Winery Boutique Hotel
Winery Boutique Hotel
#2 of 6 in Algarrobo
162 reviews
11.6 mi away
Hotel La Casona de Vina Matetic
1.7 mi away
Umawtu Bed and Wine
Umawtu Bed and Wine
#2 of 3 in Casablanca
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casablanca,Spa & Wine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casablanca,Spa & Wine

Property: Hotel Casablanca,Spa & Wine
Address: Ruta F-74-G 68 | Intersection of Tapihue, Casablanca 2480534, Chile
Location: Chile > Valparaiso Region > Casablanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Casablanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Casablanca,Spa & Wine 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Casablanca,Spa & Wine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Casablanca,Spa And Wine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing