We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Why aren't all B&B's like this!”
Review of Pitfour House

Pitfour House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Timsbury
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pitfour House
Ranked #2 of 3 Timsbury B&B and Inns
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Why aren't all B&B's like this!”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Frances and Martin, the owners, provided a wonderful and warm welcome on arrival, bringing us into their home, making us tea, coffee and homemade buscuits, and taking the time to get to know us.

They were so thoughtful. Frances had even left a birthday card for me on the table in the room! Her recommendation of a restaurant (the Pony and Trap, Chew Magna) for my birthday meal was superb, and she sorted out the taxi arrangements too at a fixed price.

Why aren't all B&B's like this!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SMS93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
25
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Crewkerne, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 11, 2012

My husband and I have stayed at several Wolsey Lodges in different parts of the UK all of which we have enjoyed, though our visit to Pitfour House in July was certainly the best. A beautiful house and furnishings, delightful hosts and the most delicious food. Two days of bliss! In fact we enjoyed ourselves so much that we made a return visit last month even though our hostess was coping with a broken leg and whizzing around in a wheelchair., Nothing was too much trouble. If you want to visit Bath and its environs Pitfour House is the ideal place to stay..

Room Tip: One room has an en suite with shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2012

The owners of this stunning Georgian house made our 5-day sojourn perfect in every possible way. Our bedroom was elegant and spacious, with a large comfortable bed and immaculate shower-room. The sitting-rooms downstairs were charming and beautifully furnished in period style. Delicious meals were served in the exquisite dining-room - Frances deserves the highest praise for her culinary skills. She is ably assisted by Martin, who also provides fresh produce from the garden. The charming village of Timsbury is well placed for visiting Bath and other places of interest. Our hosts were delightful company and we were grateful for their advice on finding our way around the locality. Cannot be too highly recommended.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2012

Pitfour House is conveniently situated in the small village of Timsbury, near Bath, Bristol and Wells. It is delightful. The charming hosts, Frances and Martin Hardman, have created a mixture of contemporary and period elegance within their lovely Georgian house. Frances is a very talented cook and our supper was delicious (book ahead and do eat with the hosts, who have had very impressive careers and now have many interests). The large en-suite bedroom has a super-comfortable bed and is very peaceful. The ground floor reception rooms are fascinating and everywhere is sparkling clean. A friendly welcome is guaranteed. We will definitely return.

Room Tip: We only saw the en-suite bedroom - it is lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beautyreviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2011

We only stayed here for one night but were sad it was not for longer. Frances and Martin are terrific hosts and their house and garden are beautiful. Although Pitfour House may be off the beaten track; it suited our needs perfectly. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HughWoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2011

If you are looking for a fantastic B&B near Bath which gives the small village charm, look no father than Pitfour House and Martin and Frances Hardman. Calling their home a B&B is almost a misnomer; a small manner lodge would be a better description. The Hardman's have a gorgeous home which is only excelled by their own hospitality. We also had dinner (need to arrange in advance) at Pitfour. The food was a fantastic, and I loved talking with both Martin and Frances.

If you're tired from traveling, plan to spend some peaceful relaxing moments in the garden. You won't regret it!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichHoeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Timsbury
0.6 mi away
The Old Malt House
The Old Malt House
#1 of 1 in Timsbury
148 reviews
6.7 mi away
Villa at Henrietta Park
1.5 mi away
School Cottages Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Cranleigh
Cranleigh
#14 of 154 in Bath
787 reviews
6.6 mi away
Henrietta House
Henrietta House
#13 of 154 in Bath
1,175 reviews
5.4 mi away
High Beeches
High Beeches
#15 of 154 in Bath
792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pitfour House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pitfour House

Property: Pitfour House
Address: Pitfour House High Street, Timsbury, Bath BA2 0HT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath > Timsbury
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Timsbury
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing