We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fab place for a big get together!”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Average
16 reviews
Floorplan
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
7 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 15
Norton St Philip, Bath, Somerset, England

Reviews from our community

Average - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Charlotte...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fab place for a big get together!”
Reviewed March 25, 2018 for a stay in March 2018
2
people found this review helpful

I booked this amazing house for my 30th birthday following a recommendation from a friend who had already stayed there, and couldn't recommend it enough for a big get together!
I know a few others have said this in reviews, but the photos really don't do justice to how huge the house actually is! It's like a maze inside! There's plenty of space for everyone so you're never going to feel like you're on top of each other.
Beds were all really comfortable (if a little squeaky!) and the place was clean when we arrived. The hot tub is an amazing addition, and the pool was lots of fun.
Only complaint I have is the showers. We knew the top floor communal shower had poor pressure, so expected this, but unfortunately a lot of the other showers also had the issue of being very very cold! Most of us ended up having to use the tiny shower by the pool in the end, which isn't ideal, but we made it work. That was the only thing I could find fault with though.
Norton St Philip is a gorgeous little village, and the old pub down the road is lovely! Also definitely recommend a trip to Bath, as it's a gorgeous city. Get a Sally Lunn Bun!
Overall I had an amazing time, and would come back in a heartbeat! :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 28, 2018
thank you for your review - it was great to have you stay
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jo S
Totnes, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mum s 60 th birthday”
Reviewed January 23, 2018 for a stay in January 2018
1
person found this review helpful

We had a fantastic time here for my mums 60 th birthday, we were a mix of ages and everyone enjoyed the stay .
the house is amazing , the pool and hot tub are equally as amazing , hot tub was huge.
Kitchen has all you need for cooking , lounge is lovely and cosy, there’s plenty of dining space for large groups.
The bedrooms are all ok , the main bedroom is really nice .
I think the house could do with electric showers as some of the showers played up.
But that would be my only negative .
The owner was very helpful and as there was no one in the house the day before he let us check in a bit earlier.
The george pub down the road does really lovely food for a celebration meal out .
We would definitely all go back and stay here again .

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 28, 2018
thank you for your review - it was great to have you stay
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent location”
Reviewed September 14, 2017 for a stay in September 2017
2
people found this review helpful

The Corn house is situated in an excellent location within easy walking distance to the local bus into Bath and the George Pub in Philip Norton with its splendid views of the church and cricket green. We arrived at the Corn House on Friday 1st September to celebrate my 50th birthday, the kitchen/dining areas/sitting room and bedrooms space was very good with adequate seating area outside. Our first impression was it had the Wow factor, however there were a few areas that do need addressing for the amount of money it cost for 2 nights. The conservatory roofs leaks and roof area needs some TLC, the cover on the hot tub needs replacing as riped and very tatty, the kitchen is in need of a deep clean as we had to wash the plates and untensils before we used them, the water pressure needs addressing to accomondate for a party of 15 and the wheel handle in the swimming pool needs replacing.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“brilliant”
Reviewed September 4, 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

everything you need hot tub was great pool fab lots of stairs .needs a bit of attention to decor and furnture

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 28, 2018
thank you for your review - it was great to have you stay
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lyn p
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great house but badly in need of TLC and cleaning.”
Reviewed August 23, 2017 for a stay in August 2017
5
people found this review helpful

This house sounded just what my family of 10 wanted, a big house with lots of facilities. We stayed for 1 week from the 14th August-21st August. Our family ranged in ages from 10 -76 years. I had read previous reviews and was concerned about some of the problems previous guests had encountered. I spoke to the owner who assured me the house would be fine when we arrived. Once we had settled and decided who was sleeping where, certain problems began to show. We thought we might have a bar b q but on opening the bar b q we were faced with a mouldy burger and 2 sausages. We contacted the agency straight away and the next day they sent someone to come and clean it !! All the bedrooms were very nicely decorated and spacious. The master bedroom with the 4 poster bed was impressive but the shower in the ensuite was badly in need of regrouting to remove the black mould. The wall leading up to the bedroom was dreadful. It was damp and covered in mould. We propped the door open with a fire extinguisher to airrate the room. The lounge was lovely, spacious and with plenty of seating.. Downstairs is where most of the problems are. The downstairs cloakroom was awful, floor dirty and very uninviting. None of the adults used it. The kitchen although large is in need of a desperate deep clean. Drawers and cupboards with lots of bits of food etc. The sink was awful, stained brown and as for the washing up bowl !!!!!!! The floor was filthy !!! The dining area didn't fare much better. Some of the chairs were rickety and sunken and uncomfortable.The dining area is in a wooden conservatory. If you are lucky enough not to encounter any rain you won't notice how bad it is. We had several days of rain in the evenings and overnight. It leaked so badly we had to put several saucepans on the tables to catch the rain. !! The owners knew that the conservatory leaked as previous guests had had the same problem. The wood on the window ledges is rotting and the whole area needs drastic repairs. The hot tub leaks although it is still fine to use. The cover is well passed its best. The swimming pool was the main attraction for the children and although they had great fun we were very concerned about the electrics at the far end of the pool. Both junction boxes were hanging off the wall and cables hanging loose. We phoned the owner who said he would get someone to check it out. When we left the electrician still hadn't arrived. The window ledge was absolutely disgusting covered in green mould and the radiator no better completely rusty. As previous guests had said the pool cover needs to be replaced. The garden area is spacious with plenty of chairs. Great when the sun shines. The village is lovely and the George pub perfect. We all enjoyed our time at The Corn House but the points that I have made need to be addressed. The house itself is amazing and is let down so badly by the lack of attention to many obvious problems. I did talk to the owners while we were at the house and upon my return.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harriet B
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect big house for hen party”
Reviewed July 26, 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Perfect house for hen parties - very large and lots of shared space for dinner etc and added bonus of a hot tub and pool. Close to Bath for night out. House is a bit tired in places but that is fine for its purpose.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul W
Hythe, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“In desperate need of TLC”
Reviewed May 9, 2017 for a stay in May 2017
6
people found this review helpful

This place needed to be palatial given the customer service we experienced before we got there but more on that later…

The immediate reaction when you get there is ‘wow’. But as my grandmother used to say it is sadly ‘all fur coat and no knickers’ – within minutes you see just how tatty it all is. Let’s start with the pool, which is I suspect a key feature for most people. Simply it needs ventilation. And TLC. The walls are mouldy, the wheel on the cover reel is snapped off and the cover is so old there are bits of it floating in the pool.

As a result of the snapped wheel, it is a nightmare to get the very heavy cover off/on the pool.

And the smell of the chlorine permeates the bedrooms, which is more than the WiFi does – this is only available in the lounge/kitchen.

The lack of TLC continues with the bedrooms – ours featured broken, mouldy blinds and a shower (or should I call it a dribble) with very poor pressure.

In the lounge the TV is supported with at least 4 remote controls – 3 of which don’t seem to work, including a redundant Sky box. No biggy, but it’s just indicative of the lack of care this place has suffered.

Another example? The glass on the ‘conservatory’ dining area has slipped into the gutter and has been patch repaired with some planks and felt – thankfully it didn’t rain when we were there.

To complete the TLC story, let’s talk about customer service. When we received the information pack the amount of ‘dos and don’ts is pretty exhaustive – they certainly expect more effort than they put in. But what really galled us all was the entry/leave times. You aren’t allowed in until 5pm and you have to leave by 10am. That means we effectively had 2 days when actually in our minds we had paid for 4.

Unhappy? Of course! Complained? Yes! Response? Computer says no!

In fairness, one owner got involved and offered another night FOC but overall the customer experience was poor and left a harsher taste than a mouthful of the over chlorinated pool.

If you are organizing a stag do/hen do then you will be too pissed to care about any of this – and it feels like that’s precisely where this place should be pitched. If you want an idyllic ‘spa’ type experience to treat the family (which is what we wanted) then this place isn’t for you. Actually, you could probably go to Ibiza for less than the cost of this place.

It could be lovely, but please owners invest some of the considerable rental fees in an upgrade, and perhaps some customer care training. – it desperately needs both.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 31, 2017
Thank you for your review.

I apologise that you did not have a pleasant stay in the cornhouse. 95% of our customers have a lovely stay and it is unfortunate you had reasons to complain.

I think it would be fair to tell the tripadvisor audience a reflection of the true situation.

1) You requested an early check in of 10am (unknowing perhaps its always been 5pm).
2) We told you this is not possible as stated in the tripadvisor/holiday lettings website. It is 5pm absolute earliest unless the property was vacant the day before. In your case this was not possible.
3) You then said you were not told about this. Despite the fact this is shown on all websites and the fact we reminded you twice before your check in date at the property (on booking you are sent literature and the week before check in). We sent you evidence of this (the emails to prove this).
4) You then requested to cancel the booking just days before the booking in anger. Unfotuantely last minute cancellations carry a penalty especially on a known UK holiday weekend.
5) You then threatened us with a bad review, to which is what you have written.

In relation to your points on the review. We clearly state that wifi is not available in all the bedrooms. This is in the literature you are sent twice before your arrival.

The pool is correctly sanitized to ensure it is safe to use. Thus it will smell of chlorine. We could use less chlorine, but this would mean guests would be interrupted daily by our staff checking chlorine levels much more often, which many guests would not prefer.

The reel for the pool works, but we do agree with you that there is no wheel which we does make removal slightly more difficult, but no other guest has complained including guests in their 60s. The pool cover is due to be replaced, and we acknowledge it is worn, but once off the pool this doesn't affect your stay.

We could not find any evidence of mould on any blinds or broken ones.

The tv remotes all work - again no guest has ever complained. The sky box is redundant as there is now a NOWTV box available instead, which super sedes the technology of the older sky box.

You were given a complimentary free night s stay and you did not reach out to us once during your stay to mention any of the above, yet you thought it would be helpful to leave us a review without telling us of any issues so we can improve.

I hope our guests find our honest sincere response useful.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing