We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great house for our family celebration”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Average
16 reviews
Floorplan
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
7 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 15
Norton St Philip, Bath, Somerset, England

Reviews from our community

Average - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
rachs37
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great house for our family celebration”
Reviewed April 19, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

The house was really lovely. Bedrooms ample sizes, beds comfortable. Lounge spacious, relaxing and seating for everyone. Kitchen spacious and well equipped making meal preparation enjoyable. Dining area pleasant. Pool fabulous - was enjoyed by all 3 generations. Hot tub equally enjoyable.

Issues were the dining room furniture which was rickety and very uncomfortable and the numbers of stairs/steps. We had a toddler in the group so the house layout meant we could not relax as much as anticipated. In addition the showers were poor in terms of flow and the shower on the top floor did not work at all.

I appreciate the owners may have had some bad experiences from visitors but the tone of the information pack was quite negative. We did not feel welcomed when reading it.

Nevertheless the issues raised were minor. We had a wonderful time which the accommodation and facilities contributed to hugely. We would definitely make a return visit.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 28, 2018
thank you for your review - it was great to have you stay
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mistymiag...
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“What a fantastic house”
Reviewed February 21, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

We really enjoyed our stay here at the cornhouse. Loved the hot tub. The pool was lovely -but roof needs some repair as bits of the ceiling crumbling away and into the pool.

Loved the conservatory but some chairs need to be replaced.

This really should not put any one off booking this wonderful house . I just feel some extra care and attention would make make this place perfect.
The showers in all of the rooms were not good. We managed to clean one of the shower heads -which was full of lime scale -ourselves in room 1 which improved the power of the shower. - just a little.
As I say - some improvements need to be made here

Loved the aga in the kitchen and the large antique mirrors leaning against the walls in the kitchen . The bedroom with the four poster bed in mezzanine with its own dressing room below impressive too.

Would recommend this house. It's very large and very warm - great for group of friends /or families



Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 28, 2018
thank you for your review - it was great to have you stay
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
livesimpl...
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Filthy”
Reviewed February 21, 2017 for a stay in July 2016
4
people found this review helpful

The house was suitable for the hen party that had been booked for its location and size, however, I felt it was completely overpriced for what we experienced. The rooms were tatty, dirty and dated. The shared bathroom upstairs didn't have a lock and the shower had a lot of black mold growing on the ceiling. One of the shared rooms had a dehumidifier that was full i.e. very damp. The pool room had a very bad damp smell and the actual pool floor was slimey and unclean. Cupboards were filled with random storage, it looked very cluttered. The hot tub was also not clean; full of grit, also felt slimey and beer cans (not ours) chucked behind it. The garden was full of weeds and not kept in a nice looking condition. We used the hoover for cleaning on the last day and it smelt like something had died inside. We were rushed out at 10am on the last day as the owner had the audacity to tell us we'd be charged for a late leaving fee if we weren't out as the cleaners needed to be in by 10am...I don't think the place had been cleaned for 3 weeks! Luckily we had glorious weather so didn't spend much time inside the filthy house. I work in the hotel and hospitality industry and this place was definitely not up to standard. The village and surrounding area is lovely and the actual property could be of someone just modernised it bu giving it a lick of paint, removing the tatty ornaments and properly cleaning it.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 29, 2017
Thank you for your feedback. Given the content of your review it is very clear you did not stay in our property within the last 8 months as most of the issues you highlighted have been fully addressed several months ago and you must have stayed early summer last year. For instance those cleaners who used to clean the property have long been replaced with another local firm (over 6 months ago).

Whilst we appreciate any feedback it would have been useful if you had let us know at the time as we state in our check in information guide so we could have tired to address what issues you had when you were currently at the property. We usually have a team of staff who can respond to certain issues asap, but posting a review over 8 months after your stay is somewhat useful but somewhat not as it didn't give us any chance to improve or address what you have highlighted nor discuss any issues with you. Also the owner does NOT turn up at check out, so I am unsure who you spoke to but it would not be the owner. The check out times are there to ensure the house is promptly cleaned in time for the next guests. We have had guests tried to “sleep in” in the past, which puts a massive strain on the cleaners to clean the property in time for the next guests.

All our other reviews have been very positive and I'm sorry you didn't have a nice experience in this instance.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate577
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
1 review
“Can't wait to go back”
Reviewed December 28, 2016 for a stay in December 2016

Well what an amazing place to stay! The pictures really do not reflect just how lovely this house is. The layout means it offers lots of room and even though there were 15 of us we all felt like we had our own space. No one had a bad thing to say. The area is lovely too with a charming little pub just a short walk away. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again, in fact we are already looking for a good excuse to return!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing