We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bath Lodge Castle
Nearby Hotels
Wheelbrook Mill(Norton St Philip)(Great Value!)
$115
$108
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The George Inn(Norton St Philip)(Great Value!)
$83
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Homewood Park Hotel & Spa(Hinton Charterhouse)
$261
$238
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Beckington(Beckington)(Great Value!)
$51
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Free Parking
The Woolpack Inn(Beckington)(Great Value!)
$69
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$80
$70
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$140
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Frome Hotel(Frome)(Great Value!)
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Plaine Guesthouse(Norton St Philip)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
At The Manor(Norton St Philip)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (514)
Filter reviews
514 results
Traveler rating
330
96
43
13
32
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
330
96
43
13
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot tubafternoon teawarwick roombeautiful hotellamb shanksconescream teabottled waterlovely groundscooked breakfastroad noiseboth nightslounge arearomantic breakbirthday weekendmy partnerevening meal
Filter
Updating list...
395 - 400 of 514 reviews
Reviewed April 23, 2014

We stayed in the Stirling room which was very nice great balcony, good sized room and kept very clean and tidy. The host Wayne was very friendly and seemed to have a good rapport with all the visitors. The breakfast was very pleasant the whether you had hot food or croissants. My only suggestion would be perhaps to offer a discounted menu in the evening for guests staying over night.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goodman_matt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Very quaint hotel, the manager Wayne and staff were so friendly and helpful and made our stay very enjoyable. The breakfasts and evening meal in the restaurant were very good. The hotel is clean, decorated in an eclectic style with lovely gardens and woodlands with plenty of parking.
We stayed here as it was very close to a glass blowing workshop (The Glass Hub) where we attended a day course
A very relaxing short break away!

Room Tip: "The Whitstable" room is on the ground floor and very suitable for anyone with limited mobility with just one step into building. Quieter as at the back of the hotel with less road noise.Twin beds, a walk in shower and plenty of space. Nicely decorated, very clean with lovely views of the woodland and gardens from the triple aspect windows.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

My chap surprised me with a weekend at Bath Lodge Castle, the boy done good! We had The Windsor suite and loved having a huge battlement balcony to ourselves. The room was cosy and has all you need to relax. It is a shame that it is on a busy road but do not let that put you off as it is just wonderful. The only small criticism and this is not to cause offence; is the tablecloths. It is such a shame to see them when crisp white linen (however annoying to keep changing and cleaning) would set the room off perfectly and be in keeping to the standards met within the rest of the lodge. To the person reviewing who said that the place lacked a castle feel - what did they expect, knights in shining armour battling on the grounds?! Wayne is one of the best things about this place. He is warm, courteous and does all he can to please and help the guests, all with good humour. A truly awesome manager. There are lots of nooks and crannies steeped in history and used to their full potential. Breakfast is great and with all you need to set you up for the day. The ingredients used are clearly of a high standard and the bacon, delicious. As is the fruit salad. The garden was blooming and it was lovely to see seedlings growing in the conservatory ready to be planted out. All in all I would highly recommend this place. It is 20 minutes into Bath but you can return to tranquillity and beautiful grounds rather than the hustle and bustle of a city. How often will you stay somewhere with battlements as your balcony, even if it does lack a knight or two?!

Room Tip: The Windsor Suite.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JulesWules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2014

We visited for a night before a trip to Bath the next day. Location is excellent with a 15 min drive to the centre of Bath. The hosts were warm and welcoming. Our room was clean, comfortable and quirky. Our bathroom was in a turret !!. We also took advantage of the hot tub outside which was a nice added extra. The evening meal was superb and the service was perfect. We felt very spoilt. A magical night in a castle : D

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melodybungle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2014

I have never had such a wonderful experience at any hotel anywhere ever, period.

The building is beautiful: a cute little castle surrounded by woods. Inside is both impressive and delightful. The decor is beautiful and full of quirky little surprises, like the room at the bottom of a turret that's been made into one giant round sofa, or the table in our room that turned out, on closer inspection, to be a repurposed treadle sewing machine stand. The windowsills upstairs were decorated with beautiful old books (also great for a late-night read; I happened across a lovely copy of David Copperfield) and the downstairs windowsills are lined with plant shoots (which I assume will end up in the flowerbeds later on in the season). All the doors open with skeleton keys. The bathrooms are equipped with lovely Victorian fittings. I even found a cylindrical cabinet full of round wicker baskets, which for some reason entertained me to no end. After dark, the lounge and dining room sport cheerfully lit pillar candles.

Manager Wayne is AWESOME. He and his small staff make this five-star hotel feel like the home of an old friend. All the amenities of a fine hotel with absolutely zero pretentiousness. Wayne greeted us by name when we arrived, re-made the bed in our room from a double into two twins at a moment's notice, touched base with us in the evenings to ask how our day had been, and happily chatted about life and travels (when he wasn't running hither and yon looking after other guests!). I seriously considered asking him for a job so I'd never have to leave.

Food: fantastic. Ambiance: unbelievable. Staff: now on my Christmas card list. You want to stay here. It'll be the best trip of your life.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank Seriana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews