We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“absolutely fabulous”
Review of Bath Lodge Castle

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bath Lodge Castle
Hampshire
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“absolutely fabulous”
Reviewed April 6, 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from a weekend at Bath Lodge Castle. We had a fantastic time...beautiful setting, superb food, rooms are very nice & comfortable. Owners Karen & Mike are excellent hosts, very natural friendly people, making you feel at home. Karen is so attentive, we wanted for nothing. Food is delicious, using the best produce with lovely presentation. After an evening meal we sat in the lounge on the lovely comfy sofas chatting to another couple, to which Karen & Mike joined us which was really nice & very funny, Mike tells a great story & Karen's jokes are hilarious!!! Thank you both for making our weekend perfect. We will be telling all our friends & family.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank DottyHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    310
    89
    32
    11
    23
See reviews for
90
282
3
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
Reviewed March 28, 2014 via mobile

The facility and staff are just a joy. They were very flexible with our agenda and we felt part of the family--just what we wanted for an intimate wedding ceremony. The food was wonderful and we enjoyed the hot tub and sauna in the evenings. Pictures don't do it justice! Lovely setting!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Charastev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 4, 2014

We stayed at BLC and our first 2 days we were the only guests and we had the place to ourselves. We were met by Wayne on arrival and we must say, he was an exceptional host. All our needs were catered for and Wayne gave helpful guidance on places to visit in Bath - even when the Castle got very busy by Feb 14th, he still had time to smile and greet us warmly.

Rooms - our first 2 nights we stayed in one of the castle room's. We loved the room, it had its own uniqueness to it and we loved the shower which made use of the castle turret. We moved to the annex for our last night and even though it was not the room we had booked (due to an accidental double booking) we were compensated well and given a larger room that overlooked the small waterfall at the back.

Staff - the staff were very kind to us, they all took the time to speak to us, but the Gem of the stay was the lovely Mr Wayne Britton. This young man made sure that we wanted for nothing and provided good company in front of an open fire.

Meals - the meals were exceptionally tasty. The chefs maintained a high quality even at the busiest times. Every time I think of it I can taste the perfectly cooked duck and the strawberry tart after. We made sure that compliments were sent to the chefs.

With respect to the main criticism we read on here that gave us some cause for concern - the road noise - is not a show stopper - maybe for someone coming from a remote and desolate place who never hears cars go by, but it was not a distraction to our enjoyment.

We would recommend a romantic getaway to BLC wholeheartedly.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernice H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto Alegre, RS
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Bath Lodge Castle is not located in Bath, as the name could suggest, but in the rural area of Norton St. Philip, 15 minutes away from Bath trailing the narrow and (surprisingly!) busy Warminster Road. So, it is highly recommended to rent a car in the nearest airport before going to the hotel (parking is free!). The whole region is awesome! Besides World Heritage site Bath itself, a Georgian architectural gem, delightful and utterly beautiful (The Roman Baths are breathtaking), there are several other small villages meriting a careful visit: Bradford-on-Avon (delicious and romantic), Lacock (straight from ageless times), Salisbury (truly photogenic!), Norton St. Philip (microscopic and enchanting)… Close to them, mysterious and incredible Stonehenge is a must-to-see attraction. Bath Lodge Castle is the ideal place to be based when visiting the scenic Somerset County. Constructed in 1806 as one of the six Farleigh Castle gate lodges, it is now a boutique hotel with only 10 well-appointed rooms (those under the turrets are deeply romantic!). Breakfast is excellent – don’t miss the English full breakfast and the amazing yogurt. Dining at the castle, although expensive, is a good option also: Le Chateau Restaurant has great options for all family. Hot and cold fish platter was a memorable starter I had there. I can't forget the staff! Wayne Britten was an outstanding host: his ultra friendliness and kindness actually made our stay more agreeable and pleasant. We are looking forward to visiting Bath Lodge Castle again. As soon as possible!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alvares-da-Silva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 21, 2014

From the moment we arrived to the moment we left two days later, expectations were exceeded. The rooms and bathrooms are of such high standard. We deliberately stayed in a different room each night (both were gorgeous and couldn't decide) and from the comfort of the beds, the styling of the decor, to the quirkiness of having a wardrobe inside a turret and a balcony overlooking the battlements, we were delighted! The public areas are lovely too, warm and inviting, comfy sofas, crackling log fire and a fabulous hot tub and steam room in the garden pavillion. Breakfast here is outstanding too. Overseeing all of this is the hotel manager, Wayne, who made our stay the relaxing, hassle-free experience we needed. He attended to and anticipated our every need with charm and humour, from driving us out to a restaurant to save a taxi (bless him) to bringing us drinks by the fire each night after our return, to ensuring our rooms were perfect and generally looking after us like we were royalty. Looking forward to a return visit!

Room Tip: Rooms in the main castle with turrets are worth any extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 16, 2014

My partner and I chose this location for our first valentines meal out. Having driven past it several times previous we popped in a few weeks before to take a look around. Wow! Old and new combined to a very high standard indeed. We didn't stay this time only dined in their intimate restaurant. Wayne, who served us was very welcoming and charming indeed. The meal in itself was exquisite in my opinion. After eating we finished off our evening in the sitting room beside the cosy log fire. One question mike or Karen. Who was the old lady in spirit stood behind the sofa behind my partner, wearing an old fashioned cream crochet/lace top??

We will be back to stay

Traya

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TrayaGullis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bourton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 15, 2014

My partner took me here for my Birthday and what an amazing treat!! Lovely room, great decor, wonderful grounds and incredibly attentive hosts. Sipping champagne in the jacuzzi and snuggling in the nook in the turret just a couple of the highlights, we look forward to returniing for dinner in the lovely intimate restaurant or afternoon tea perhaps. Thanks Karen and Mike I had a truly brilliant birthday weekend.

Room Tip: We had the stirling suite with the shower in the turret which was great fun ana amassive terrace/blc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kaztribe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Norton St Philip
6.0 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
6.0 mi away
The Roseate Villa Bath
5.8 mi away
Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa
6.8 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
6.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bath Lodge Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bath Lodge Castle

Property: Bath Lodge Castle
Address: Warminster Road | On the A36 Itself, Norton St Philip, Bath BA2 7NH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath > Norton St Philip
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Norton St Philip
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Bath Lodge Castle 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This quintessentially English Grade II castle complete with 11 bedroom suites is just 6 miles from the historic City of Bath. Completed in 1806, Bath Lodge Castle is a wonderful rural retreat for a wide range of purposes. Refurbished at the end of 2010 to a stunning standard, the Castle is packed full of charm and character, and friends, families and colleagues alike will be astounded by its comfort. The four acres of grounds including the Pavilion, contain a hot tub, sauna and bucket shower, as well as outdoor bar and river surround this stunning property and together provide a perfect base from which to explore and enjoy South West England. Call 0,1225-7==-23043 for bookings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bath Lodge Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bath Lodge Castle Hotel Norton St Philip
Bath Lodge Castle Norton St Philip

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing