We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Birthday in the restaurant” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bath Lodge Castle

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Bath Lodge Castle
Certificate of Excellence
Bradford-on-Avon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Birthday in the restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

We booked the restaurant for a 60th birthday party for 14 people - brilliant! Lovely welcoming log fire, great service, food and drinks and an altogether lovely atmosphere/setting - highly recommended.

Room Tip: Can't comment on the rooms - only used the restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, Owner at Bath Lodge Castle, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Dear Pam and Steve

Thanks so much for arranging to have Steve's birthday party in the restaurant here.

It is such a pleasure to see people enjoying themselves as much as you and your friends did.

Look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best wishes

Karen and Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    292
    71
    26
    10
    22
See reviews for
80
252
3
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Island of Gozo, Malta
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

We visited Bath Lodge Castle for a weekend in January. The weather was horrendous so we couldn't do much outside, however, it was really nice to sit by the fire reading a book and playing cards while having a couple of drinks. The hosts are very friendly and welcoming. It was nice to sit in our comfortable warm room while it was raining and cold outside. We would like to visit again in summer because you can go for some nice walks and it would also be a better time to make use of the hot tub and sauna situated in the castle gardens.

Room Tip: You can ask for a room in turret, but all the rooms are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wandergirl88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, Owner at Bath Lodge Castle, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
We should like to thank you for your kind words; and say how much we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel. It was a real pleasure to be of service to you. With very best wishes, Karen and Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shah Alam, Malaysia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

To start off with, I booked via Booking.com which actually promises that you will not be charged till you check in (or on the date of check in in lieu of non check-in) AND the hotel actually charged me the full bill more than 2 months ahead of our stay. To cut a long story short I emailed the proprietor about it and was informed that it was actually in the small print. Whatever, call me a fool, procrastinator etc. with 2 weeks to our stay we went ahead ( I hate having to deal with the bank and hotel to get my money back). In any case for the first time in my life I pre paid for a hotel stay 2 months ahead - the thought of staying at a castle was that thrilling! My email for tips were answered in a perfunctory manner.
I would not call it anywhere near luxury as some guests have. We didn't feel very welcomed, not that the owners were rude or anything like that, in fact Karen did keep asking if we were alright when we did bump into her. I guess it was because it is basically a B&B so it was a matter of expectations and that darn email. Breakfast is basic, decent enough and nothing to shout about (and late the first morning we were there) What's good is that it is clean and comfortable. Bed linen is of acceptable quality. Room of a decent size and quality. Shower is lousy - low water pressure. Wash basins have separate hot and cold taps ugh. In terms of location it's on a busy main road so you'll be hearing some traffic but that didn't really bothered us. There is no dinner on Sundays - which is ok as Norton St Philip has a very interesting old pub inn (St George's) and another good restaurant (Fluer de Lyss) with nice people there. As a matter of fact the highlight of our stay were these two eateries. And oh bottom line - didn't feel like a castle and note that it's 20 minutes from Bath.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
24 Thank PHYW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, Owner at Bath Lodge Castle, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Karen is the owner/manager of this hotel. I am her husband. We remember these guests only too well because they appeared to expect Karen to dance attendance upon them as though they were royalty; and the rather ungracious lady responsible for the review remained unimpressed notwithstanding Karen's huge efforts to please them. After they had left, it transpired that this lady had gone off with our solid brass key fob and key (despite several printed and verbal reminders not to do so) and took several weeks to return them, accompanied by a curt note, which I would suggest is typical of her attitude to the world at large. Her tepid review may stem not from a fair appraisal of her experience here but rather from being annoyed from the outset at having had to pay her bill upfront, despite the statement on booking.com's website to the effect that payment only has to be made on arrival. (In fact, had she read booking.com's website fully, she would have seen a statement to the effect that the terms and conditions applicable to the booking are those of the hotel in question, a point marked clearly and in large letters in booking.com's confirmation sheet.) In common with a lot of small hotels, which wish to minimise expenditure on administration, we insist that payment in full be made at the time of booking, refunded if cancellation is made 14 days or more before the booked date or dates. One might legitimately ask: did she exercise a reasoned judgment on the merits of our hotel? If she considered our breakfast no better than alright, yet found the George and the Fleur de Lys good (both of which serve pub food) good, did she notice that our home-made cereal consists of a blend of 21 superfoods, combined by Karen into a delicious type of granola - served with fresh fruit and Greek yoghurt - none of which could be found in a pub in this vicinity (or indeed even in the finest gastro pubs in England)? Did she notice that the cooked breakfast consisted of organic, local farm produce, with no processed food whatsoever, top-quality bacon and sausages, wholemeal and other toast, home-made marmalades and jams? Apparently not. One might also legitimately ask: if she so badly wanted a room in the castle battlements, why did she not book one , rather than booking one of the cheaper family rooms not in the battlements? And I can also add from my own conversations with this lady that she is certainly not competent to discuss whether this is a castle or not, her knowledge of English history and indeed of England being limited. Her tone and manner were not critical while she was here, indeed she assured Karen on several occasions that she was happy with everything, but her tone was often sarcastic and unpleasant. We were frankly happy to see the back of these unpleasant people and regrettably not surprised to see this underhand and unfair appraisal of their experience here. Is it reasonable to choose to stay in a building centuries old and then complain that one of the taps is not a mixer tap? And if she had wanted to eat in our restaurant, one wonders why she booked to stay on a Saturday and Sunday, knowing that the restaurant is closed on Sunday. On reflection, perhaps that would not have been a good idea, since to judge by her review she would no doubt have preferred the processed ersatz food in the local pubs to our home-made, fresh and relatively sophisticated offerings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bassetm
Level Contributor
50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

Stayed at Bath lodge in December for visit to Xmas market.
On the plus side service is very good, breakfast lovely.
Unfortunately location is terrible, on a busy main road which can be heard all night. Room is large and comfortable but in need of refurbishment. Also mildew on windows suggests and grime in bathroom.
This hotel is expensive for what you get and food is also overpriced.
Overall a pleasant stay but I wouldn't rush back.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
19 Thank bassetm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, Owner at Bath Lodge Castle, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
We do not know which room these guests stayed in; but none of our rooms are in need of refurbishment. They are cleaned daily to a high standard and the linen and beddings are of the highest quality and changed daily, as witness to which you have only to glance down the previous 9 or 10 reviews. No mention was made by these guests during their stay of any mildew or grime in the bathrooms. Had they done so, we would immediately have taken steps to remedy the situation. Having searched our records, we have difficulty in identifying these guests; and frankly wonder whether this is a bona fide review. As for the food, we provide fresh, home-cooked food, cooked or supervised by my wife who had her own successful restaurant in France for 8 years. A 3 course lunch here costs 15 pounds, less than the pasta entree at Jamie Oliver's restaurant in Bath, and a 3-course dinner here costs 30 pounds. Where in the real world could you possibly find better value than this? I personally am not aware of such establishments. Either these people are accustomed to cheap, processed food of the kind available at the George or the Fleur de Lys nearby (both owned by a pub chain which distributes a large part of its food to all the pubs in its chain in plastic sachets that are heated up in the kitchen by relatively poorly trained staff; and yet manages to cost the customer more than we charge here). Unfortunately, there are still people so unaware of how good food is produced and cooked that they prefer the ersatz "food" of most pub and restaurant chains to the good food available at establishments like ours which care about the process of producing food (no additives, no mistreatment of animals, no stored food) and of cooking it so that it is fresh, healthy and appetising for the customer. All to no avail if the customer would not recognise the difference.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2013

This review is simple,add it to your bucket list,or go there now !!!! I have not stayed anywhere better in England,this place is perfect.Take time to stop off here for at least two nights and live like a king and queen !!!

Room Tip: Any room will do,they are all excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank martin m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle Rock, Colorado
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013

On our way to Bath we spotted this beautiful castle and noticed it was a B&B, having no definite place to stay for the night we quickly turned the car around. We were so excited and had a lovely stay. Our hostess was so outgoing and very friendly telling us about the history of the land the castle sits on, her experience as a chef, and the places she had lived. She later took us on a tour and showed us the rooms being renovated. Our rooms (we had the family area) were beautifully appointed and our bath looked as if it was a spa out of a magazine. We enjoyed our lovely breakfast and more interesting conversation with our hostess.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the backyard and forested area in back have lovely views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013

We booked 8 family members for up to 3 nights to give us a base for a family wedding. Karen and staff made our stay at Bath Lodge Castle memorable for all of our party. They dealt smoothly with all the little details eg due to guests arriving late, by laying on coffees, snacks etc. Nothing was too much trouble. All this ensured that we could focus on our son's wedding. The castle has lots of character and is lovely and warm with a log fire. There is plenty of parking. We invited some friends to join us one evening for dinner in the restaurant and we enjoyed a memorable meal full of creative ideas. Breakfasts are made with good quality ingredients too. They even made breakfasts for the newly weds when they dropped in to see us on our last morning even though they weren't residents ...... truly exceptional.
Bruce Mackay

Room Tip: See website descriptions. All the rooms are different.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bruce M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Norton St Philip
6.9 mi away
Apsley House Hotel
6.0 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
5.8 mi away
Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#10 of 34 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,309 reviews
2.2 mi away
Homewood Park Hotel & Spa
Homewood Park Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Hinton Charterhouse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
6.8 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bath Lodge Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bath Lodge Castle

Property: Bath Lodge Castle
Address: Warminster Road (A36) | On the A36 Itself, Norton St Philip, Bath BA2 7NH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath > Norton St Philip
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Norton St Philip
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Bath Lodge Castle 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This quintessentially English Grade II castle complete with 11 bedroom suites is just 6 miles from the historic City of Bath. Completed in 1806, Bath Lodge Castle is a wonderful rural retreat for a wide range of purposes. Refurbished at the end of 2010 to a stunning standard, the Castle is packed full of charm and character, and friends, families and colleagues alike will be astounded by its comfort. The four acres of grounds including the Pavilion, contain a hot tub, sauna and bucket shower, as well as outdoor bar and river surround this stunning property and together provide a perfect base from which to explore and enjoy South West England. Call 0,1225-7==-23043 for bookings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Bath Lodge Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bath Lodge Castle Hotel Norton St Philip
Bath Lodge Castle Norton St Philip

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing