We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Return visit disappoints”
Review of The George Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The George Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Return visit disappoints”
Reviewed November 25, 2012

This was my fourth stay at The George over a five year period. Previous stays have always been wonderful. I just love the amazing history and terrific feel of the Inn which oozes atmosphere. I don't know whether The George has recently changed hands, but this visit we were very disappointed. On arrival the staff member we finally tracked down didn't know where our room was (luckily we did), did not know breakfast times, nor gave us any information about the dining room or where we could eat dinner. Our every encounter with staff was greeted with disinterest and neglect. Such a pity as we loved our previous visits. Unfortunately we won't be back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MelanCollie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    303
    114
    36
    22
    9
See reviews for
110
267
22
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012

We recently stayed for one night at the george. There are some striking period features on display at the inn with lots of nooks and crannies to explore. Its restaurant is housed in two rooms at the back of the property with some nice architectural features. The food is typical pub style, nothing to write home about but good quality and the staff are friendly.........Despite this our visit didn't have a silver lining. We booked our room through the inn's website and paid extra for a room that was described as having a 4 poster bed and a fireplace. Unfortunately we received a standard room for our stay with neither of these features. When questioned the Inn seemed uninterested in an obvious mistake and no apology/reason given.

Room Tip: Be careful when booking online that you receive an as booked room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank M S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faversham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We recently stayed two nights at the George which must be one of the best preserved ancient inns in Britain. Our room was entered from an old gallery in the courtyard at the back of the hotel and would have been unsuitable for someone unable to climb stairs and also required us to traverse a slightly slippery flagstoned pavement to get across to the dining room for breakfast. That said the experience was one of soaking up the wonderful period character of the place

The room was warm and attractively furnished with a very comfortable bed and good bed linen. There was some noise in the evening from people in the courtyard but it was very quiet at night and a good night's sleep was enjoyed.

Breakfast and dinner were provided in the dining room in what looks like a converted barn at the back of the building. The food was good traditional English fayre which received a thumbs up but the atmosphere would have been improved if the wood-burning stove in this room had been lit. As we were at the George during a period of quite cold weather the non-lighting of the stove did seem rather odd. We also felt that the dining room was a bit understaffed and the effect of this was that the service seemed rushed, this caused the waitress to continuously forget a request for water at the table and to knock over a glass of wine whilst rushing to serve.

In a nutshell, whilst there is room for improvement in the servicee at the George this is compensated for by the experience of staying in such a remarkable building.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chris503903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llanelli
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

The George Inn is very atmospheric, the rooms are very tastefully furnished and very clean. We were very comfortable and warm. We had dinner the first evening but not really blown away with the menu so ate the following evening at the Fleur de Lys opposite which I would recommend. Breakfast was enjoyable with plenty of choice. All in all a good stay in a place with loads of character,

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaryLlanelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for one night, room was fab and very clean, food excellent. Roaring log fires, candle lit rooms fantastic atmosphere. Staff very friendly and very helpful. Can't wait to go again.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank goget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We book this inn only based on photos and tripadvisor reviews, when we got there we were amazed!
This place is a beautiful and very well kept piece of history.
The rooms are warm, confortable and very clean. The restaurant lovely, the food tasty and in good portions. The staff, specially from the restaurant, is friendly and polite.
If you're looking for a place to relax this is it!
Once we had a look at everything we were so happy with our choice we decided to stay for longer but there were no rooms...
Will return :)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rita A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We couldn't fault our stay at The George. We loved the the room and felt very at ease and comfortable. We had been to the pub before but had never stayed at the Inn so were pleasantly surprised by the massive room and the furnishings , which were in keeping with the age of the building. Dinner was lovely and they laid on a great breakfast. We couldn't fault it and thought it was worth venturing away from Bath for such a great experience!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FiB550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Norton St Philip
5.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
3.2 mi away
Best Western Limpley Stoke Hotel
5.9 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Radstock Hotel
Radstock Hotel
#28 of 31 in Bath
186 reviews
5.6 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#16 of 31 in Bath
1,397 reviews
5.9 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 31 in Bath
1,260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Inn

Property: The George Inn
Address: High Street, Norton St Philip, Bath BA2 7LH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath > Norton St Philip
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Norton St Philip
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The George Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, Book Direct Rooms, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The George Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The George Hotel Norton St Philip
The George Inn Bath/Norton St Philip

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing