We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The George Inn
Nearby Hotels
Wheelbrook Mill(Norton St Philip)(Great Value!)
$165
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Homewood Park Hotel & Spa(Hinton Charterhouse)
$311
$238
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Beckington(Beckington)(Great Value!)
$51
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Free Parking
The Woolpack Inn(Beckington)(Great Value!)
$69
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$70
$60
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$140
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Frome Hotel(Frome)(Great Value!)
$79
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Plaine Guesthouse(Norton St Philip)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bath Lodge Castle(Norton St Philip)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
At The Manor(Norton St Philip)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (604)
Filter reviews
605 results
Traveler rating
382
146
42
24
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
382
146
42
24
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubmonmouth roomfour poster bedold buildingstep back in timefish and chipslow ceilingsbeer gardenuneven floorsbeautiful buildingmain buildingacross the roadsteeped in historywell worth a visitwine listone night staymy partner
Filter
Updating list...
538 - 543 of 605 reviews
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We couldn't fault our stay at The George. We loved the the room and felt very at ease and comfortable. We had been to the pub before but had never stayed at the Inn so were pleasantly surprised by the massive room and the furnishings , which were in keeping with the age of the building. Dinner was lovely and they laid on a great breakfast. We couldn't fault it and thought it was worth venturing away from Bath for such a great experience!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FiB550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

A one night stay en-route to our destination and a delightful find at that!
Great character to this lovely old pub, nice warm and welcoming staff. Food was ok - nothing out of the ordinary but good for pub food. Room was huge and clean and very comfy - windows hard to open, and Wadworth could do with spending some money on the bathrooms. There was a bath with just a shower attachment, which for a few hundred pounds could be made into a proper stand up shower in bath with a screen. Breakfast was good and a delightfully pleasant lady in charge.
Overall, a good place, bags of character and a quirky bar on a trestle table!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hampshirelillibet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We had a nice stay at this historic B&B. Staff were friendly, great food, great location and beautiful scenery. We stayed in the Monmouth room. Ample room for everyone (double bed for parents and comfortable cots for kids). However, the double bed is uncomfortable. Needs new mattress. Overall, a good stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dragonflyday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Loved the Inn itself although the decor despite being in keeping with the age of the building, could do with some TLC. Some bad cracks, almost holes, in walls but then being 700 years old you have to make allowances for movement in the joists. None of the floors or ceilings are straight which adds to the quirkiness of the Inn. Just a lick of paint and deep clean to carpets would make be a huge improvement for those looking for a little more luxury/comfort. Our room opened onto an upper walkway where there was a table and chairs for outdoor seating but the pigeons made that impossible!! Their droppings were very evident! Food very good and all freshly cooked. Even desserts homemade. We are looking for a venue for next May for a family do and used this visit to sus out the Inn. Everything fitted the bill even a bus stop right outside into Bath but for one reservation - we would like to see an a la carte menu for the evening giving more specialised dishes making the meal a real celebration. And as a last small grumble, although all rooms have a TV, ours could not pick up a signal and therefore we were unable to watch anything.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephanie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

You couldn't find an inn more steeped in history than the George, and everything about it is charmingly atmospheric. We loved our rooms with their uneven floors and sloping ceilings; one even had a fabulous view over the countryside to a little church in the distance. No problems at all with bathrooms, such as other guests have mentioned. The staff were very friendly and helpful, the food perfectly fine without being wonderful. But just staying in a place so quirky is pleasure enough.

1  Thank CrouchEndTilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews