We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful old pub”
Review of The George Inn

The George Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful old pub”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We ate here 21 and 22 Jan 2013 ( in the bar ) First night Steak and Ale pie ( probably the best I've eaten ) and a very good Fish and chips.

Second night it was snowing hard ( we really should have stayed in, but our hotel was B & B only and we needed food ) The chef had not made it through the snow, but they managed to produce a very nice ham ciabatta, salad and chips for us.

Staff very friendly and helpful, log fires, bar food very good, good selection of beers ( Old Timer is perfect for sitting by a log fire on a cold winter evening )

The real star is the building itself, very old, lots of atmosphere, warm and cosy on a couple of snowy evenings. Highly recommended.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Keith D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    161
    111
    51
    27
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I always drive London-Bath through NSP, past the George Inn, on my way to/from the A36 and A303 - much the most enjoyable, scenic and often quickest route. I have always admired the seemingly unchanged mediaeval village dominated by this enormous pub but until now had never actually stopped. However, just short of destination Bath, kids were about to burst and as we had not had lunch, pulled in to surprisingly spacious car park to meet both needs. Have to say we could have spent half a day just exploring the pub with all its features and ambient history, particularly the garden. Kids loved it and, as Merlin fans, felt sure they would be transported back in time to Arthurian England. However, despite the obvious temptation, I have to say how delighted I was that the George avoided any Disneyfication and operated as a good pub offering high quality reasonably priced food and well kept beer and wine. Although we only had light lunch, the value for money was much appreciated and we could easily have ordered a second bottle of the house sauvignon blanc. It shows what can happen with what I assume is a committed owner/manager without obvious intrusion from a brewery or Pubco. Good to see it is highly rated by regulars - the recent negativity from some hikers notwithstanding. They need to get out more! I thought the 'outside' cloistered toilets were a great original feature and, as for grubby, I guess it can be difficult to get into every corner of a 500+ year building especially when, remarkably, a continuous stream of cars and heavy vehicles are still allowed to wend their way past what should be a heritage microsite.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SwannyKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely...”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Great for Sunday lunch, evening meal or just a quick pint. Staff are lovely and friendly, food is superb...especially the slow cooked lamb, deserts are divine...loved it!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank vickstar70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“A nice pub, and iconic building and lovely setting”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

If you visit Bath then it is worth a detour (or book a cab) to see this pub.

Nice beer, decent (if unspectatcular) food and an astonishing building with great history

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank rupes_Bath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frome, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Old Quirky Pub”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

We visited this pub after a walk along the canal towpath from Brandford on Avon to Avonmouth. Although the food was ok. The beer was cloudy and the pub is all a bit grubby. Outside toilets only and very poor. We will not rush back.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The George Inn also viewed

Norton St Philip, Bath
 
Trowbridge, Wiltshire
 
Beckington, Frome
 

Been to The George Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing