We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (28)
Filter reviews
28 results
Traveler rating
3
10
12
3
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
3
10
12
3
0
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 28 reviews
Reviewed June 29, 2017

This building is old and getting run down, but it served its purpose. The breakfast is very plain, but again it serves its purpose of being a convenient location at a good price. I'm not sure I'd stay there again though as it was a bit of a walk from the station at the end of the day.

Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Voodew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2017

I chose this hotel because I was arriving late in the evening and is a walk able distance from the Shingu train station. I needed a place to sleep and shower for one night to wake up early and hike up to the Kamikura Jinja Shrine and take the bus from Shingu train station to Kumano Hongu Taisha before I returned to Tokyo.

The Sunshine Hotel staff was attentive and friendly to me.
The hotel provided me with all the necessities for grooming; soap, shampoo, toothbrush and toothpaste, even a heated toilet seat to calm my nerves.

Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Veronica H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2017

If you're staying in Shingu for one night this is a simple and cheap business hotel which does everything you need. There is wifi in the room and the staff speak very basic English. No complaints at all.

Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jgp1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2015

I went to stay at this place for 2 nights with my family. It's about 10 minutes from JR Shingu station, and make quite a good base to visit kumano trail.

The place was a normal business hotel, nothing special. However, there were 2 cons:-

1. No elevator! - I stayed on the first floor so it's fine, but for those that got 2nd floor + room, they will have to carry their luggage up the stair.
2. Breakfast - Bread (with margarine and jam) and boiled eggs...that's all you got.

Room tip: Stay on the first floor, this hotel has no elevator.
Date of stay: December 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Gunn V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2019
Google Translation

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews