We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This picture doesn't do it justice!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kiri no Sato Takahara
Ranked #1 of 46 Hotels / Ryokan in Tanabe
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“This picture doesn't do it justice!”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

The hotel is beautifully designed with traditional cedar wood and the rooms have a stunning view across the mountains. At dinner we had a kaseiki which is the best we've had in Japan - really well presented and very tasty. The staff were so helpful and made us a breakfast box and lunch box for the 40km trek to Hongu (which is a must!). Definitely worth tying this place into your trip.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vincent C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    15
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
30
49
20
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Engadin
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012

We stayed on our way to Hongu for one night in the Kiri no Sato Takahara Lodge. It was a wonderful stay. The room was spaceous and clean with a woderful veranda to enjoy the view and the sunset.

The bathrooms were amazing and we enjoyed the bath very much. It was wonderful to soak in the water after a short but hot walk to Takahara an later sit outside and enjoy the view

The staff in the lodge was helpful and very friendly. The food was great. a lot of different mountain food from the surrounding was offered. We were very happy and can only recommand a stay in the Kiri no Sato Takahara Lodge for anyone walking the pilgrim trail if he starts his walking in Osaka and spend no night in the Kii Tanabee

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lemongras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed June 12, 2012

Wonderful views from beautiful rooms ,great baths . The staff go the extra yards ,when we couldn't work out where to go after stumbling off the Nakahechi route a friendly young lady called the Ryokan for us and they came and picked us up . We ate exclusively at Ryokans on this trip and we really enjoyed Japanese feasting . At Kiri no sato they have seem to have put on modern edge on the formulaic Ryokan meal andn we loved it . Honesly and truly we will never forget our time at Kiri no sato ,it was lovely

Room Tip: all the rooms have the same aspect I think
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2012 via mobile

This is a lovely guest house with friendly, helpful staff. The man on reception spoke good English. The view from the restaurant and rooms is spectacular. We ate a lot of Japanese food while we were there and we were slightly disappointed with our evening meal - just not quite as tasty as in other places we stayed. However they arranged a 'western style' breakfast as we were travelling with my parents who are not keen on Japanese food - bacon, eggs and fresh rolls were delicious! I would recommend this hotel

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank walsined
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2012

The location of this place is definately worth the travel. In all my years of exploring the inns and outs of Japan, this to date, is one of the best I have stayed at. Very highly recommended to put on your itinery. The view is absolutely stunning from the room, perched high on top of a mountain ridge. The complex is very new (built about 4 years ago they said) tidy and clean. The service was exceptional, and very kid friendly (we took both our kids with us, a 2yr and 5yr old) A caution though, if your after the husstle and bustle of city life, this place is not what your looking for. Its very relaxing with little entainment, but lots of bushwalking and scenery to view if thats your thing. We hired a car from Tanabe city and drove to the hotel which I recommend. We then travelled the area by car and hiked some of the nearby famous Kumano tracks. Highly recommend this place!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Damo227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tanabe
Shirahama Onsen
Shirahama Coganoi Resort&Spa
Shirahama Coganoi Resort&Spa
#1 of 56 in Shirahama-cho
317 reviews
Shirahama Onsen
Hotel Kawakyu
Hotel Kawakyu
#3 of 56 in Shirahama-cho
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ryujin Onsen
Kawayu Midoriya
Kawayu Midoriya
#2 of 46 in Tanabe
81 reviews
Yunomine Onsen
Yunomineso
Yunomineso
#6 of 46 in Tanabe
70 reviews
Kawayu Onsen
Kawayu Onsen Fujiya
Kawayu Onsen Fujiya
#3 of 46 in Tanabe
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kiri no Sato Takahara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kiri no Sato Takahara

Property: Kiri no Sato Takahara
Address: 826 Takahara Nakahechicho, Tanabe 646-1416, Wakayama Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kinki > Wakayama Prefecture > Tanabe
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 46 Hotels / Ryokan in Tanabe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Kiri no Sato Takahara 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great view from this hotelJust beside from Kumano kodo Increadibly great meal using organic vegetable from localEnglish,Spanish,Chinese language are avabable.Located in middle of Kumano kodo easy to access cityModern Japanese hotel style with great spaSearve you nice hospitality ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Rakuten so you can book your Kiri no Sato Takahara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kiri No Sato Takahara Tanabe, Japan - Wakayama Prefecture

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing