We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Booking.com
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Dante Y
Boston, Massachusetts

Beautiful location, hotel owner is delightful, food is DELICIOUS

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed May 2, 2019
We stayed here for one night during a group tour package with WalkJapan. The owner greeted us in the lobby and said a few words a dinner. She then sang a beautiful traditional Japanese song. The food was outstanding, the rooms were wonderful, and the price was very reasonable. This was one of the highlights of our 10 day tour.
Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Rakuten Travel
3.0 miles from Hotel Kazurabashi
Free Wifi
Free parking
外観
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Rakuten Travel
3.9 miles from Hotel Kazurabashi
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Rakuten Travel
  • Trip.com
    $129
  • japanican.com
1.1 miles from Hotel Kazurabashi
Free parking
Restaurant
Iya Bijin on the side of the mountain
Rakuten Travel
  • Trip.com
  • Agoda.com
  • Vio.com
0.4 miles from Hotel Kazurabashi
Free Wifi
Free parking
露天風呂付客室(限定6部屋)
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • eDreams
    $90
  • Hotels.com
4.5 miles from Hotel Kazurabashi
Free Wifi
Free parking
getlstd_property_photo
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Lol.travel
8.4 miles from Hotel Kazurabashi
Free Wifi
Free parking
Rakuten Travel
  • Agoda.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $100
  • Trip.com
10.3 miles from Hotel Kazurabashi
施設内写真
Rakuten Travel
  • Agoda.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $63
  • Trip.com
9.8 miles from Hotel Kazurabashi
4S STAY阿波池田駅前の外観
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $80
  • Hotels.com
10.3 miles from Hotel Kazurabashi
Free Wifi
Restaurant
外観写真
Rakuten Travel
  • Agoda.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $66
  • Trip.com
10.4 miles from Hotel Kazurabashi
View more hotels in Miyoshi
Reviews (189)
Filter reviews
189 results
Traveler rating
115
55
11
6
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
115
55
11
6
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews outdoor onsen the vine cable car fish iya valley common dining went the extra mile dining room japanese style room train station song bridge receptionist dinner bath dishes toilet
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 189 reviews
Reviewed January 7, 2019

This is a traditional japanese ryokan. We stayed in a standard Japanese room accommodating up to 3 persons in the main building on the 5th floor (our view looked into the funicular) - the room had its own bathroom and toilet and was of a decent size. As others have said, the main building isnt much to look at and is a modern and concrete building . The rotenburo (or outdoor onsen) is the primary reason we chose to stay here, as there is not much to do in the late afternoon/early evening once you have checked into the hotel ( we were there in late November and daylight hours were very short). We have stayed in other ryokan offering rotenburos with a view of the sea/river/lake/waterfalls/forests but this was our first time in one perched on the hill offering a mountain-view. It was definitely an enjoyable experience to soak in the rotenburo and also use the traditional hillside lounge area offering foot baths and hot tea over the hearth, both are accessible via a funicular you go up from the 3rd floor of the ryokan. There are more dressing room facilities in the indoor onsen area (on the 3rd floor), so you may want to wash up there, even if the indoor onsen is nothing to rave about.

Service was excellent. The staff were very attentive during our stay and were always on the lookout for our needs. They were literally running to offer us umbrellas and helping us park the car when we first arrived in the midst of a heavy downpour. Upon check in, the lady in charge patiently explained to us the layout of the ryokan and the facilities offered, as well as the places we could visit in the Iya valley. I understand that there is a daily complimentary shuttle to see the night illuminations of the vine bridge and waterfall nearby but on the night we were there, it was raining heavily so this was cancelled.

- a traditional kaiseki dinner was offered in the common dining hall. Ingredients were fresh, portions were huge and the dishes showcased regional produce. Breakfast was tasty and very filling as well. The service staff in the dining were also friendly and polite. The lady in-charge sang a traditional local working song during the dinner which was quite unusual for ryokan kaiseki dinners.

We drove from Matsuyama to the hotel, and visited the Oboke/Koboke gorge area, the peeing boy statue and Iyakei valley prior to checking in at the hotel.
If you don't drive, the ryokan can pick you up from Oboke station with prior arrangements. We drove and were able to visit most of the sights in the eastern and western sections of the valley over 2 days. Without a car, you would need to have the hotel arrange for a half/full day taxi, as public transport is not viable/non-existent in the area.

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank TimFP
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed January 2, 2019 via mobile

The hotel provided faburious service. We arrived 2 hours before the checked-in time and our room wasn't ready. The hotel staff recommended us to visit Kazurabashi bridge. He drove us there and offerred to take a family photo for us in front of the bridge. It turned out to be the best and memorable family picture on this trip. We spent an hour enjoyed walking thru the rope bridge and to Biwa waterfall nearby. I spotted several walking trails in Iya Valley. Too bad we came during winter. It was too cold to hike, but the first snow of the season provided a nice view for us. The outdoor onzen of the hotel provides an amazing view of the valley as well.

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank mukphan
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed November 22, 2018 via mobile

We booked two nights and had a great time at this hotel. This is a traditional Japanese style hotel with onsen. Even the reception cannot speak English well but we still had no problem with the communication. Our room located on the 3rd floor as the same as the hotel in-door onsen, therefore it’s quite convenience for us to enjoy the onsen at any time. We could also enjoy a high-altitude open-air onsen that is reaching used a small cable car....it’s really an amazing experience and you can have a great view of mountains there.
Our room was included breakfast and dinner and everyday our food was well prepared by the hotel staff and during the meal time we would be welcomed to the dining room with other guests. It’s very lucky that the first night the hotel owner came to the dining room to greet the guests and she even sang a traditional Japanese song for all of us......quite unique lol:) The day when we left the hotel it’s raining and the hotel concierge helped us to bring all the luggages to the bus station and he just walked in the rain without umbrella but he gave us the hotel umbrellas, very impressed!

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank precipy13
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed November 15, 2018 via mobile

Set in the beautiful Iya valley on Shikoku, This traditional Japanese hotel is amazing. The outdoor Onsen alone is worth the visit. Staff are super friendly and exemplify excellent Japanese service. The meals are over the top and must be experienced. Highly recommended!

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Traveled solo
Thank Tim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed October 25, 2018

I only went for Onsen in the hotel and it was a 15 minute walk from Kazurabashi bridge. There are bus stops in front of the hotel to or from Oboke JR station but beware of the time as there are only 4 departures during weekdays.

The staff was friendly and could communicate in English. You need to take a cable car (inclined lift) to reach the Onsen level. The outdoor onsen was comfortable and the view was stunning. I will definitely come again if I am in Shikoku.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Hilton_Leung
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews