We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (60)
Filter reviews
60 results
Traveler rating
29
25
3
1
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
29
25
3
1
2
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 60 reviews
Reviewed June 18, 2018

We were there for two nights, five friends sharing two rooms. Most of the staff do not speak English but it doesn't matter honestly. When we checked-in, we were given travel advice, and the staff also confirmed with us our need for shuttle service every night in advance. The meals definitely yummy. We spent one day visiting Nagahama City and Chikubushima. I wish we could stay there fore one more night.

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HKTraveler-BJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2017 via mobile


There are no mid points on Trip Advisor's scale, but Ryokan Beniayu is 4.5 stars .

The Ryokan looks the same as and not worse then its Management photos which is an achievement. Their views are among the prettiest among the Ryokans I have visited.

It is situated at Lake Biwako offering views of serenity and relaxation . Driving from Kyoto is roughly 2 hours and on the way, you can choose to check out one of many sights of the region eg Hikone .

The whole staff are courteous including the chief, Mr Yamamoto and the various waitresses. And do not expect too much contact apart from Check-in and meal times. But all Ryokan visitors are here for peace, great cuisine and nature enjoyment I guess? And few visitors need the staff to fuss over them.

Food is great and in keeping with the Ryokan standard .

Highly recommended .

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank MrsTsih
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2017

Perfect Place to relax and chill. Located on Lake Biwa, the Ryokan features a fantastic lake view.

Rooms are clean and the entire house is "shoe free"

Diner was of excellent quality and variety

The public bath is nice albeit a bit small. Outdoor features a great view

Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Swissfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beniayu, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Beniayu, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2017

Dear Swissfoodie-san,

Thank you for your staying and comments.
We were happy to welcome you at lakeside of BIWAKO. We keep communicating to foreign tourist to introduce our area. We hope you to visit this area and meet you again in different season.

Thank you for your comment again and have a good day.

with our best,

Kyohei YAMAMOTO, Ryokan BENIAYU

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2016

We arrived by car in the middle of the afternoon and the wind was storming the lake Biwa.
A guy took our car to a nearby parking and we could enjoy the warmth and hominess of the place
Our room, located on the second floor had a private outdoor bath tub which was filled with hot spring water and ready to be used
A cold day is ideal to enjoy the bath
Facing the lake was a rather high end massage chair that was a delight to use
The dinner, served in the room as usual was good and the breakfast adequate with a good cup of coffee
A reliable place for a rest and some wild bird watching over the lake

Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 3PhilippeG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2016

The room has excellent good view to the lake. It is a very comfortable ryokan - in every aspect. The dinner has very high standard as well. The owner is very nice and did his best to accommodate our stay and even for ongoing trip.

Highly recommend!

Date of stay: February 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Albey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beniayu, 広報担当マネージャー at Beniayu, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2016

Thank you for your stay at our Ryokan BENIAYU and give us your good comment.
From last July, we started to have guest dinner at new dining room. Now we have 2 different prices for your dinner place. Please find your favorite plan carefully from our website.
Well, we are really looking forward to welcome you again.

Kyohei YAMAMOTO, Ryokan BENIAYU

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews