We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: Closed
Review Highlights
Beautiful Building!

The museum itself is gorgeous inside and out. When you walk up towards the entrance to the building... read more

Reviewed May 26, 2019
williamsM29HU
,
Kobe, Japan
Great Gallery hard to get by public transport

Decided to take a day-trip on my free sunday after picking up their leaflet at Raku Museum in Kyoto... read more

Reviewed May 12, 2019
Raivo S
,
Tallinn, Estonia
Read all 152 reviews
  
Reviews (152)
Filter reviews
152 results
Traveler rating
67
63
18
3
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
67
63
18
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beautiful building visitors display host jr bus pottery raku station lake kyoto
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 152 reviews
Reviewed January 16, 2017 via mobile

As other reviewers have noted, the architecture is incredible. The interior display arrangements are state-of-the-art. But the facility surpasses the contents. Three artists only are exhibited and I assume that this place is the residual depository of their work. Some of the Silk Road water colors are good, but too many are just so- so. Same goes for the ceramics. The bronzes pieces are almost all of museum quality. Overall, an incredible place well worth visiting but maybe in need of a more demanding curator. Recommended.

Date of experience: January 2017
1  Thank Craig C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2016

I went there in a rainy day. Impressed with the architecture although I did not understand the Japanese guide. There is a room in the upper floor looking out the the vast water land. The glass is so transparent that you can't not feel the boundaries, like you are in the open air

Date of experience: November 2015
Thank nnhuho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2015

Didn't plan to visit another museum after visiting the Miho Museum the previous day but so glad that we went. The design was minimalistic and artistic. The exhibits were very special and interesting. Not very crowded on a Sunday. The duck breast soba in the restaurant was excellent and reasonalby priced.

Date of experience: April 2015
Thank BrendaT6666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2014

For those who likes architecture, it is a place worth for spending 1- hours. The new extension of he museum Raku Kichiaemon Kan which was built to host tea bowls, the exhibition hall is well designed to give unique experience to visitors.

Date of experience: November 2014
Thank AnnaWYYau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2014

My first impression on this museum is a perfection of dreamy water. There are 3 exhibiton theme inside these museum. One of it, that is very impress me is Raku exhibiton hall, which located underneath the pool water. Inside, we feel like a womb, that symbolize the fragility of the ceramic bowl. The display is very serious and evrything is in correct proportion and order for displaying a raku bowl. Another piece that i really like is Sato sculpture that place on the middle of water, the woman hold a jacket staring at audience crossing a coridor near cafe. The statue feels solitude and water effect surround it emphasize the infinity of the emotion. Bravo!

Date of experience: October 2014
Thank djajantihouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews