We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great rooms and super location.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Boston Plaza Kusatsu
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels / Ryokan in Kusatsu
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
137 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Great rooms and super location.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012

This hotel is really walking distance from kusatsu station. the rooms are clean n spacious. the breakfast spread is veryngood and had a wide variety.
I used the laundry serve and was supernimpressed -other star hotels should learn from them.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank apbanerjee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    102
    19
    0
    4
See reviews for
30
20
33
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

Stayed at the Boston Plaza for 2 nights and definitely enjoyed my stay. Central location, a stone-cast away from Kusatsu station with good connections to Kyoto. You will find supermarkets, a department store (with a good food section in the basement), and all sorts of restaurants on the other side of the train station in short walking distance.

Very polite, friendly and helpful staff. Speedy check-in and check-out. The hotel features a loyalty program for those who have use for this. Loved the breakfast with lots of tasty Japanese treats and appreciated that the buffet even had local specialities from the Shiga region. Noticed a kiropractor/massage place in the South Wing (open until midnight) but did not get a chance to try.

My room felt a bit small, not too much space to keep your gear organized. However, for a hotel located in a rather densely populated area, it was perfectly quiet and sleep quality was top. Bathroom was also small but clean. Amenities are refilled every day. Only cable-LAN in the room but Wifi is available in the lobby.

Good value, good service, definitely recommended.

Room Tip: South Wing rooms are newer
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DudeDudeson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yokohama, Japan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2012 via mobile

I sometimes use this hotel for my business trip. It locates in front of Kusatsu station, approximately 20 minutes by JR train from Kyoto station. Looks like an old American hotel, and rooms are so nice! The price is also reasonable. There is a convenience store on the ground floor in this hotel. If you cannot book your room in Kyoto, especially in the high season, I would think this hotel is a choice as an alternative in the satellite area for Kyoto. Please check it out!

Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Capri-san
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

Located right outside the Kusatsu JR station, this is probably the best choice for foreigners looking for a 2-3 star hotel in the Kusatsu area. Staff is friendly, speaks enough English to offer useful tips and the rooms are decent. My partner and I lived in the South wing and we walked through the cutest corridor lined with memorabilias of US Presidents. Size of room is bigger than what you would find in the bigger cities of Tokyo, Osaka and it comes with all the necessary amenities. No complaints.

There is a mall/supermarket on the other side of the JR station and it's 3 mins from the hotel by walking through the station. Most things in Japan close at 8pm so after that time, there's nothing much around the hotel except for a few restaurants nearby where you can hang out for some sake and a bite or two. Kusatsu station to Kyoto takes 20mins by train and it stops at the gigantic Kyoto Station for connections to other parts of Japan.
For those wanting to travel straight to Osaka, there is actually a train that runs from Kusatsu JR station direct to Osaka without needing to stop & change at Kyoto station - the staff at the hotel would be able to provide the train schedule.

Overall, i would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Kusatsu. Good value for money, super convenient for public transport travel

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nickers28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2011

Located just outside the west exit of Kusatsu station, the hotel is very easy to spot and can be seen even while travelling on the train. The reception staff are typically very courteous, and can understand english (atleast one of them). But dont expect any of the others in the hotel to understand a word of English. There is a convenience store within the hotel for all your sundry needs. The rooms are small, ok by Japanese standards, atleast bigger compared to other hotels I've stayed in Kusatsu. The bathroom (its more of a cubicle) is cramped and space is at a premium. The breakfast has both Japanese as well as American spread, quite tasty, though the same menu is repeated everyday. This is probably the ideal hotel for non-japanese travelling to Kusatsu. But availability of rooms is an issue sometimes, you will be well served to book in advance.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank footloose044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kusatsu
6.1 mi away
Kusatsu Estopia Hotel
Kusatsu Estopia Hotel
#2 of 10 in Kusatsu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
0.2 mi away
Urban Hotel Kusatsu
Urban Hotel Kusatsu
#5 of 10 in Kusatsu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
1.5 mi away
Urban Hotel Minami Kusatsu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Reiah Hotel Ohtsu Ishiyama
4.2 mi away
Lake Biwa Otsu Prince Hotel
5.3 mi away
Biwako Hotel
Biwako Hotel
#2 of 44 in Otsu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Boston Plaza Kusatsu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Boston Plaza Kusatsu

Property: Hotel Boston Plaza Kusatsu
Address: 1-27 Nishiojicho, Kusatsu 525-0037, Shiga Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Shiga Prefecture > Kusatsu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels / Ryokan in Kusatsu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Boston Plaza Kusatsu 3.5*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Parking: 260 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Rakuten, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, JAPANiCAN, Fastbooking, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Boston Plaza Kusatsu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing