We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (41)
Filter reviews
41 results
Traveler rating
19
15
4
1
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
19
15
4
1
2
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 41 reviews
Reviewed December 25, 2015

The ryokan is a true oasis in a small onsen town. The ryokan is occupying a relatively compact space, beautifully decorated and each room has the utmost privacy. I like that we could have western style beds while the room remains to be Japanese tatami style. Also love that there is separation between bedroom and lounging space where dinner is served, Japanese style. The bathroom and tub, however, is relatively small and basic.

One of the reason we have chosen to stay here is the reputation of the kaiseki dinner. It certainly lives up to its reputation. Dinner and breakfast were not only a feast to the palate but to the eyes too - beautiful and exquisitely presented. (see photos)

Highly recommend to stay if you pass through this area. Otherwise there is really not much in this town, apart from the nearby Arita which is renowned for their porcelain.

Date of stay: December 2015
Thank CarolGoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2015

There are only 8 rooms in Ogiya so, it's a quiet and relaxing Japanese inn. I only saw the guests across from us, once ... even though it was a full-house, on a weekday. Each room seems to be fairly separated from the others, so you can't hear anyone else talking or walking around.
The inn is very beautifully decorated, here and there and they pay a lot of attention to detail - the speakers in the waiting room are very good ones with a comfy leather sofa to sit on, while checking in; the soothing, unobtrusive music heading to the bath is a nice touch; the rest area in front of the ladies bath is good for a chat afterwards; the fresh flower displays are always elegant; and the floors are well-polished.
The younger Nakai-san that took care of us and our room is very friendly, always smiling, happy and helpful with lots of interesting facts to tell us (the elder, thinner one always seemed a bit too sour and not as obliging) ... they carried ALL of our MANY bags to and from our room for us and promptly brought us pamphlets for sightseeing - after asking about the places. Our room was up several flights of stairs, at the back of the inn. Don't open the curtain - there's no view, unless you enjoy looking at the laundry hanging on the line. The room was quite spacious, and well set out, but the 'unit bath' was too tiny, even for brushing your teeth. The fridge was in the worst location, also ... I must have banged my head every time I went down to get something from it. The glasses and complimentary bottles of water in the fridge were a great idea, though.
They served cold 'amazake' upon arrival which was very good and then served 'maccha' and 'hagi' rice cakes covered in mashed azuki beans, in our room.
Best of all they served all of our meals in our room (which is becoming a rare treat, nowadays). The food was excellent. Fresh ingredients and offering a great variety of styles. There was a great focus on quality not quantity! Each dish was served hot and at a leisurely pace, so we could savour each one, with all of our senses. In the morning it was interesting seeing the little 'nori' (dried seaweed) warmer (roaster???) in action ... and it made for perfect dried seaweed slithers on hot, steaming rice (cooked to perfection). The best local Saga rice we had all trip ...

The only disappointing parts of our stay at Ogiya ... was that there was no view from our room (but, I can live with that) and the public bath was rather claustrophobic, with no fresh air coming thru - as there weren't any windows that I could see. They don't have an outside 'rotenburo' bath, either. Luckily, we were the only ones using the ladies bath at that time, so it was bearable. There are only 3 places for washing in the ladies bath ... and the bath itself is quite narrow and deep. The water is a little too lukewarm, for my tastes ... but I enjoyed a good soak twice, during the night.
We decided to rent the 'kashi-kiri' hinoki (Japanese cypress) bath, in the morning, which was much better. Many places now offer such a service for free, esp. on weekdays, so it was hard having to pay per hour. We probably should have ventured outside of the inn, down to the left, to the big, old public bathhouse (which is always an option for next time, perhaps...) for a soak in an old bathhouse.
Overall, it was a fantatsic and delicious stay ... we will be back, one day!

Room tip: Even though it's dear ... reserve the kashi-kiri bath ...
Date of stay: November 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VanessaY650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2015

Previous reviews rated the Chef & his Kaiseki dinner highly, but our stay on 19 March was very disappointing as dinner, though well presented, tasted poorly on almost every course.
The starter was old & had nothing to excite, the Sashimi was days old (squid was soft/sticky, the O-toro was brown in colour, the Bream had no flavour, only the Sayori fish was the only fresh one), the Soup dashi had no depth. Tempura was only just ok.
We've had much better food in other Onsen hotels at much lower cost. Chef where are you?

Room tip: No lift and steep stairs, so dont carry much luggage!
Date of stay: March 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank richard s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2019
Google Translation

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2018
Google Translation

Room tip: 3階の客室はゆったりとした造りで良かったです。
Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews