We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (213)
Filter reviews
213 results
Traveler rating
79
103
21
5
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
79
103
21
5
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews buffet breakfast men and women western style breakfast tofu the ground floor spa bathtub balcony renovation keeper sea onsen baths
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 213 reviews
Reviewed July 6, 2017

Go to unwind and for visual splendor. The sea/water is calm so you can stroll a long way out and massage your feet in seawater and sand - for free. From the hotel the view is gorgeous. The Saga Pine Forest starts at the hotel for a quick walk or an all day hike. It runs beside the beach so alternate between shade and blazing sun. Train station and downtown is 15 minutes drive or 45 mins walk. Hotel room, staff and food are just plain nice.

Date of stay: May 2017
Thank James_Solly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2016

I 've been here for several times in different seasons. As I mentioned in the title, Jaque Mayor made this accommodation as his usual hotel. I happened to encounter with him once and asked for his autograph on his published book. It was just before his death.
This is a great hotel with a quasi-private beach and quite some of the rooms with a view. The island in front of this hotel always reminds me of the picture written by Saint-Expery: Le Petit Prince.
In addition foods are great in this area. You can enjoy the wide variety of dishes.

Date of stay: November 2016
Thank Yumiko M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2016 via mobile

This was my second stay at Karatsu Seaside Hotel. The newer wing has a large room with 2 beds (not quite full/queen but slightly wider than standard twin) and a tatami area. There is a table and chairs bridging the two halves together. You can sleep 5 or 6 people when you make use of futons. There is a view of the bay and its small islands. The upper floors also have a view of Karatsu castle.

Sharing a large room is a typical family arrangement for Japanese travelers. The room also has a shower and Japanese bath. For the initiated or adventurous, the hotel also has a public bath (men and women are separate). All the body wash, shampoo, and conditioner is by DHC.

The breakfast buffet is FANTASTIC. You can select eggs, toast, fruit for a more Western style breakfast, but you can also select from many items for a traditional Japanese breakfast. The fish is caught locally so is extremely fresh; there is a locally crafted artisanal tofu (the best!), lots of freshly made pickled vegetables, selected fish (salmon, snapper, and horse mackerel) marinated to top off a DIY ochazuke... So healthy and yummy!

The hotel staff are cheerful and ready to assist with calling for a taxi and such. During the summer we were permitted to enjoy setting off Japanese fireworks on the beach. They're different than American noise-maker types and are meant for an almost floral or cosmic display of sparks.

There is air conditioning throughout the hotel and a thermostat in the room so you can be comfortable in the hot summer. A great place to stay in Karatasu!

Date of stay: July 2016
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank L C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2016

We came all the way to Kartsu to eat Yobuko's famous squid. We first booked "Minshuku" type of accommodation as they tend to serve fresh seafood then changed our booking to the #1 ranked Karatsu Seaside Hotel. We are glad we did. The hotel itself is rather old and dated yet the staffs are young and welcoming. The seaview from our room was amazingly beautiful, the Onsen spa was relaxing, and yes, we enjoyed the Squid kaiseki (Japanese course menu) with fresh raw squid. Their famous buffet breakfast (Karatsu gohan) is something you shouldn't really miss!!

Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank TrailBlazer806574
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2015

View is not sombad, But the location is too bad. Very far from station, restaurant, etc. but If in case of family travel with young kids in summer, this hotel can be recommended because of sea and pool.

Date of stay: September 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smile1st
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews