We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful”
Review of Ojima Island

Ojima Island
Ranked #7 of 43 things to do in Nanjo
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed March 26, 2014

Stunning views! The volcanic rock and broken coral make it difficult to walk, so bring good shoes. Even though I don't like tempura very much, I thought the beni imo tempura was delicious.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Umeshu20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    81
    29
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Japan
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“TEMPURA!!!”
Reviewed March 18, 2014

When you visit this small island, better try its famous local food...TEMPURA!!
Access is very easy. Drive on route 329 and the signs tell you where to go, so just follow it. Eastern side of southern Okinawa is very ideal to chill out for sight seeing coz of it's height from ocean level.

Back to TEMPURA, it's very different from mainland ones, thick flour, but really tasty. I'd like to buy a full bag of varied tempura and share with my friends by drinking local drink...Orion Beer...lol

Enjoy and have a good journey on Okinawa.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank samuraisouljah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okinawa, Japan
Level Contributor
193 reviews
111 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 300 helpful votes
“More Than Just Tempura”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Most visitors going to Ou-jima stop by to have the famous tempura. It is good and I'll confess to eating some, myself but, there are many more things to see on this small island. Climbing the small hills and touring the side streets, you can find well-kept gardens, get a bird's eye view of all 360 degrees looking down at the beaches and meet lots of friendly people. Fishermen, folks at the village office and people walking down the street are always friendly and willing to point a traveler, in the right direction. I recommend, to all my friends, getting out of the car and, visiting the whole island, by foot. Driving around, only takes about five minutes. A good camera walk, can last over an hour.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank RyukyuMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lusaka
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Tempura, tempura, tempura”
Reviewed July 16, 2012

You'll see the place when you cross the bridge. Tempura is fresh, cheap, and delicious. You can eat it out of the bag looking at the water, or in the restaurant upstairs (usual variety of dishes up there)

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank businesstraveler4319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ojima Island also viewed

 
Nanjo, Okinawa Prefecture
Nanjo, Okinawa Prefecture
 

Been to Ojima Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing