We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing view, special local beverage, excellent place to stay whole afternoon”
Review of Cafe Kurukuma

Cafe Kurukuma
Ranked #1 of 200 Restaurants in Nanjo
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Reviewed May 2, 2017

This is the best restaurant I've never visited before. Before arriving there, the well-functioned GPS in our rental car guided us on the correct path and finally the giant wind farm stood right in front of our destination. The trapping of Kurukuma boasted stealth feature but inside was very clean and cozy for enjoying a meal and the best part was the terrace through the restaurant's backdoor. The whole Pacific ocean was displayed in front of us! The absolute sapphire blue color of ocean connected with the unlimited light blue sky was worthy to order a beverage and sitting at the front under the comfortable sunshine. Those images were still vivid to me and make me want to visit again.

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank _A370HI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (372)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

12 - 16 of 372 reviews

Reviewed February 20, 2017 via mobile

The is a wonderful place to enjoy lunch with a great view of the sea. The food was so delicious. We especially enjoyed the Gai Yang chicken, Papaya salad, and Pu popon curry. The atmosphere was fabulous.

Date of visit: February 2017
Thank williamdB4308VR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2017 via mobile

Cafe Kurukuma, otherwise known as Thai in the Sky, feeds both body and spirit as the views from this restaurant perched atop the hills in Nanjo city feeds the mind with spectacular images of the coastal aquamarine waters that blend with the Philippine Sea, and the restaurant delivers tasty Thai curry inspired delicacies that will satiate even the most delicate palates. However, be prepared to wait as most days there is a minimum of a 30 minute wait. We were prepared for the wait and spent our time taking photos of the beautiful sites and walking through the on site dinosaur museum and store. The menu has your typical Thai favorites (think green and red coconut curries) and also had some Okinawan twists (Thai infused Okinawan soba noodles), however, the menu seemed to be lacking one of our Thai favorites, pad kee mao (drunken noodles). Our dinner selection was green chicken curry, and larb koi (salad with diced chicken) with acerola juice to drink and the fruit cake to finish. From start to finish, each bite was pleasantly seasoned and exploded with flavor. For a little more than 3000 yen, the price was as right. If you have the time, Thai in the Sky is worth the trip.

Date of visit: September 2016
Thank ruslman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2016 via mobile

I went there with friends, we were from multiple nationalities. I am Lebanese, others are from Argentina, Cuba, Paupa new Guina and Mexico. The food was good. Make sure to try the garlic marinated grilled fish. The view outside is amazing! There is a play area for kids. You need a car or taxi to arrive there.

Date of visit: October 2016
1  Thank Daniaht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2016

Went for a quick bite and to absorb the beautiful scenery. The view is absolutely breathtaking. You will fall in love with it. I wanted to stay outside longer and roll in the grass BUT IT WAS SO HOT and humid that we could only enjoy the outdoors for about 15 minutes. We quickly took pictures, connected with nature as much as we could and had to return inside to the air conditioning.
The sauce that comes with the egg rolls was awesome. I realized it’s the same sweet chili sauce you can but at a Japanese grocery store and the restaurant added pepper to it. The iced turmeric tea was sooo good. I love the fact that almost every restaurant that I went to in Okinawa had turmeric tea. LOVE IT!

Date of visit: August 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Spen72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Kurukuma also viewed

Nanjo, Okinawa Prefecture
Nanjo, Okinawa Prefecture
 
Nanjo, Okinawa Prefecture
Nanjo, Okinawa Prefecture
 

Been to Cafe Kurukuma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.