We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Thanks for the GPS!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ufuya

Ufuya
Ranked #1 of 466 Restaurants in Nago
Price range: $9 - $37
Cuisines: Japanese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Scenic view, Kids, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
118 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Thanks for the GPS!”
Reviewed October 28, 2013

first plan for lunch there but we can't make it & finally we have our dinner there!
all the way thinking are we on the right path as the road is dark due to lack of lights on the road, and somehow seems we are driving in an alley. finally we saw number of signages of the restaurant on the way.
it's a real Ufuya! we have to take off our shoes before we get in the house. there're number of levels in there and we 're assigned to a table where we can see the lower level of the room. trust there's a small waterfall in the opposite side but we can't see it clearly as it's a night time.
they provide set dinner. the food are delicious & in a reasonable price. staff there can speak Mandarin. i notice there are tables of HongKongers & Japanese on the night i visit.
must visit again & hopefully can make it for lunch so we can see the nice Ufuya & the surrounding clearly!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ESY222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    180
    75
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Macau, China
Level Contributor
45 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Wonderful cuisine in Okinawa style”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

I went there at night, several times i wondered whether i was going the right way coz' i was like going into a wood, on a country road with trees aside, no light and buildings nearby.

but it was just a few minutes i arrived the restaurant, seated in a nice view outdoor besides a small waterfall.

The food there was good, especially the Pottery barbecue Agu pig, and the bitter melon dish.

Though it was a bit pricey but it worths to spend a wonderful dinner time with your beloved friends and family there.

There's no problem speaking mandarine for there're many foreign students waitressing there.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Yaiko0419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akita, Japan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Magical at night”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

This place is a bit hard to find, but so incredibly beautiful. The restaurant is situated on different levels up a hill and is open to the lovely gardens, and waterfalls. The food is good and average price for the quantity. I recommend going at night when the garden is lit up with lanterns and torches.

So, so lovely.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Leah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anoka, Minnesota
Level Contributor
63 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Best Okinawa Soba In Okinawa”
Reviewed December 22, 2012

This place is all about the experience! If you're looking to have an as traditional meal as possible in an as traditional setting as possible then this is the place to be!

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TheKathrynAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okinawa, Japan
Level Contributor
193 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 297 helpful votes
“Live Like a Ryukyu King !”
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Tucked away in the hills above Nago, this place is a bit hard to find but, worth every minute of the search. Plan to spend a few hours, if you want the total experience and don't forget to bring along a camera, good walking shoes and an empty stomach. Prices are reasonably low, the food is delicious and the staff, friendly and efficient. My recommendation, is to eat first. Then, tour the entire esyablishment. Walk around outside and see all the old traditional style buildings. Then hike on up the hilside to see gardens and waterfalls. I thoruoghly enjoyed my first visit and will be going back again.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RyukyuMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ufuya also viewed

Nago, Okinawa Prefecture
Nago, Okinawa Prefecture
 
Nago, Okinawa Prefecture
Nago, Okinawa Prefecture
 
Nago, Okinawa Prefecture
Motobu-cho, Kunigami-gun
 

Been to Ufuya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing