We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staying at Uno slope house is like visiting a friend!”
Review of Uno Slope House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tamano
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Uno Slope House
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Tamano
Montreal, Canada
1 review
“Staying at Uno slope house is like visiting a friend!”
Reviewed November 22, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed one night at Uno Slope house. We had the best experience in Japan. Max, the owner is a wonderful person, he picked us at the train station, gave us recommendations for restaurants, of course lot of information about Naoshima. We could also use his bicycles to visit the city. Japanese bedrooms are large and comfy, breakfast is also a great moment with amazing pancakes and lovely conversations. If you want to visit Naoshima, don't bother finding a place to stay, Uno Slope House is the one.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liliemoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    256
    37
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
58
115
47
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed November 22, 2012

Great place to stay, Max is a amazing host, with many informations, best breakfast ever, and nice talk with him. One of our highlight is in Uno Slope House and Naoshima Island for sure.
Go for it! / "Allez y les yeux fermés !"

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RemiVince
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed November 18, 2012

A great host and a lovely place to stay. Max was full of information on the region and lovely conversation. His pancakes were fantastic and the rooms were quite comfortable and tidy. We didn't have enough time to spend there, but hope to return soon.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank _and0ryu_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed November 9, 2012

This was a really great place to stay. I was impressed by the amount of useful information on the web site, and the Slope House didn't disappoint. Both Max and Hiro were extremely nice and helpful, and the room very comfortable. Hiro's pancakes for breakfast were legendary.
It was really like staying at a friend's house.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rae B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed November 9, 2012

We stayed two nights at the UNO Slope House, while we visited Naoshima, and loved every minute of it. Hiro had only recently taken over running the place, but was an excellent host - friendly, helpful, knowledgable with excellent English which was nice for us as our Japanese was very rudimentary.
The house was clean, all amenities worked fine. The only criticism I can think of, which seems rather churlish, is that the (free) loan bicycles could do with a bit of service!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiwi183
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed November 4, 2012

I stayed here for three nights taking the time to see the Benesse Art Site on Naoshima and Teshima. This was my first major stop in Japan, and I could not be more thankful for the help that Max provided in making my stay comfortable and easy going. From great recommendations for local dining, to helping take my luggage to and from Uno station, Max was an excellent host, and I cannot recommend staying at Uno House enough.

The rooms were clean and extremely comfortable, with traditional tatami flooring, futon bedding and all linens provided. Max also provided breakfast for a small additional cost, which was delicious (I highly recommend the walnut pancakes). Uno Slope House is such a great find that may seem too good to be true, but everything that's been said here was entirely reflected in my own stay. I too hope to one day come back to Uno and stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

What a great place to stay! Max replied promptly to the email inquiry which made booking very easy. He collected us from the train station and even drove us down to an excellent local restaurant because it was raining.
The rooms were lovely with comfortable futons on traditional tatami and use of the other areas of the house as well. After visiting the island, we shopped in the local supermarket and made good use of the kitchen for dinner - a very pleasant change after many consecutive nights in restaurants.
Max's breakfasts have to be the absolute highlight. As most other reviewers have observed they are second to none!
Max is very knowledgeable about the area and shares his insights willingly. Great conversation, excellent food and a very welcoming environment. We highly recommend this property.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GregPMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tamano
Okayama Koraku Hotel
#1 of 62 in Okayama
436 reviews
Takamatsu Station
JR Hotel Clement Takamatsu
JR Hotel Clement Takamatsu
#1 of 66 in Takamatsu
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kurashiki Station
Dormy Inn Kurashiki
Dormy Inn Kurashiki
#1 of 39 in Kurashiki
359 reviews
Uno Port INN
#1 of 5 in Tamano
80 reviews
Kikusui Ryokan
#4 of 5 in Tamano
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Uno Slope House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Uno Slope House

Property: Uno Slope House
Address: 3-4-3-2 Chikko, Tamano 706-0002, Okayama Prefecture
Location: Japan > Chugoku > Okayama Prefecture > Tamano
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Tamano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Uno Slope House offers comfortable inexpensive accommodations within a ten-minute walk of Uno port where the quickest ferry rides (10-20 min) depart to Naoshima Island 's contemporary art museum.An authentic Japanese traditional tatami room comes, with free wi-fi internet access, a shared kitchen, living room and bath/shower. Three private rooms are available in this authentic local house located on a very quiet hill top. A free bicycle is also available during your stay. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Uno Slope House Hotel Tamano
Uno Slope House Japan/Tamano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing