We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible experience!!!”
Review of Hasuwa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hasuwa
Ranked #17 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Yufu
Reviewed February 14, 2013

We stayed at this Japanese Inn during our visit to Yufuin. Initially booked through agoda, later approached by hotel's owner to book directly, which we did.

We found the water in hot springs both indoor and outdoor were lukewarm at best. I went to indoor onsen early morning , windows were open, water was cold.

When we asked to cancel the second night of our stay, only a few hours after checking in, owner was very angry. Even we agreed to pay cancellation charges, she was rude and yelled at us and threatened to goto police. I havenot seen such unproffessional and ugly attitude in any hotel I stayed around the world.

We went there expecting Japanese hospitality, a decent hot spring experience, it was total dissapointment. Having a JR pass, we could have visited Yufu just for the day and pay to soak in one of many hot springs instead of paying that much at Hasuwa for nothing.

I will not be recommending this property to anyone, nor will I ever visit here again! To be fair , she did drive us to train station next morning, which we didnt expect to happen. We were worried about the long walk down to station with the kids that cold morning.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Orbito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (37)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 37 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2012

Booked via its own website
Been there for 5 times
The owner is very kind
A bit far and not easy to find at first
There are two outdoor onsens you can use as private anytime
The meal and room are very good at this price

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank toeinoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2012

Overall is good ,If it has more widen road to.If drive may be too difficult because out of main road in narrow alley.Service is good. Special menu must be pre order like turtle soup which is about 4500 Yen per head.

Room Tip: Pre order turtle soup.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarakune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

The owner speaks and writes English so communication is easy. Arrived at Fukuoka Airport and took the last highway bus to Yufuin which arrived after 9 p.m. Hasuwa is a short taxi ride from the bus station. Our 3 meals were ready and waiting - visually and gastronomically delicious! Even breakfast was served so artfully. The indoor and 2 outdoor baths remained open 24 hours. It was very safe - I went to the hot spring bath about 10 p.m. and again at 3 a.m. The outdoor hot spring is actually enclosed and you can lock the door for privacy. Sleeping on the tatami floor on futons was quite comfortable. We even enjoyed the hot tea and rice crackers( left for us in the room) at 5 a.m. You have your own sink and toilet, and refrigerator too. The town itself was great to explore once we checked out. Mrs. Abe drove us to the station after breakfast.

Room Tip: They have wifi which is great so I could check my e mail from our room on my iPad. In the closet yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank watchthedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2011

My family of 3 stayed for one night in Sep 2011 without meals. Booking was done via Agoda on a prepaid basis. Hasuwa is a minshuku (similar to a bed and breakfast), which offers basis accommodation and meals compared to a ryokan.

Hasuwa is located in a residential area close to the Yufuin train station, about 2 minutes by cab and 10 minutes on foot. Upon arrival, there was no one in the property. But the owner had left the doors unlocked and posted the arriving guests for that day on the front door and the room each guest is assigned. We just took our room key and stowed our luggage before heading out to sightsee.

It has a common dining area and two indoor baths and two outdoor baths. All baths are on the small size (accommodating up to three people comfortably) and on a first come first served basis. It also has parking spaces and four bicycles for guest use free of charge. We used them to ride to the main tourist areas, including the main shopping street Yunotsubu and Lake Kirinko.

If you are looking for a basic accommodation at a good price in Yufuin, Hasuwa is a good choice. (As an aside, there is a coin operated laundry called Aria in a residential area about 15 minutes walk from the train station. From Hasuwa, riding the bike would take only about 8 to 10 minutes.)

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelbug96825
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2011

I would highly recommend the Hasuwa Inn in Yufuin. What struck me most was how hospitable and helpful the owner and staff of the Hasuwa Inn were. There was lots of information on what to see and do in Yufuin and the owner helped me plan getting to the start of the Mount Yufu walk. The traditional Japanese room I stayed in was very pleasant and had a view of Mount Yufu. The evening meal and breakfast were very tasty. Yufuin is a very pleasant small town with lots of little museums and the scenic Kirin-ko lake. There are lots of Onsen in the town and there is even a very relaxing one in the Hasuwa Inn itself. I would really recommend that visitors to Japan try out the experience of a traditional Japanese inn - far more rewarding than a dull business hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MarkB74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank bvpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yufu hotels
Kotori no Tayori
#129 of 145 in Yufu
40 reviews
Yufuin Station
Yawaraginosato Yadoya
Homey inn Enya
#13 of 54 in Yufu
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Yufuin Station
Shuhokan
Shuhokan
#43 of 145 in Yufu
104 reviews
Yunohira Onsen
Shimizu Ryokan
Shimizu Ryokan
#9 of 145 in Yufu
98 reviews
Yufuin Onsen
Yufuin Yasuha
Yufuin Yasuha
#49 of 145 in Yufu
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hasuwa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hasuwa

Address: 837-8 Kawaminami, Yufuin-cho, Yufu 879-5103, Oita Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kyushu-Okinawa > Oita Prefecture > Yufu > Yufuin Onsen
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Yufu
Price Range: $115 - $186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hasuwa 3*
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, JAPANiCAN, Orbitz, Hotwire and Rakuten so you can book your Hasuwa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing