We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
$263
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/28/21
Hotels.com
$263
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/28/21
Booking.com
$249
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/29/21
Travelocity$263
eDreams$249
ZenHotels.com$281
View all 12 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (104)
Filter reviews
104 results
Traveler rating
78
24
0
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
78
24
0
1
1
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 104 reviews
Reviewed February 3, 2017 via mobile

We were offered full use of the lady onsen upon arrival given there were no female guests before 7pm. It was a lot better than private onsen which was usually small in scale and lack of variety. The indoor onsen was indeed in a cave! It offered outdoor onsen as well. The neighbourhood was river and wood. You just found yourself fully away from city and relaxed. Food was good and room spacious. It was a 100 year old wood house. Beautiful set up. Highly recommended!

Date of stay: February 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Chan2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2017 via mobile

We were greeted at the train station and entertained beautifully by Shimizu-san. The rooms were spacious and warm, despite the cold snap across Japan.
There were onsen and shrines to explore, and beautiful hills to gaze on. We relaxed very happily, and really enjoyed the delicious food which filled our stomachs and warmed our hearts.
The onsen was delightful and the futon were comfortable too.

Date of stay: January 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank 89suet
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2017 via mobile

Yunohira is a very traditional onsen village tucked away in the remote hinterlands of the Yufu region. And Shimizu onsen is the perfect place to soak in the atmospheric charm and get away from it all. From the minute we arrived at the train station, the Shimizu family made us feel at home right away. Mr Shimizu personally met us at the train station and briefed us about the history of the village and his onsen along the way. The young Ms Shimizu showed us to the room and helped us with all our needs. Before the meals are served, Mrs Shimizu would come and introduce to us the various dishes. Tofu served at breakfast was hand made by her that very morning. What a labor of love! The cave onsen is their special feature while the private onsen is small and intimate. We had a room facing the river and the sounds of the running streams provide therapeutic respite, miles away from the nearby big cities.

Date of stay: December 2016
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2  Thank traveltheglobe0919
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2016 via mobile

I visited Shimizu Ryokan in December 2016 (actually check out today). It is located in Yunohira which takes about 10min by train from Yufuin. Since I prefer a quiet and small town for a rest, I choose Yunohira insteaf of Yufuin and it was a perfect choice! Yunohira onsen villege has around 20 Ryokans so that it is really quiet and not crowded like Yufuin.

When I arrived Yunohira station, the master came to pick us up and it takes about 10min to Ryokan. He speaks English very well and sooo friendly.
The room was quite spacious and great place to take a rest. Also, there are 2 shared onsen and private baths as well. However, it is not crowded so I only used shared onsen. The cape onsen is the signiture onsen of Shimizu and outdoor hotsping is really cozy and has small garden view.

Dinner and breakfast were also great!

Above all things, master and staffs were really kind and friendly. They cared our schedule because I should take the bus in ths early morning in Yufuin and ride us as well.

I would love to visit Shimizu again!

Date of stay: December 2016
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank 985jihyunr
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2016

Nice environment and waterfalls around the ryokan
Very helpful and good English-speaking staffs, feel like in the homestay ryokan.
Delicious food.
Too expansive room without good work of heater
Free parking, but lost the way to access to this ryokan. However, there is the easy way to access but no English name of ryokan at the entrance. So, we got crash at rental car during driving at very narrow roughly ancient street. Good luck we had an insurance.

Date of stay: November 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Be_PuniiPune
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews