We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The authentic ryokan with Japanese hospitality”
Review of Shimizu Ryokan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Shimizu Ryokan
Ranked #9 of 144 Hotels / Ryokan in Yufu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 14, 2014

We only spent a night there and left with lots of impression. The place was old (in terms of age) yet very well maintained, which gave us a very zen-like, relaxing feeling in the hotel and our room. There were only two hot springs for men but they were more than enough. The cave onsen was really nice. We were most impressed with the hospitality of the owner and staff which gave us the real sense of Japanese ryokan! We could have never felt better looked after and welcomed.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ratchat388
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (97)
There are newer reviews for Shimizu Ryokan
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

35 - 41 of 97 reviews

Reviewed April 26, 2014

We had a wonderful time at Shimizu! It's nestled in a peaceful countryside, by a river. The whole ryokan is spotless clean, nicely decorated, very cozy and comfortable. Our room is on the ground floor with a porch opening to a small but very beautiful courtyard. It's very big so our kids could run around and had lots of fun. The cave onsen is amazing! And Mr. Shimizu is very considerate and arranged private time for our family to enjoy the onsen. The food is, as mentioned in all the reviews, very pleasantly displayed and really delicious. Our kids loved the snack seaweed!

All in all, we enjoyed our stay at Shimizu Ryokan. It's the best part of our Kyushu trip!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jiang_iris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2014

We landed by mistake by train at Shonai (a stop after Yunohira), from which Mr Shimizu kindly fetched us to Shimizu Ryokan. Along the way, we saw some of the most beautiful and authentic Japanese countryside views I've ever seen.

Shimizu Ryokan is nestled in a hidden part of the Japanese countryside beside a rushing river, with hills on one side and the Yunohira old town at the other end.

The service at Shimizu ryokan is impeccable and thoughtful. Mr Shimizu and his sister specially informed us the best times to use the public baths as we arrived at a time when the ryokan had many guests. The food served was excellent in both presentation and taste. Breakfast and dinner were Kyoto-style kaiseki delicacies that were thoughtfully and meticulously prepared. Mr Shimizu's sister saw how much we loved the rice and specially prepared rice balls with the extra rice for our supper.

The public outdoor onsen faced a small fenced section of the traditional Japanese garden and a morning bath in the midst of fresh air, flowers and plants was refreshing indeed. The cave onsen was really huge and special.

A stay at Shimizu ryokan is very recommended if one visits northern kyushu!

Room Tip: Do choose a ground floor room if you are travelling with elderly relatives as the steps up to the to...
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aoigirl2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2014

I love this place! Well kept, incredible food (truly gourmet) and of course that mind-boggling cave onsen! Plus lovely outdoor onsen, too. Mr. Shimizu was so helpful, his English is good and he is really interested in you. He not only picked us up and returned us to the station (despite my very late request, he emailed back exactly when asked) but also took us and other guests into Yufuin and provided train schedules, etc. Mr. Shimizu also took us to visit his brother's plant nursery on the way to town -- an unexpected treat. Huge, well-kept tatami matted bedroom with enclosed porch with western chairs and small table -- typical of most ryokan -- Elegant artwork -- dinner and breakfast at several set hours, due to the small dining room, but the food really is spectacular (and I have been to Japan many times and eaten in many gourmet Japanese restaurants). Thus the value for money is very high! Also -- a big surprise that was very nice: unlike most ryokan, beer and sake with dinner did not add to the cost! We had a wonderful time ! Note: this is NOT in the town of Yufuin -- which is great if you want to fully relax in a more rustic atmosphere.

Room Tip: our room overlooked the river, which we loved, but it is possible some people might find the river n...
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank profcarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

This is the favourite part of my Japan trip.

Mr. Shimizu treated us like his family, from picking us up from the train station; trying to answer all my questions about the food despite English not being his first language; rummaging through the Ryokan's entire first aid supply to find flu medication for my aunt; to making a detour on our last day so we could see Mount Yufu before we departed; the experience was unforgettable and set a benchmark for all future Ryokan visits in Japan.

And there's more, this place is close to a hundred years old but the wifi connection speed in the "middle of nowhere" is unbelievable. There is also a cosy little private onsen that is suitable to guests who would like more privacy than the public ones.

Room Tip: Guests with elderly or young children may want to choose rooms on the ground floor because the tradi...
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jacqabong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014

Mr. Shimizu is dedicated to providing outstanding service. While the location is a 10minute train ride from Yufuin, he picked us up from the train station in Yunohira and even gave us a ride back to Yufuin. He gave our family of five private time in the cave onsen which was a fantastically relaxing experience. The bathing facilities are next to the onsen. We had an enormous two room suite with direct access to a great garden with bridges and paths for the kids to play and build a snowman. Every meal was prepared impeccably and savory! The town of Yunohira is quaint with some hiking paths though we spent little time outside the ryokan.
The only inconvenience which was small was he distance from Yufuin, but we just made a half day trip in.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank Meli T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2014

1) if you are looking for quiet (away from the crowd), this is the place to be.
2) Shimizu San (third generation owner) and the staff provide first class service with truly Japanese hospitality. From the pick up transfer from Yunohira station, to check in/out, everything was superb. BTW, Shimizu San speak fluent English!!!!
3) The onsen (hot springs ) pools were out of the extraordinary especially the cave onsen
4) Food (dinner and breakfast) served using Japanese traditional way and super delicious.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HockEng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yufu hotels
Yufuin Station
Yawaraginosato Yadoya
Yunohira Onsen
Yamashiroya
Yamashiroya
#1 of 144 in Yufu
158 reviews
Yufuin Station
Yufuin Gettouan
Yufuin Gettouan
#4 of 144 in Yufu
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Yufuin Onsen
Yufuin Hanayoshi
Yufuin Hanayoshi
#8 of 144 in Yufu
111 reviews
Yufuin Onsen
Baien
Baien
#16 of 144 in Yufu
82 reviews
Yufuin Onsen
Sankoen
Sankoen
#23 of 144 in Yufu
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shimizu Ryokan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shimizu Ryokan

Address: 263 Yunohira, Yufuincho, Yufu 879-5112, Oita Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kyushu-Okinawa > Oita Prefecture > Yufu > Yunohira Onsen
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 144 Hotels / Ryokan in Yufu
Price Range: $153 - $319 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, JAPANiCAN, Priceline, Rakuten and Ctrip TA so you can book your Shimizu Ryokan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing