We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazingly Good”
Review of Shimizu Ryokan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Shimizu Ryokan
Ranked #9 of 144 Hotels / Ryokan in Yufu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 10, 2014

We are a family of 4 and stayed at Shimizu in early Dec 2013. Fantastic hospitality from Mr. SHIMIZU
himself who picked us up from Yunohira train station and drove us back to the same station upon our checkout.
The amazing thing was that we were the only family there when we arrived and had the whole onsen to ourselves. Wonderful experience for the whole family.
Food provided was sumptuous, fresh and extremely delicious.
The Ryokan is a humble family run place helmed by Mr.Shimizu and assisted by his sister and brother in law. We felt very much at home by the excellent service rendered by all and would definitely like to stay in this Ryokan on our next visit to Yufu.
Kudos to Mr Shimizu and his team for a know well done.
Cheers!!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Yufu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (97)
There are newer reviews for Shimizu Ryokan
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

43 - 49 of 97 reviews

Reviewed November 30, 2013

We stayed in this ryokan in Yunohira in for 2 nights in late Autumn season. It’s an excellent place for the scenic Autumn views, where mountains were beautifully coloured with a mixture of green, gold and red. This is a ryokan run by a family for nearly 100 years. It was very efficiently-run. I was first impressed by their promptness in responding my enquiries in English through internet. Then, during our stay, Shimizu-san and Honjo-san had given us very attentive care, such as voluntarily treated us coffee while we returned from a walk in a chill afternoon and gave us some local rice as souvenirs as I had mentioned casually that I loved their steam rice served in dinner. They had also shared with us information about Japanese food and culture. The meals was served in a lovely dining room by the side of a river. The dishes and used their local ingredients in season. were unbeatable. Compliments to their young chefs. They arranged us to stay at the 1/F Floor with a breath-taking panoramic view of the town and mountains surrounding.

Yunohira is a quiet small town with nostalgic atmosphere, it is in no way like Yufuin which is full of shops and dining places, and also tourists. Definitely, Yunoshira is a ideal place for those who seek quietness and tranquilness.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank WongShirley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
志美津旅館, マネージャー at Shimizu Ryokan, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2014

Thank you for staying 2 nights, and good review.many many thank you.
I think Autumn season is the best season in a year.
as you say, we can look many kinds of colour in nealy mountains.and not only that,
but also we can have a good vesitable in Autumn season.
someday, please come again our ryokan and Yunohira. thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2013

It is a family-run ryokan in a quiet zen-like town built on a hillside by a running brook. The brother and sister team has kept it spotlessly clean and offers service which was prompt, warm and attentive. Our room was on the first floor. It has the brook on one side and a hillside garden view on the other. The stairs leading to our room were steep, however. So if you have knee problem, make sure you ask for a ground floor room. The heating in the room was done by a dual cycle split unit aircon. Keeping on during the cold nights might be a bit uncomfortable as it dried up the air. Floor heating with piping from the hot spring might be a better option. i am sure Shimizu-San who is a retired environmental engineer will find the answer. The meals were excellent. Our compliments to the two young chefs. The dinners were a feast. After dinner stroll in the half deserted streets was a Zen experience. On departure, we were driven through a scenic route chosen by Shimizu-san to Yufuin station was a thoughtful gesture of hospitality.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thirdeye99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
志美津旅館, マネージャー at Shimizu Ryokan, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2013

Thanks for staying our ryokan and rated higher.
Many thank you for your good tips for our facilities.
we will consider some method to warm for our room.
Im looking forward to meet you again sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Shimizu-san, his family, and all of the staff are such gracious hosts they made us feel really welcome. Yunohira seemed a bit, middle of nowhere, which was just great, but if the need arises, there are hundreds of shops in Yufuin, just a 10 minute train ride away. The food was amazing and very generous... I loved that Bungo beef! The rooms are immaculate and spacious and both the cave and outdoor baths were brilliant

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rasterline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
志美津旅館, マネージャー at Shimizu Ryokan, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2013

thank you for your kindness message and staying our Shimizu Ryokan.
how was it? did u relax in hot spring onsen?
survenior our local sweet youkan u sent at post office already reached your mam?
we hope to see u again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

My family and I loved our stay at Shimizu Ryokan. It is in a rural area and was extremely serene. Our host Shimizu-san and his sister was extremely nice and welcoming. They have both a cave-style onsen and an outdoor onsen, which was both wonderful. They also have a private onsen for those who are too shy, however the private onsen is small and will have to be reserve before hand. After our bath, we were treated with a delicious and plentiful dinner. Overall it was a great stay and I would definitely visit Shimizu Ryokan again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Natsu U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
志美津旅館, マネージャー at Shimizu Ryokan, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2013

Thank you very much for visiting our hotel.
We hope to see you again in the near future.
Someday when we will visit in Thailand, we are looking forward to stay at your hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Thumbs up for Shimizu san and all the Ryokan staffs. Upon reaching the compound using our car, the staff saw us and came to guide us to the Ryokan. Check-in was a breeze with Shimizu-san, and he walked us through the whole Ryokan facilities.

Since not many guests were staying at that night, Shimizu-san offered to give us privacy for both the outdoor and cave onsen. Yes, onsen in a cave!

Dinner was awesome at the private dining room. Don't be fooled when the first set of dishes were served. More kept on coming. At the end of it, we were so full.

Room was really big and cozy with a very nice view of the river and japanese garden.

The ryokan is right beside the infamous stone walk, though its was kinda gloomy throughout the day and night. Most of the shops were closed. To the extent that we thought the area was abandoned.

Overall, a really pleasant stay. Would come back again in the future! Do remember that driving is highly recommended as the place is really remote.

Room Tip: Request for a river-facing room.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wiliam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

We were very fortunate to have been able to reserve the last room available at this ryokan as we booked very late. The warmth, thoughtfulness and generosity that the owner, Shimizu-san, and his sister Honjo-san extended to us during our stay were incredible and unforgettable. It seems that we were upgraded to a very luxurious and large 25-tatami mat room that consisted of three rooms, and faced their lovely Japanese garden. You can feel that the owners were committed to the comfort and enjoyment of their guests and spared no details to achieve that. Dinner was an excellently prepared Kyoto-style kaiseki meal featuring seasonal local vegetables, tofu, fish and local bungo beef. We really loved the starter of soft tofu with uni and wasabi, and when Shimizu-san learnt how much we liked it, he pleasantly surprised us by adding that lovely dish to our lunch the next day. He later told us that the ryokan’s chef was trained in Kyoto-style cooking although he is a Yunohira local. The onsen is unique with its grotto caves but we enjoyed the outdoor rotenburo the most. Even if you do not stay at Ryokan Shimizu, do try their Linden Café Bar for lunch or drinks and warm up beside their excellent fireplace and enjoy listening to Shimizu-san’s jazz LP’s.
Yunohira is a very small spa village along the river and several walks (during the day and night) are recommended in order to soak in the changing atmosphere of this picturesque town. There are several public baths that looked very clean but we did not try (perhaps next time!). On Shimizu-san’s recommendation, we took a walk up the hill to ascend the 300 steps up to the local jinja. Despite the rather chilly morning weather, the clear skies and crisp air provided just the right motivation to get us up to the jinja and to ring the bell for our New Year wishes. To top it all off, Shimizu-san insisted that we hitched a ride with him to Yufuin where we were to catch our bus to Aso after checking out - this turned into a longer drive for him as he detoured along the way in order to show us a magnificent view of Mount Yufu (or Bungo Fuji as the locals lovingly calls it). His gracious lift saved us the cost of the local train from Yunohira to Yufuin and also gave us more time to linger in Yunohira. There were many more thoughtful gestures from Shimizu-san that would be too lengthy to mention in this review – perhaps one already gets the point we are making that he is an immaculately gracious host indeed. Shimizu-san is a former deputy Mayor of Yufuin and speaks excellent English because part of his engineering education was taken in the States – hubby had a long discussion with him about infrastructure development in Yufuin and Japan. We wish that we can return to Yunohira and meet Shimizu-san and Honjo-san again soon. Very highly recommended!

Room Tip: Although the Ryokan's website is in Japanese, we were able to book from the English language sit...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ChuJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yufu hotels
Yufuin Station
Yawaraginosato Yadoya
Yunohira Onsen
Yamashiroya
Yamashiroya
#1 of 144 in Yufu
158 reviews
Yufuin Station
Yufuin Gettouan
Yufuin Gettouan
#4 of 144 in Yufu
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Yufuin Onsen
Yufuin Hanayoshi
Yufuin Hanayoshi
#8 of 144 in Yufu
111 reviews
Yufuin Onsen
Baien
Baien
#16 of 144 in Yufu
82 reviews
Yufuin Onsen
Sankoen
Sankoen
#23 of 144 in Yufu
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shimizu Ryokan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shimizu Ryokan

Address: 263 Yunohira, Yufuincho, Yufu 879-5112, Oita Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kyushu-Okinawa > Oita Prefecture > Yufu > Yunohira Onsen
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 144 Hotels / Ryokan in Yufu
Price Range: $153 - $319 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, JAPANiCAN, Priceline, Ctrip TA and Rakuten so you can book your Shimizu Ryokan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing