We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (70)
Filter reviews
70 results
Traveler rating
50
14
2
0
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
50
14
2
0
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews famous lake two nights onsen hotel one night private onsen kirin dish male futon indoor meals dinner english ryokan
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 70 reviews
Reviewed March 18, 2018

This is a very traditional Japanese Inn, where you sleep on futons in a tatami room. Meals here are served in courses.
This place really deserves all the praise for it winning me over in food, lodge and hospitality.
The bad: The only bad thing is that as this is a traditional inn, there is no elevator, which means my dad with mobility issues had to take the stairs. But the staff was there all the way with him to ensure his safety.
The good: Upon arriving, we are ushered into a waiting room where we are served these amazing sweet potato cakes and tea. The staff then asked if our group had any food allergies so that they may make customized changes for the individual (we had 1 non-seafood guest). The food for both breakfast and dinner were so extravagant and the staff even gave us a detailed description of what was used (mainly locally grown produce) and how to enjoy the food (*the English explanation is a bit more limited but our service staff did her best).
The onsen was really great what with a small outdoor area that you can cool yourself off if you think the indoor is too crowded or hot. There is 4 different onsens and you get to try all 4 (if you have the time) as they will switch around both male and female located on lvl 1 and at the basement.
My biggest praise though was that we left a bag of goods that we bought from their gift shop when we left. And by the time we realized it, we were back in our country. We corresponded with the hotel to have them send it to us and that we would foot the freight charges. But they not only sent it back really quickly, but paid for the shipping! Forever grateful for their service and the experience staying there.
We will definitely be back.

Room tip: If you are driving into the area, beware of small roads which pedestrians share too.
Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 359judyq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2018

Our family stayed in this Japanese style hotel for 2 nights which included two dinners. The hotel provided us dedicated and delicious Japanese Kaiseki Cuisine. On the second day, we were even served with puffer fish which was very expensive and tasty fish. It was a very wonderful experience in having such good food in two nights. The staff friendly and patiently introduced each dishes to us so that we can have enjoy the Japanese taste. Rooms are also wonderful with spacious tatamy bed and indoor hot spring. There are also several hot spring places outside. We enjoyed them very much. Highly recommend this hotel.

Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank SH3744
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2017 via mobile

This is my third Onsen hotel after Beppu, this is rural area when compare to Beppu but have it’s charm. It is steps away from the famous Lake Kirin.we missed the time for the fall maple leaves but can imagine how beautiful it would be.
Facility is beautiful, service is excellent. Our server, Aki Yamaha who was very attentive, helpful and knowledgeable about their food. She speaks English pretty well.
Facility is a little dated but well maintenances, we have issue with our bidet, they came right away.
Dinner and breakfast were all in room and were tasty.

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank AC416-2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2016

We stayed at the japanese style room with private hot spring. The cost included breakfast and dinner all in japanese style. The meal are beautiful and delicious. Hotel staff are nice and friendly. It is close to the famous Lake Kinrin, around 5-10 minutes walk. The hotel provide free pickup service from the Yufuin JR station and of course you can also ask them to drive you back to the railway station. At least 20-30 minutes if you want to walk.

Room tip: Try to get a room with private hot spring
Date of stay: November 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bremen1018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2015 via mobile

We stayed there for 1 night and our package included dinner, breakfast, the use of public baths and a private bath available in our room. The dinner was excellent with the theme of autumn. The chef used fresh seasonal ingredients and delicately presented in traditional Japanese style. Each dish was like a piece of art and all impressive. The breakfast next morning was also good.

The public baths got indoor and outdoor pools, and switch for men and women alternatively the next day. Try them for both days to enjoy different settings.

The waitress responsible for our room was very friendly. She was on time in setting up our meals and futon for the night. Quite a lot of work for her to do during dinner time as she had to walk and bring in each course to our room, clean our table after each dish. Despite the heavy workload, she always got smile on her face and acted professionally.

Everything was fine except the washroom in our room got smell in it. Other than that, I highly recommend this hotel for visitors to Yufuin.

Date of stay: October 2015
Trip type: Traveled with family
2  Thank rhwlc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews