We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (32)
Filter reviews
32 results
Traveler rating
22
9
0
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
22
9
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews personalized service host mao breakfast dinner
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 32 reviews
Reviewed May 9, 2018 via mobile

A beautiful small hotel with 8 rooms. Room is reasonably big with own tub in the bathroom. A mini garden for yourself with beautiful tulip growing on it if the season is right. Dinner is simply wonderful and serve at a certain timing. All staff is always carrying a smile on their face and always readily to serve you on your request. In general we have great time there.

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank 748maxl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2018

Our room was gorgeous; the breakfasts were terrific; and our host anticipated all of our needs. For example, on both nights that we stayed at Kazahaya, he helped us select a local restaurant, escorted us to our choice, explained the menu to us, and placed our orders for us. My wife and I have stayed at many hotels, but we have never experienced personalized service like this.

Room tip: We stayed in room #1, which we loved.
Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank A2WristTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2016 via mobile

We have had two fantastic and relaxing days at Kazahaya. The place is outstanding and the service is so gentle. We were at family at six people together. One Child at two years and five adults. The bath area for women is totaly perfect with a large bath and two massage chairs. The breakfast is typical japanese and the dinner is fusion japanese / french. The dinner menus was som good.

Date of stay: December 2016
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2014

The western style room was large by Japanese standard, toilet was spacious, clean. Location, at least a 20-25 minute walk from the train station, was a major plus IF you are visiting for the bamboo light festival or just keen on strolling the old town. a cab ride from the bus station cost about 800-900 yen. However, prices were steep during the festival and if you are driving, you may have some problem getting to the hotel then because some roads were closed. The owner's English speaking son, Mao, who helps out at the hotel, was an added bonus. I say this because Hita, although a relatively large city, has very FEW people who speak English - tourist information staff included. Mao, who studied in the US, was very knowledgeable about nearby restaurants, what to buy etc. Dinner was taken at the adjoining restaurant, also operated by the hotel. One small disappointment was the food. We felt perhaps there should be a choice for Japanese meals. I noted that most who stayed at the hotel were Japanese, so the Western/Japanese fusion cuisine may have been more appealing to them. However, for non-Japanese visitors, a choice of traditional Kaiseki dinner would have been better. The Hinoki bath was a tad small but the hotel only have a few rooms. They also had massage chairs in the women's changing room (none in the men's), which was a nice touch, as with the sitting area where you can have a cup of relaxing coffee after breakfast overlooking bamboo trees. WIFI throughout the property.

Room tip: All rooms look great on the internet. Ours was the last they had available and I reckon must be the smallest. But that was already lovely.
Date of stay: November 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank SG_Travelbugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2014

Hotel is conveniently in the middle of historic part of Hita, a Very walkable town, quaint, good restaurants and lots of fun to explore. This is a small hotel with exceptional and personalized service. Take the meal plan (traditional Japanese breakfast and a contemporary style Kaiseki dinner) we'll worth it, exceptional food! The owner's son greeted us on arrival and at both meals and also served us in the hotel library/ lounge which included complimentary coffee/ tea/ small snacks. He even walked us to the liquor store to buy our own sake which we could store in the lounge refrig to consume in the lounge or our room. Although 20 yrs old the hotel is very clean and
quite contemporary. Rooms have private baths or you can also use the public bath - wonderful for melting away stress, aches, tiredness!

Date of stay: March 2014
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank D M T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews