We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, modern hotel with stunning views”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kesennuma Plaza Hotel
Reviewed September 28, 2013

The Plaza Hotel is modern, clean hotel located fairly centrally, perched upon a hill with commanding views of Kesennuma Harbour. You can gain access to the roof where there can get a 360 degree view which is very impressive. We were given a beautiful room on the top floor. It didn't have the smell of cigarette smoke which one reviewer has alluded to but I can well imagine that we were lucky. The staff are friendly enough and while they don't appear to speak very much English, you can probably make yourself understood. Guests should take advantage of the natural hot spring bath. There is both an indoor and outdoor bath, both with good views out to sea although somewhat obscured by shrubs. The water is very salty. The only meal we had at the hotel was breakfast. The food was fresh and plentiful with both Japanese and western style on offer. It was buffet style, held in an industrial scale dining room.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gco21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (52)
There are newer reviews for Kesennuma Plaza Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 52 reviews

Reviewed May 4, 2012

The Plaza Hotel in Kesennuma is one of the few lodging choices in Kesennuma, as many of the traditional inns were washed away in last year’s devastating tsunami. It is an older building, and though the lobby has recently seen some renovations, the hotel still feels dated. Please be aware that the term “non-smoking” doesn’t really exist outside of the major Japanese cities. The hallways of this hotel positively reek of smoke, and our “non-smoking” room was probably the “least smoky” room. The window did open a fair amount so it generally wasn’t a problem, but those who are very averse to smoke may want to reconsider. There are two kinds of rooms at this hotel – “Japanese” and “Western.” Our Western room (to which we were assigned, even though we had reserved a Japanese room) had two double beds and a very small bathroom. I did not see any of the Japanese rooms, but they reportedly have tatami floors, futon-style bedding, and larger bathrooms. There is wired internet access in the rooms, and you can get somewhat spotty wi-fi in the lobby. There is also a desktop computer in the lobby for guests’ use. The buffet breakfast is plentiful and offers many choices, including Japanese foods as well as “Western” fare such as yogurt, sausages, and eggs. Staff generally do not speak English – not an issue for my wife and I since we speak Japanese, but it would be helpful to brush up on some Japanese travel vocabulary before heading out to a remote place such as this – but they are certainly accommodating. Additionally, if you need transportation, they will be happy to call a nearby taxi stand for you and a cab will arrive promptly. The hotel has an onsen (Japanese bath) which provides a relaxing soak with a great view of the harbor – men’s and women’s baths are separate – and the hotel provides guests with robes and towels. The hotel is also located near a small market with shops and restaurants, the ferry terminal to Oshima Island, and a 24/7 convenience store. Under regular circumstances I might not recommend this hotel (mostly for the smokiness), but given that Kesennuma is just beginning to recover after an unimaginable tragedy, this hotel provides visitors with a centrally-located, relatively comfortable place from which to base their explorations.

Room Tip: The hotel has "Japanese" (tatami) rooms with futon-style bedding and "Western" r...
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bassplayer55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: 港側が良いと思います
  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank ymkw0404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
Thank ohirune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
3  Thank 千葉貴一
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2017, traveled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank かーりん
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2017, traveled with friends
1  Thank 伸枝 植
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kesennuma
1.1 mi away
Hotel Pearl City Kesennuma
Hotel Pearl City Kesennuma
#11 of 21 in Kesennuma
36 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Route Inn Kesennuma
Hotel Route Inn Kesennuma
#10 of 21 in Kesennuma
14 reviews
18.4 mi away
Minamisanriku Hotel Kanyo
Minamisanriku Hotel Kanyo
#1 of 2 in Minamisanriku-cho
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Lagent Inn Kesen-numa
Lagent Inn Kesen-numa
#7 of 21 in Kesennuma
5 reviews
1.6 mi away
Accommo Inn Kesennuma
Accommo Inn Kesennuma
#15 of 21 in Kesennuma
27 reviews
3.7 mi away
Kyukamura Kesennuma-Oshima
Kyukamura Kesennuma-Oshima
#8 of 21 in Kesennuma
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kesennuma Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kesennuma Plaza Hotel

Address: 1-1 Kashizaki, Kesennuma 988-0014, Miyagi Prefecture
Location: Japan > Tohoku > Miyagi Prefecture > Kesennuma
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels / Ryokan in Kesennuma
Price Range: $66 - $271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with JAPANiCAN, Rakuten and Ctrip TA so you can book your Kesennuma Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing