We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful small town”
Review of Amanohashidate

Amanohashidate
Ranked #1 of 59 things to do in Miyazu
Certificate of Excellence
Saga, Japan
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful small town”
Reviewed March 26, 2014 via mobile

I thoroughly enjoyed my time in Amanohashidate, a full day is enough time to see the major sights - even if you are walking!

It was a lovely 35min walk across Amonhashidate, although lots of tourists on bikes but there were still times where I had the path all to myself.

Took the chair lift up to the view park on the other side, which had the best view of either side.

Helpful?
1 Thank southeange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    187
    203
    60
    9
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“I was stunned!”
Reviewed January 21, 2014

amano hashidate is more like a small town in greater kyoto perfecture. i went there in january and barely found tourist travelling there. i assumed it was because christmas and new year vation as well as another japan's holiday just up

it was a small suburb town which relies on tourist to get their income.
after having lunch, me and my friend went up to the hill using chair lift (cost 1600 yen for 2 people) and we can see clearly the breathtaking view from above.
it was a very lovely view and i believe it is very romantic if you go on couples trip

the city itself is clean. what surprised me was how clean the sand was. the ocean was not even smelly at all
the town has a shop that is famous for its mochi. located near a shrine

to go to amanohashidate, you can take bus from hankyu umeda for about 2600 yen and will take you 2,5 hours straight to go here... which is faster and cheaper compare to taking train (we checked)

will want to come back again. it was so worthed to come here

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Anilin3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yackandandah, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Japan at its theme park best”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

we travelled there as we had heard it was a wonderful view...it is a beautiful setting but a little spoilt by the concrete showers built like trees, the warship anchored in the bay,the tacky vending, machines with animated figures,and couldnt quite get the idea of having to look through your legs upside down to see the view at its best.We had a wonderful time,never laughed so much....it is though a crowded Japan.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank johnad294
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A true stairway to heaven”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

What can I say, the place is stunning.
Go and make a nice walk through Amanohashidate, and then take a cable car in the other side, and see the place from the upper view. Put your head between yours legs, and you'll witness a stairway to heaven :)

Defiantly one of the most beautiful places in Japan.
On the way back, we toke a ship shuttle which toke about 15-20 minuets if I remember correctly. It was very nice, I highly recommend it! Just watch out from the eagles!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“A unique piece of nature”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We spent the morning here as our cruise ship (Sun Princess) had docked in Maizuru. The pleasant train journey (40mins) added to the day. We first visited the View Land (via the cable car) which gives a magnificent view of the avenue of pine trees. Fortunately it was a beautiful day so the view over the bays & the Stairway to Heaven was superb. We all had to do the customary view by putting your head between your legs and imagining the stairway. It really does look like a stairway! The separate bays look like scallops from the hill. We then went back down & walked partially across the avenue. It is a beautiful place and, no doubt, it would get very crowded on weekend & holidays. We perhaps should have hired a bike & ridden across but our time was limited. Another interesting feature is the swinging bridge which opens & shuts very frequently to allow shipping through the channel. There are also many gift shops & eateries at the entry to the walkway. One of those beautiful natural attractions that will always be remembered.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank iana4417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amanohashidate also viewed

Miyazu, Kyoto Prefecture
 
Ine-cho, Yosa-gun
Miyazu, Kyoto Prefecture
 

Been to Amanohashidate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing