We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
Booking.com
CheapTickets
View all 11 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (156)
Filter reviews
156 results
Traveler rating
101
51
4
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
101
51
4
0
0
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 156 reviews
Reviewed March 26, 2017 via mobile

This is a nice onsen hotel. The rooms were spacious. I had a corner room with a very nice sea view and a balcony. The dinner was excellent and breakfast was good too. The hotel had a common sitting room which offered self serviced tea and coffee.

Date of stay: March 2017
Thank RaymondL23
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2015

Stunning views, beautiful fresh seafood and trying to be helpful staff (though little Enlgish as with many places in Japan). We went for a wedding. The location makes up for a little bit outdated rooms, but the public onsen are well kept, and we found the private one very beautiful when we booked it.

Date of stay: May 2014
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank samauslaos
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

Booked one of the best suites in hotel but it was not as good as expected.

The room was with terrace, private outdoor onsen and private dining room but the amenities were average, decor outdated, facilities not maintained properly, room not properly cleaned where cockroaches, spiders and lizards can be found inside and outside of the room. No wifi within the hotel.

Staff can barely speak English but staff are helpful.

Breakfast in room a lot better than in function room. Dinner was served directly from the Teppanyaki restaurant just next door with a private access to our room. Food was delicious but was not of the best cooking skills.

Overall, it has great potential if better managed.

Date of stay: July 2014
5  Thank Jaime A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2013

Ryugu is an excellent modern ryokan in North Amakusa. Situated just after the 4th bridge of the 5 Amakusa Bridges, it commands a spectacular view of Shimabara Bay and is a popular wedding venue. The staff's English is limited, but they make up for it with Wifi, iPads and Google Translate! First time I've seen a Japanese hotel employ technology this way and it works wonders for communications. They were so helpful, they helped me reschedule my booking for the Kumamoto car ferry the next day as we were to view dolphins the next morning.

Did I mention dolphins? Our package included a huge Japanese-Western room (i.e. 2 beds, plus tatami space for dining/futons), a booking to use one of their exclusive baths (in the attached bathhouse next to the hotel), and a cruise to view the dolphins out in Shimabara bay on their own hotel ferry! At 22000 yen per adult and 7800 yen per child, this is superb value.

The hotel's own baths (free for guests) are nothing spectacular, but feature indoor and outdoor bathing with an expansive sea view. Awesome! There are even rooms with private baths, if you can afford them. The bathhouse' bath was booked for my family's exclusive use, and featured a family size indoor bath and a rather hot outdoor bath. But with the cold autumn winds, it was a wonderful experience.

Dinner featured the best of Amakusa's seafood. Live abalone steamed in a clay dish with parsley butter, live prawn sashimi (yes, the prawn was alive!), matsutake chawanmushi, grilled local chicken, sea bream kamameshi... Gorgeous!

Breakfast was buffet-style served in the dining room on the 1st floor. It had a decent selection of both Japanese and Western breakfast options. Nothing incredibly spectacular here, but delicious, well-prepared and served with a smile.

The dolphin cruise was wonderful and should be on the itinerary of all who manage to make their way to this part of Amakusa. You can get really up-close-and-personal with the various pods who make their home in Shimabara Bay, and they are generally unafraid of the human hordes trying to get a closeup shot of them swimming and diving. It's a 30 minute journey to and fro the dolphins' territorial waters, and the boat will linger for about 20 minutes there. According to the guide (who speaks some English), the chances of spotting dolphins is nearly 90% on any given day.

Date of stay: November 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LordHawke
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2021 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews