We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go there”
Review of Kaiyu

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tosashimizu
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kaiyu
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide
1 review
“Go there”
Reviewed January 23, 2012

My wife and I discovered Kaiyu through an internet search for accommodation near the Ashizuri Cape. It sounded interesting so booked two nights. The other reviews are right! In a beautiful place, run by very interesting and friendly people, we loved our brief stay. Being winter, we were the only guests, so we sat around the slow combustion stove and ate with the family. Mitsu is a great host in a relaxed down to earth kind of way; he met us in paint spattered overalls straight from renovating one of his rooms and then proudly showed us around the facility, including inspecting his wood fired onsen boiler. Our room smelled wonderfully of natural wood and we lay in bed each night marvelling at the heavy beamed ceiling and the skill of nailess wooden pegged Japanese joinery. The food was wonderful, a delicious mix of Japanese and International style using the local seasonal produce. We even had the onsen (hot bath tub) to ourselves, a wonderful first-time experience. Kaiyu is surrounded by gems of nature; Ohki Beach, Ashizuri Cape, Shimanto River, Tatsukushi headland just to name a few. It’s not cheap to get there with the expense of car hire and road tolls to get to this remote location on Shikoku Island, but we felt it was worth it and hope to return.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RodRatAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kaiyu, マネージャー at Kaiyu, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
RodRatAdelaide san thank you so much for great comment

yes please visit us any time !! we are looking fowerd to meet again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    36
    4
    1
    5
See reviews for
50
80
32
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aalbog
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2011

The remote and picturesk setting is perfect for the relaxed atmosphere in Kaiyu. Really nice family-run place, and they serve the most amazing food you can imagine!
Best location for surfing, snorkling, swimming and hikes in wild nature. The service is excellent, and the warm family feeling around the table, can make anyone fell less homesick.
Only downside is the price, it doenst match the price given in the Lonely Planet book about Japan.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sigrid R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kaiyu, マネージャー at Kaiyu, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
Sigrid R san thank you for nice comment for us and we had good time hope see you again !!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
413 reviews
145 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2011

The intriguing thing about this booking is that you will fill out a contract form to except that the place is not perfect and you must accept some hardship. This must pull the rug from beneith some Tripadvisor reviewers who do a job on the place that they visit.

We arrived after dark finding the 93 year old grandmother laying the table. Since it id Japanese accommodation atleast in the onsen building shoes come off. Mitzu's view of the world is posted previously so that has some interest in how enthusiastic he is to project. At dinner we shared the table with s party of Japanese walkers. The next night a Shinto priest, the local jazz female duo, a fish cake business man, his wife, his daughter and young son, plus his friend. That could be two nights merged into one.
Another night we eat out since they had the day off from cooking. Mitsu and his wife are excellent cooks and good hosts.

So if you want to explore this neck of the woods with a difference this place could be for you.... we got on his blog post and he used my pictures of his showtime night... the female musicians.... we skipped the relaxation session. The place I suspect is whatever you may with to make of it. We had concerns about the family meals before hand but in reality they were fun.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonTell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kaiyu, マネージャー at Kaiyu, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
LondonTell san thank you so much great comment yes every meal is different and all great guest make good atmosphere we realy enjoyed who come here all over the world like you !

thank you again !!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ladera Ranch, California
2 reviews
Reviewed July 27, 2011

The Shimanto River area is one of the most beautiful area that we have visited in Japan. It has both the beautiful white sand beach and amazingly clear mountain stream for you to swim in.
What also makes the visit to Shimato unique is the kaiyu Inn that we stayed at.

I should say it is about as interesting as any hotel will come. The owner Mitzu's concept of the hotel is central to this totally unique experience.
From the amazing 10 course Japanese dinner cooked by owners wife, upon our arrival; to the hot spring bath with ocean view, Its just wonderful. After the hot spring bath, try walking out to the open air veranda overlooking the sea and get some sun shine on area of your skin that don't normally get sun. The sense of freedom from doing it is really relaxing! I think that is why the place is named "healing by Sea" in Japanese.

If you are looking for a pretentious 5 star chain hotel with a bell hop in a monkey suit and a chandelier in the lobby, then Kaiyu is not for you.

The owner is working on a grand project to rebuilt an old hotel built by his father many years ago, one room at a time, in an ecologically friendly manner. What makes this project different is that the Mitzu is doing it with using as much as possible recycled or old material to stay with the theme of an environmentally sensitive hotel. So every room is special in its own ways.

You will find rooms that is so different in design concepts , its nothing like you will see in an average hotel.

To sum it up, if you want to experience real Japanese hospitality in a real down to earth and eco-friendly place, kaiyu is where you need to stay when visiting beautiful Shimanto River and the beach.

To adhere to the eco-friendly concept. Please bring your own towels, But if you forget like we did. Mitzu will be glad to provide some.

Room Tip: We stayed in the tatami room and it was very spacious for a family of four.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bug4traveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kaiyu, マネージャー at Kaiyu, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
jim34injapan san thank you very much for wonderful comment yes next time stay longer and

feel more deeply this great nature ! hope see you sooner !!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 24, 2011

As the other reviews have mentioned, this is a special place run by special people. Unfortunately, we are here for only one night before departing for home. The area is beautiful and after a good day of looking around--or playing-- at some very great sites, one can ease one's tired body in the natural water of the Kaiyu's onsen and feel the weariness wash right off. The sauna, with it's special healing stones, is a good way to finish off the bathing experience.
Time then for a tasty, organic diner and a drink or two of your favorite libation.
Get in tune to nature and her rhythms..
Certainly stay longer than we did. Kaiyu welcomes long-stay visitors and we will be ones the next time we are down this way.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jim34injapan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kaiyu, マネージャー at Kaiyu, responded to this review, March 1, 2011
Dear Jim34san

Thank you for a wonderful comment.

It is always thanks to the thing that was able to be spent with the couple of the smile.

It looks forward to meeting again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 14, 2010

Of all the places we have stayed Kaiyu is vey special. Mitsu-san and his family have created a relaxed friendly atmosphere in a hotel that has superb views of Ohki Beach and the sea. The rooms are spacious and individually decorated with the facilities to do your own thing if you want to. Next to the hotel there is a very relaxing onsen, again with good views over the ocean. Mitsu-san offered us great advice on what to see locally. Ohki Beach is close to the hotel, it has a wide sandy stretch of sand and it was very quiet when we stayed, in the evening we enjoyed looking for turtles.

Overall a great experience which we would recommend.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bparry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kaiyu, マネージャー at Kaiyu, responded to this review, March 7, 2011
Dear MR bparry thank you very much for your good comment ,you gave us many hint we relay appreciated hope see you sooner !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matsuyama, Japan
1 review
Reviewed August 6, 2010

This is the place to go and feel at home. I’ve been to KAIYU twice with my wife and 2 sons. We love spectacular Ohki Beach just a stone’s throw and extremely comfortable hot-spring water heated by wood-burning. The renovated room was really unique and cozy with a wonderful view of the sea. And I really like the sea breeze and the faint wood smoke smell thanks to totally non-smoking. We spent a delightful evening over fine dinner and drinks together with owner’s family and other guests. The owners were very congenial and helpful to give us good advice to enjoy activities in nature.

Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank TaroN39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kaiyu, マネージャー at Kaiyu, responded to this review, March 7, 2011
Taron39 san  Thank you very much for your good comment  hope see you sooner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tosashimizu
Ashizuri Onsen
Ashizuri Thermae
Ashizuri Thermae
#1 of 13 in Tosashimizu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Ashizuri Onsen
Ashizuri Pacific Hotel Hanatsubaki
Hotel Bellreef Otsuki
#1 of 3 in Otsuki-cho
4.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Kokomo
#6 of 11 in Shimanto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
Minshuku Aomisaki
#1 of 20 in Tosashimizu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
Ashizuri Onsen
Ahizuri Kokusai Hotel
Ahizuri Kokusai Hotel
#2 of 13 in Tosashimizu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaiyu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaiyu

Property: Kaiyu
Address: 2777-12 Oki, Tosashimizu 787-0301, Kochi Prefecture
Location: Japan > Shikoku > Kochi Prefecture > Tosashimizu
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty lodging in Tosashimizu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
a natural, family-style guest-house gorgeous beach, we offer a quiet place to relax and explore all that mother nature ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kaiyu Japan/Tosashimizu, Kochi Prefecture

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing