We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Richmond Hotel Yamagata-ekimae
Ranked #1 of 83 Hotels / Ryokan in Yamagata
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

This hotel is new, clean, conveniently located and very reasonably priced. The room is not large but it has all of the necessary modern amenities. The Japanese breakfast was also very good with a lot of local Yamagata foods. I definitely recommend this hotel if you're planning to visit Yamagata.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NYYS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    315
    171
    20
    5
    0
See reviews for
77
74
144
207
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Madrid
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

I stayed 2 nights in september 2012. Good hotel, convenient location next to the station. Clean and roomy. Very good point: they allowed us to check in before 3pm, which is very unusual in Japan. The staff was very helpful. Good breakfast too. Best price directly through their website, I did not even have to pay or give my credit card details, they sent me a confirmation e-mail.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fredfromspain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
合衆国
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

The large-size room is still a bit crowded for true comfort, e.g., the massage chair is squeezed in between one bed and the window. The biggest drawback is having to shut down all electricity, especially the air-conditioner, whenever one leaves the room even for a few minutes. It would help to have an iron and ironing board in the room, not just a pants presser. More hangers in the closet would be helpful.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bokutotsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

Just 3 mins walk from Yamagata station, also 7-11 and 24hrs big supermarket are just at next door, the hotel is well located.

Room are bright and clear, as I was stay in a twin room, the room is very nice and spacious, which is well enough for a family with 2 younger children.

For a solo traveler, the single room is ok, but as usual in Japan, the room would be a bit tiny.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cykate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, カナダ
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2012

I stayed at Richmond hotel – Yamagata for 2 days on June 15 and 16th. The room was clean, tidy and surprisingly roomy. The location of the hotel is just perfect, a real value for money. The staffs were also very helpful. I am quite sure to return to this...

Eddie Cheung, Toronto, Canada

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eddieckcheung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

We stayed there on 21-23 April 2012. Everything was great as we expected except this year was very cold and rain whole day so there was no Cherry Blossom in that period. We decided to continue our plan by go to Haguro San and Akita and Kitakami for 4 nights after Yamagata. But because this hotel is so good and it still be available
on Golden Week, so we cancel our trip in Hirosaki and come back and stay in this hotel for Sakura view again.
Staffs is helpful some of them speak English well some of them not so. Anyway they are kind and generous.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pawamanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2011

We booked this hotel online via Japanican.com expecting a typical Japanese business hotel. It seems we booked a suite at the very reasonable price of 16000 yen per night including breakfast for 2.

The room was enormous with 2 double size beds, a sitting area, a small lobby with a very good sized bathroom off to one side and a large wardrobe on the other. And the thing that made it best of all was the massage chair we used nightly after a long day of climbing temple stairs and walking through the mountains. It was very well appointed, with extra creams and shampoos for the ladies. I thought the products were great!

As this is a business hotel there is a very good sized desk in the room with an internet connection, telephone, bar fridge, TV etc.

Check-in was easy once we found an English speaking concierge. And check-out was quick, easy and really novel - all done at one of the machines located next to the reception desk.

There was a laundromat on one of the floors, and vending machines on at least 2 different levels. The vending machines had noodles and other meals that could be heated in the microwave ovens placed conveniently next to them. Not that we ever ate dinner at the hotel as Yamagata has the most amazing array of restaurants. We went to a different one every night and they were all well priced and the food was great.

The hotel had a buffet breakfast on reception level, and you are spoiled for choice for both Japanese and Western style breakfasts. The food was freshly cooked, hot and plentiful. And for those preferring a continental breakfast, there was plenty to choose from. It was one of the few places that served fresh cow's milk, and it was fantastic. Even if we hadn't had breakfast included in our room cost, it would have been worth paying for as I believe it was very reasonable.

The hotel is on the opposite side of the station from the main shopping area, so it is a bit of a walk across a rather rocky park to the station, and once through the other side, the main streets of Yamagata are before you.

As far as sight seeing goes, most attractions in the area are situated outside of the town, and some are quite a distance away. Yamadera is a short train ride away - about 20 minutes I think, and if you're fit enough to climb the stairs is a must see. The Mogami River Boat ride takes some hours to get to by 2 different trains, but is a great experience. However, having spent 2 long days travelling by train, we decided to hire a car for the final day to see Dewa Sanzen, which was absolutely magical after a surprise snowfall the night before.

We were in a room overlooking the station, which had a view of the mountains beyond. It was fabulous to wake up and see it had snowed on the mountain tops over night.

Don't get me wrong, this is not a resort hotel or a hotel for holiday makers, but as far as business hotels go it is really impressive and very comfortable for tourists.

Richmond Hotels are a chain, and if this is a typical example of their hotel standards for this price, then I'll be booking us into more of them in the future.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hoppyT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yamagata hotels
Yamagata Station
Yamagata Kokusai Hotel
Yamagata Kokusai Hotel
#2 of 83 in Yamagata
4.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Yamagata Station
Hotel Metropolitan Yamagata
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Yamagata Station
Hotel Castle
Hotel Castle
#15 of 83 in Yamagata
3.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
Yamagata Station
Comfort Hotel Yamagata
Comfort Hotel Yamagata
#12 of 83 in Yamagata
4.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Richmond Hotel Yamagata-ekimae? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Richmond Hotel Yamagata-ekimae

Property: Richmond Hotel Yamagata-ekimae
Address: 1-3-11 Futabacho, Yamagata 990-0828, Yamagata Prefecture
Location: Japan > Tohoku > Yamagata Prefecture > Yamagata > Yamagata Station
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Yamagata
#1 Business Hotel in Yamagata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Richmond Hotel Yamagata-ekimae 3*
Number of rooms: 220
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, JAPANiCAN, Fastbooking, Rakuten, Agoda, Ctrip TA and Priceline so you can book your Richmond Hotel Yamagata-ekimae reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Richimond Hotel Yamagata Ekimae

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing