We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (134)
Filter reviews
134 results
Traveler rating
82
36
11
4
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
82
36
11
4
1
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 134 reviews
Reviewed October 11, 2015 via mobile

We spent around US$350 per person for one night in this hotel. However, we found the service and food are both below expectation in terms of value.
The root of the problem is probably because they don't have enough staff - we were treated by a chinese speaking lady who was very friendly and well-trained. However, there were apparently too many chinese speaking guests and therefore the service is not tailor-made as the lady has to rush through tables. (I stayed in many high-end Ryokan before so probably I was a bit demanding and asking more). In addition, there was no one helping us to carry luggage after the check out, which was quite surprising.
Anyway, this is still a good hotel but it's just not a great one. And it is overpriced.

Date of stay: October 2015
Trip type: Traveled with family
2  Thank cc1128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2015

This place is MAGIC.
Nature, silence aytime exept for cicada's singing, excellent service (even if really few persons do speak English:)) and food.
It's a perfect mixture between tradition, luxury, nature.
The Ryokan is located 40 minutes by train from Kagoshima + 20 min. taxi from Hayato Station.
It's hard to find ANYTHING in the neighborhood, so be sure you've got everything with you.
The taxi can be reserved directly through the Ryokan, along with meals, which I recommend to reserve there (there are no walking distance restaurants. Maybe one but it's hard to finde English speaking people)
Onsen are something you can't miss.
You'll find not so many foreigners passing by, most of the guests we met were Japanese.
Strongly recommended if you need deep relax:)

Date of stay: August 2015
4  Thank CristinaVit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2015

I came across this hotel randomly as I have been a fan of Super Potato's work. The hotel staff recommended us to stay in one of the western rooms and it turned out to be one of the best hotel experience I have ever had!

The room consists of a living room, dining area that overlooks the river, bedroom with twin beds, kitchen and a semi outdoor onsen. I highly recommend this room for foreign visitors. The meals were prepared using mainly local produce and was beautifully presented and super delicious. Hotel staff are very attentive although communication in English was a bit of a challenge.

Everything was put together perfectly throughout the entire hotel, it's definitely an extraordinary experience for a first timer in Kirishima.

Room tip: western style suite
Date of stay: July 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank katieng2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

I loved the rotenburo (outdoor onsen) by the water stream. The room inside the main building (honkan) was very clean & tastefully decorated, and the kaiseki meal was exceptionally delicious. I definitely want to stay there again and highly recommend m-Ishiharaso to everyone.

Date of stay: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JapanMuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews