We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (294)
Filter reviews
294 results
Traveler rating
146
113
21
9
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
146
113
21
9
5
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 294 reviews
Reviewed December 4, 2017

I booked a room 1 night for 3 people and just 15000YEN! included breakfast and dinner which the dinner is the pork shabushabu that amazed me quite a bit!
There are a lot of choice of onsens, and separate from male and female!
I love here and that is the best experience during out of the 3 nights onsens hotel i have stayed

Room tip: no parking fee
Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank iphonechicory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
霧島ホテル, 霧島ホテル 予約課 at Kirishima Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2018

Dear Guest,
thank you for posting your feedback after your stay at our Kirishima Hotel.
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our house.
Looking forward to welcoming you soon again.
Best regards from Kirishima.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2016

A very large hotel but by no means impersonal. The staff are superb and really friendly. You may not see another westerner in the hotel; the hotel seems to be very popular with the Japanese.
The room is OK, Ryokan style but the bathroom is in a desperate need of an update.
The location is great, a short drive to all the good walks. The views are amazing and there is even a walk from the hotel to the surrounding woods.
The food is very Japanese but it is fresh.
The Western style breakfast is not great and the coffee is probably one of the worst. I didn't try the Japanese breakfast.
This is a good hotel but nothing special although the staff make up for most of its shortcomings.

Room tip: Get a room as close to the top as possible, facing the front.
Date of stay: April 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pokyyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
霧島ホテル, Chief of Reservation Desk at Kirishima Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2016

Dear Pokyyy,

Thank you for your kind feed back after your recent stay at Kirishima Hotel.
We are delighted to hear that our staff is doing a good job.
We are looking forward to welcoming you on your next stay with us.

Seiichi Hazeyama on behalf of Kirishima Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2015

The Kirishima is an Onsen style hotel and aimed mostly at Japanese families wanting an Onsen (i.e. spa bathing) experience. We chose the hotel for its location close to Kirishima national parks and weren't disappointed being quite close to some excellent walks, thermal areas and lakes.

We had a western/japanese room which was enormous as it has both a tatami mat sleeping area and a double western bedroom. Two toilets and a sitting room completed the accommodation.

The dinners were amazing serving excellent ingredients (abalone, sea urchin, lobster, wagyu beef, crab etc.), beautifully cooked and in an atmospheric dining room looking out onto a flood lit forest!

Date of stay: November 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cbglos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

The highlight of this place definitely has to be the baths. Picture an amusement park for onsen lovers. Hot, cold, outdoor, indoor, fountains you name it. It is a real blast playing in all the tubs and pools, though the water was generally not as hot as we like it. Kids would absolutely love it. It's not as relaxing as sitting in a quiet onsen or rotemburo by yourself but it is a fun break from "tradition". The food was quite good, both the dinner and the buffet breakfast. The dinner was served in courses, not all at the same time, which was a nice touch, and all washed down with ice cold sake. Try to ask for a room not facing the front driveway and carpark as you may be awoken early by the sound of people leaving and buses driving up.

Date of stay: November 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SingaporeGaribaldi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

The Kirishima area is a great escape and the hotel is in a perfect park setting. I could not find an english website to book from, so went to a JTB travel bureau in Tokyo. I imagine you could have phoned the hotel directly. Staff is able to speak some english and greatly desire to speak more. We were treated very well. Public Bus service almost to the door. Grand Bath was great, and there were many small pools around. Temperatures varied, so I could always find one of a good temperature. Breakfast was buffet style, which I like, with lots of choices. Dinners were well presented, had great variety and were super tasty.

Date of stay: March 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Stegasaur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews