We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (57)
Filter reviews
57 results
Traveler rating
8
35
11
2
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
8
35
11
2
1
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 57 reviews
Reviewed March 12, 2016

We stayed at this hotel during our visit to Appi Kogen.

Check-in was smooth without any problems.

The room was large, with two beds on one side, a Japanese-style room with a low table on the other side, and a conference table with four chairs at the centre. The room, bathroom and toilet were rather small, typical of most Japanese-style rooms.

After putting down my suitcase in the room, I went down to dinner.

Dinner was a Japanese buffet. The food was quite tasty especially the stir-fried vegetables and the beef stew.

The next morning, I had breakfast at the breakfast room. Breakfast was a buffet with Japanese and Western dishes.

Wireless internet access in the room worked flawlessly.

Service was attentive. I had no problems communicating with the staff even though most of them did not understand English.

I enjoyed my one night stay at Appi Grand. Since I stayed only one night, I did not have time to check out the other facilities in this large hotel.

Date of stay: February 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nelumbo-Nucifera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DayTrip68173013322, Digital Marketing at Appi Hills Shirakaba no Mori, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2018

Thank you very much for the review. We are looking forward to seeing you again this season.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2016 via mobile

Appi Grand Villa 3
Stayed in Villa 3 with our family of 5 booked In 2 rooms. Each room was comfortable and spacious with 2 beds, table with seating for 6 people, tatami mat area and separate bathroom and toilet. Room was big enough to accommodate 4 people; 2 on western style bedding & 2 on tatami bedding. Breakfast included a good selection of hot and cold dishes both western and Japanese. Dinner was available in 5 different restaurants and like breakfast included in room rate. Quality and plentiful food on offer. Predominantly Japanese dishes. Lift passes included in room rate as well as vouchers which could be redeemed at any mountain restaurant or shop. Regular free shuttle service between all resort buildings. Overall very well run hotel, efficient & helpful staff. Ski in ski out location. English speaking staff available. Special thanks to Yuji and Yoko for their wonderful service and consideration.

Date of stay: January 2016
Trip type: Traveled with family
2  Thank Powder3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2015

Stayed here on December 2014 with the family.
This hotel is the furthest from the main complex. It comes with 2 restaurant, one fusion japanese and some italian food (Pizza, pasta etc) called Lupinas and another restaurant that's only open for dinner and require prior reservation called Chokei serving mostly Japanese dishes.

The transport to APPI stop on all the hotel in the complex starting from Grand APPI hotel, so no worries there. There is free shuttle every half an hour or so that takes you to all the hotel in the complex and the onsen place. There are also bus that take you back o Morioka JR station, so when in doubt you can check with Front desk staff.

Room is spacious for Japanese standard. There are 5 of us and we get 2 single bed room and a traditional japanese tatami section good enough for 3 people. Service of the room is good as other hotel standard. you'll get kimono, bath robe, tooth brush and paste and water daily. We stayed at the 13th floor and it was nice and quiet with the view away from the mountain slope. The single bed are a bit soft to our liking and probably need some overhaul, the tatami is a bit old but clean and well kept.

There is free wifi at the main lobby area, but there is no wifi in the room. The Wifi connection at the lobby was quite good and fast. Wish they can extend it to the room that would've been perfect.

Access to chairlift can be done either by skiing through the forrest at the back or by using the shuttle. The ski trail at the hotel back is a green run with some up and down and might take some getting use to. it might be hard for first time skier, but after a few run they should be ok. I have to walk my 5 year old daughter to the ski lift for the first few times, but after a few times she was ok on most of the trail, or you can always take the shuttle.

There is also small onsen in the hotel, however I think it's better to use this only if you don't feel like going to the main onsen facility in Annex building. the Onsen in Annex building is much larger in scale and it comes with indoor/outdoor options. There is also Salomon ski rental station on this hotel, so you don't need to go to the main hotel to rent equipment (and the hassle or returning it again on the last day). The equipment is on par in term of quality with he one offered on the main building albeit a little bit less in choice.

Depending on the package, you might also get voucher for the various activities in the complex. There are usually discount voucher for rental, free onsen voucher, gym voucher, your breakfast voucher and dinner, your ski lift (you can exchange it at the booth next to the main hotel) and some voucher of snow walk.

All in all we have not much problem with this hotel. The choice of the restaurant is a bit tiring after a few days but you can always go around using the shuttle to the other hotel. For longer stay I would suggest to stay at grand APPI tower as that is closest to the slope and has the most choice of restaurant and other facility.

Date of stay: December 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank dtandase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2010

All the hotels in the area Appi kogen are close to the slopes. Grand villa 3 have the most inconvinient location though. To get to the slopes you have to go for a short walk(3min) uphill and then ski down to the lifts.

The rooms are nice and cosy and perfect for gathering friends in one room as it has a large long table seating 8 people in it. There is also a tatami floor section if you want to relax or eat japanese style. The beds are not the greatest though.

+ for ski rental on the first floor

The resturant have a dinner bufe and the food is oki, nothing special.

There is a shuttle bus driving you down to the nice hot bath/onsen. It stops at all the hotels so it is not much faster than just walking down there.

All in all it was a nice stay and the hotel delivers.

Date of stay: February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Eliasaroth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2019 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tsbirbiglia, Digital Marketing at Appi Hills Shirakaba no Mori, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2019
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews