We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (48)
Filter reviews
48 results
Traveler rating
27
19
2
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
27
19
2
0
0
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 48 reviews
Reviewed November 24, 2016

This onsen hotel is the perfect place to safely experience the beauty of ofunato. From the rooms you are exposed to the captivating sea and charming mountains, and the dining rooms provide you the fresh bounties of the ocean. The onsen (bath) is calming with its natural minerals, warmth and the view and breeze of the sea. The front desk sells ice cream made with milk from the region and I highly recommend the sweet snack. Finally, the owner puts the safety and comfort of his guests before his own profit. It is the archetype of the unique Japanese welcome, service and beauty.

  • Stayed: November 2016, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank HannahM3250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shida_Yoshitaka, General Manager at The Ofunato Onsen, Hot Spring Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2016

Dear Hannah M
Thank you for providing our team with feedback regarding your recent stay.
We are so glad to hear that you were able to enjoy our hotel's view. We truly aim to provide amazing view, exceptional dining, relaxed mood and safety to guests of all ages. I appreciate your comments regarding your stay with our owners attitude.

Should your future plans ever bring you back to Ofunato, we hope you decide to stay with us once again. We would love the opportunity to welcome you back. Please do not hesitate to reach out to me directly with any other questions you may have.

With my best wishes,

Yoshitaka Shida
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2016

We stayed at Ofunato Onsen for just one night, but were very impressed by the hospitality and value! The hotel had a van to pick us up at the BRT, and did everything to make our stay wonderful. They were gracious in accommodating our group of middle schoolers with a child-friendly dinner. Both dinner and breakfast were delicious, and the onsen was amazing (indoor and outdoor baths with beautiful views). Rooms were standard Japanese-style with yukata provided and other nice amenities. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Worth it to get the ocean-view!
  • Stayed: February 2016, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kathleen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yoshitakashida, 支配人 at The Ofunato Onsen, Hot Spring Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2016

Thank you for your recommendation. We are very happy for your satisfaction and you made us recommend on trip advisor site.
You stayed only one night, so you have never tried sightseeing tour of Ofunato.
In your next stay, we will arrange a sightseeing tour for you and your schoolers.
We are looking forward to seeing you and your schoolers again.

Sincerely yours,
Y. Shida
General Manager
Ofunato Onsen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2015

If you're prepared to bathe overlooking the bay, a truly beautiful sight, then seriously consider this place. If you prefer bathing in private in your own room you're out of luck. Newly built, kind staff, but limited bathing options.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Indigo_Scott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yoshitakashida, マネージャー at The Ofunato Onsen, Hot Spring Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2016

Dear our Customer
At first, sorry for my so late reply.
Thank you for your advices. But we have a several kind of room and there are some room with bath. So, I recommend you to choose a room with bath.
And these kind of rooms have a great view that you can see a sunrise and a star-filled night sky with Pacific ocean through Ofunato Bay.
Please try to stay the room with bath in Ofunato Onsen.
We are looking forward to seeing you again.

Yours sincerely

Y. Shida
General Manager
Ofunato Onsen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: オーシャンビューの部屋をお勧めします。きれいな朝陽を見ることができます。
  • Stayed: September 2018, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shida_Yoshitaka, 支配人 at The Ofunato Onsen, Hot Spring Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2018
Google Translation

Room Tip: オーシャンビューの部屋
  • Stayed: August 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shida_Yoshitaka, 支配人 at The Ofunato Onsen, Hot Spring Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews