We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (193)
Filter reviews
193 results
Traveler rating
81
67
30
4
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
81
67
30
4
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews relaxing place japanese style breakfast and dinner tatami room villa floor sea baths lounge facilities spring english view awaji
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 193 reviews
Reviewed October 21, 2015

We, family of 4, stayed at Villa Rakuen(ヴィラ楽園)of this hotel.
Room has both bedroom and tatami-room, so my husband and I used bedroom while my mother and sister used the Japanese room.
Our room had Roten-Buro(outside bath), so we used this in turn.
The hotel had two kinds of public hot spring bath as well.
The ocean view from our room was awesome.
Although price was a bit expensive, it was in a sense reasonable since the price included dinner and breakfast. The dinner and Japanese style breakfast which used lots of local ingredients were very nice.

Date of stay: November 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KobeH38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2015

The New Awaji is neither "old and traditional" nor "brand new and cool".
I guess the building is 1980's vintage. It is in very good condition but the style is showing its age. Do not be put off by this. The facilities are very good; the views are spectacular; the food is commendable; and the service is delightful. We spent a few days there chilling out post-Tokyo and pre-Kyoto. It is very easy to relax; especially if you take a room with its own private spa bath. We were the only non-Orientals in the hotel and we were made very welcome by the staff and the other guests.

Room tip: A private spa bath makes a big difference
Date of stay: May 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johnbQ3125AE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2014

We stayed at this hotel in August 2014.
Although called a hotel, Hotel New Awaji is a typical japanese ryokan (inn) : tatami rooms with a sea views for most of them, hot spring bath, safe in the room with keys to wear around the neck when you go to the hot spring bath, all floors/rooms are smoking, hot spring bath, yukata, japanese dinner in the room.
Hotel New Awaji targets families and most of the rooms were occupied by 3 generations families.
The check-in was efficient, the rooms are old but very clean and well maintained, the dinners were very good with a focus on local products (you can chose between several levels of food quality, there is also a children menu). The breakfast buffet had a vast choice of continental, english and japanese breakfasts as well as excellent local products.
This hotel is connected to 5 other hotels that all belong to the same group. The good thing is that you Can use the facilities of the other hotels: cafes, restaurants, hot spring Bath, pool, garden, children's room with games. There is also a small private beach that is good for young children and you can rent beach equipment from the hotel. There is also a shuttle that goes to Sumoto Beach (one of the nicest beaches in Japan) every 30 minutes.
I would highly recommend this hotel for families with children.

Date of stay: August 2014
Trip type: Traveled with family
2  Thank jgk_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2014

We visited the Villa Rakuen section of Hotel New Awaji in February of this year and wow!

We weren't too sure what to expect, especially with the Kaiseki in room dining, but we were very pleasantly surprised. We had a private onsen suite on the 11th floor and it was awesome. We could sit in our private Onsen on the balcony and look out over the sea. It was amazing.

The suite was huge and beautiful and we had a choice of using western style beds or Tatami mats. For our three nights there we chose Tatami and loved it. During the day they give you Yukata robes to wear.

A quirky Japanese touch is the toilet seat cover that lifts up every time you enter the room. There is a separate shower with top shelf Japanese body wash, shampoo and conditioner.

The Kaiseki is excellent and the produce top quality. We couldn't believe the amount of food they brought for our breakfast and dinner. The presentation is five star all the way. Our butler Honika spoke good English and explained all the dishes to us.

On the ground floor of the hotel is a gift shop which stocks most things that you want such as drinks, snacks, souvenirs etc.

We had three nights here and absolutely loved every minute of it.

Date of stay: February 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Blake_and_Krystle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

One weekend is not enough! i wished we could have stayed longer. the 9 course new year's dinner was excellent, with fresh produce and seafood, served in our room with excellent butler service. our suite is beautifully designs fusing japanese craftsmanship with modern design. zen minimalist at its best. kid friendly too. onsen (public baths) are very clean and spacious with awesome view of the sea. such a relaxing place. theres a plush smoker's lounge on the lobby floor with comfy sofas and great ventilation. will definitely come again!

Room tip: Vila Rakuen has great views of the sea. calm & peaceful location.
Date of stay: January 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank III76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews