We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Morizuya

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Morizuya
Ranked #2 of 125 Hotels / Ryokan in Toyooka
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Superb stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

Beautiful place with great onsite onsen. They were really helpful and even though we hadn't booked dinner there were no issues adding it when we arrived. The food was amazing and never seemed to end. Kinosaki is really set up well with a fee shuttle bus when you arrive dropping you off at the ryokans to free umbrellas for when it is raining. Definite worth a trip from Kyoto or Osaka.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    21
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
20
50
16
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

I decided to stay here since I saw good reviews on foods. And it was true. My family and I really enjoyed fresh Crab dinner course which we can't finish. I am not big fan of crab or shrimp, but this time I had a lot of crabs which are cooked in different ways.

In terms of location, Morizuya is located in the center of town and easy to go to 7 public baths around the town.

This time I was with my parents and it was really hard for them to go up to our rooms on 3rd floor with no elevator. Other than this, I am satisfied with their service, cleanses and washlet of toilette.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SamSapporo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2013

Spent 2 nights at Morizuya. Service was outstanding, room was beautifully decorated and large, with a great view of the garden. The onsen in the ryokan was actually my favorite in town; perfect temperature and quiet. Breakfast and kaiseki dinner in room were outstanding. Owner spoke good English, and the staff were very efficient and hospitable. Would go back in a flash.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gohead88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
189 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2013 via mobile

Morizuya is no luxury ryokan but what it lacks in comfort or style is more than compensated by its great location in the busier part of Kinosaki, and the great service from its male host. It is practically right next to one of the more popular free public onsens (for overnight guests), Ichinoya. Our host speaks good English and was always cheerful and obliging. He even drove us to the train station in his limo, suggesting pictures for us enroute. There is strong wifi in the room and throughout the property, and nice and clean indoor onsens and communal baths. On the downside, we felt the dinner wasn't that great compared to other ryokans we have stayed at in various trips to Japan.
My 10 sqm single Japanese style room was rather old and not renovated, but my friends had bigger and nicer rooms. There are some steep stairs to climb depending on which room you're given, so this would be a problem for anyone with knee problems.
We had two great meals - lunch at Okeshou seafood restaurant near the train station (you pick your own seafood downstairs) and dinner at Kadoya which is probably the closest to fine dining in the small town. Kinosaki itself is very charming and well worth an overnight stay.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank UWA_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2013

We stayed two nights in Morizuya and enjoyed it very much. We forgot to bring International driver license in Osaka so we had no choice to take trains and took us about 5-6 hours from Kansai airport to Kinosaki. We were suppose to drive so should be there at around 6pm, but end up to get there at around 9.30pm. What a surprise was - the host turned up in the train station and pick us up to back to ryokan. We were very happy and did not expect this happened.

Our rate includes breakfast and it was very traditional and nice in Japan style. The location of this ryokan is in the middle of the shopping street but very quiet at night. Tatami was very comfortable and clean. Very good experience in this ryokan.

We were given a onsen card for two days use, so we could go to six large onsens for free. In Japan, you are not allowed to wear swim wears in onsens, so it is the first experience to us as well. The onsens in Kinosaki were very nice and open when you stay uncovered areas.

We will definitely book this ryokan again. It is operated by a family, all of them are very friendly and helpful. The staff even helped us to put on the Kimono a few times. You will never have disappointments!! The host dropped us off at the train station again. ONE OF THE BEST Ryokan in Japan!!!!!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KylieLittle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013

Our four year old voted the Morizuya the best accommodation he'd ever stayed at and it would be hard for us to disagree. His eyes lit up when he saw the toy room, full of Plarail train tracks and toy cars. They even had child yukatas to match those of us adults. Our hosts spoke excellent English, though not some of the elder members of the family who serve you in your room. All were ever ready to help out. We felt so comfortable and so well looked after that we never wanted to leave.

The only tiny improvement that could be made is to offer a little more western friendly option at breakfast. It all looks so exquisite, but there are a few options that those not brought up in Japan are may not cope well with in the morning and you really don't want to offend the earnest ladies who have prepared it all for you. Fortunately, the dinner served in your room is a truly delicious meal of local delicacies.

Walking around Kinosaki Onsen in your yukatas and trying out the different baths is an amazing experience for the entire family and it's worth paying that bit extra for the Morizuya to make it even more memorable.

Room Tip: If you don't want to full Japanese meal experience there are places to eat out at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank allrite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
84 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

The ryokan has maybe 12 rooms, has been in the family for 120 years. We booked through booking.com which worked fine. It is one of only two in town where we found a identifying sign in English writing. Upon arrival we were welcomed warmly though virtually no English was spoken. Our room was at the back with foliage and a hill outside. Very large comfortable room, everythign tasteful and well maintained. The ryokan has 2 baths, which can be used privately before 6:30 pm, when they become public baths, one male, one female. We bathed and then dinner was served in our room. After dinner they made up the bedding. Next morning breakfast, and bedding was put away. Food was very good. We had dinner at the ryokan first night. Ryokan is well located well into the most attractive part of this village. If you want to go out for dinner you need to go back toward the train station (also pretty attractive) where there are some choices. The village is of course famous for public baths, and one of the best ones is slightly further up the road. You can walk there ins three minutes in your yukata. There is a hill behind the town with a cable car. We walked half way up and found a very nice small museum of Buddhist artifacts.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LorenzoBrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toyooka hotels
Kinosaki Onsen
Kinosaki Onsen Onishiya Suishoen
Kinosaki Onsen
Kinosaki Onsen Nishimuraya Honkan
Kinosaki Onsen
Yamamotoya
Yamamotoya
#8 of 125 in Toyooka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kinosaki Onsen
Mikuniya Ryokan
Mikuniya Ryokan
#5 of 125 in Toyooka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Kinosaki Onsen
Kinosaki Onsen Nishimuraya Hotel Shogetsutei
Kinosaki Onsen
Tsukimotoya Ryokan
Tsukimotoya Ryokan
#15 of 125 in Toyooka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Morizuya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morizuya

Property: Morizuya
Address: 417 Kinosakicho Yushima, Toyooka 669-6101, Hyogo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Hyogo Prefecture > Toyooka > Kinosaki Onsen
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Toyooka
#12 Best Value Hotel in Toyooka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Morizuya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morizuya Japan/Toyooka, Hyogo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing