We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful service and an outstanding traditional breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kinosaki Onsen Kojinmari
Ranked #11 of 126 Hotels / Ryokan in Toyooka
California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“wonderful service and an outstanding traditional breakfast”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

The people who work at this hotel are genuine, friendly, and eager to create a nice experience for their guests. I won't spoil it, but they do some little extras to put a smile on your face during your stay. I have travelled extensively in Japan over the last 20 years - this inn may not be luxurious, but the service is as good as anywhere I have stayed, even at three times the price.

Although I did not opt to eat dinner in the inn, I had the breakfast each day. The dining space is very attractive and the washoku breakfest exceptional. Three cheers for the excellent miso soup and grilled fish.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank koberikku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    5
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
14
39
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Balestier, Singapore
Level Contributor
123 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

We (2 adults and a daughter) stayed at the ryokan for a night in early Dec. It was a most memorable experience and we strongly recommend this ryokan to anybody who visits Kinosakionsen. Our experiences were as follows :
Pros =>
a) 5 min. walk from the JR Kinosakionsen station, almost in the middle of town.
b) Very clean room and safe environment. We reserved the 'ON' room but was upgraded to the 'RIN' room with the private semi-outdoor 'Onsen'. It was not luxurious by Western standard but warm and very comfortable with all necessary amenities included.
c) We had the 'Kaiseki' dinner. Both the food and service was excellent. Unfortunately we had to take the 7.16am train the next day. Otherwise we would love to have the breakfast too.
d) The ryokan has only 4 rooms. Consequently, it was very quiet and service very personalized.
e) Accommodation at Kinosakionsen is very expensive and this ryokan offers one of the best value for money.
f) Different designs of high quality 'Yukata' was included. We were awed with the designs.
g) Free access to the 7 onsens in Kinosakionsen.
h) The manager, Kojima-san took 2 photos and personalized them for us, including a small memorable gift on our departure at 6.45am the next day.
i) Very comfortable beds and warm room especially on a very cold night (zero degree C). After soaking in the private bath, we had the best sleep in our entire 1-week holiday.

Con :
a) Difficult to locate the first time because there was no English signboard.
b) The manager, Kojima-san written English is satisfactory but verbal English is lacking.

We will definitely stay there again the next time we visit Kinosakionsen.

Room Tip: The best room is the 'RIN' room on the top floor. If your budget allows, reserve this room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank lionheart_sg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fribourg, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012

This is the perfect place in Kinosaki if you would like to have a very personalized and original ryokan experience and if you do not just want to stay in another big anonymous hotel. The mixture between the japanese tradition of this ryokan and its partly very modern architecture is quite unique. And the owners are extremely friendly and very helpful, so they will do everything to meet your needs. Kojinmari Ryokan is very centrally located next to a small river that crosses the village. It is very small though and has only four rooms, so you better book well in advance.
The room we had on the top floor with the private onsen attached is absolutely wonderful and surprisingly big! Everything is provided in the room (towel, yukata, socks, shampoo, soap, tooth brush, hair dryer, tea, fridge etc.), so you basically do not have to bring anything. You can book your room with a traditional japanese dinner and/or breakfast. If you like japanese food, this is definitely something not to be missed. The owners do everything - both in terms of the aesthetic and the taste of the food - this culinary experience will be unforgettable for you.
We recommend Kojinmari Ryokan to any visitor of Kinosaki Onsen and we will definitely go back one day!

Room Tip: Choose the room on the top floor with the private onsen attached.
See more room tips
Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Sara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We picked Kojinmari from previous Trip Advisor reviews and the main street position and we weren't disappointed. As per previous reviewers, the staff were friendly and helpful and spoke some English and the position was perfect amidst the onsens and all the action for the October 14/15 festival. The festival was our main reason for going and was the most incredible two days ever. We were astounded to only see one or two other foreigners at this spectacular two day event.

We chose the Western Room (twin beds though) which fronted onto the canal, and you could see all the action and the fish in the canal. Room was perfect for our needs, although the fridge was a little old and had no room for your things.

The attention, kindness and helpfullness of the Kojima's and the gifts at the end from them and the beautiful view from the smallest ryokan in the village, made for an outstanding experience.

We didn't eat at Kojinmari, so can't comment on that. There are plenty of cute cafes and restaurants to suit most tastes. The Onsens.... well that's another experience!!

We were bewildered at first as why the accommodation in Kinosaki was so expensive, compared to the rest of Japan, but when you have as many visits as you want to the seven onsens included in the price, and the fact Kojinmari supply you everything you need for the onsen experience, you understand why. Was great value and a great experience. We will certainly return to Kojinmari and the beautiful Kinosaki community.

Room Tip: The new JR 4 day Kansai Wide West Area Pass may save you a bit in getting to and from Kinosaki and y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SunshineAussies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca Watts
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2012

What lovely people and a fantastic room! We stayed in the 'Sei' room with classic paper window shutters and warm orange walls.

The breakfast was also great, cooking our own fish at the table was an experience not to be missed and the mushroom miso soup was just wonderful.

We are so great full for your hospitality and your kind presents on departure, Thank you!

We would recommend this little place to everyone for value and hospitality x

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Whataworld27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
Level Contributor
36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2012

Nice ryokan with very friendly and helpful owner that speaks some English. Good Japanese breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trallalao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2012

Konjimari staff has been very welcoming, friendly, and helpfull. The rooms are nice and spacious. The location is convenient. And the limited number of rooms make it a very quiet and cosy place. Highly recommended!

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank cbaillet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toyooka hotels
Kinosaki Onsen
Kinosaki Onsen Onishiya Suishoen
Kinosaki Onsen
Mikuniya Ryokan
Mikuniya Ryokan
#3 of 126 in Toyooka
76 reviews
Kinosaki Onsen
Yamamotoya
Yamamotoya
#7 of 126 in Toyooka
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kinosaki Onsen
Kinosaki Onsen Nishimuraya Honkan
Kinosaki Onsen
Morizuya
Morizuya
#2 of 126 in Toyooka
118 reviews
Kinosaki Onsen
Tsukimotoya Ryokan
Tsukimotoya Ryokan
#15 of 126 in Toyooka
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kinosaki Onsen Kojinmari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kinosaki Onsen Kojinmari

Property: Kinosaki Onsen Kojinmari
Address: 257 Yushima Kinosakicho, Toyooka 669-6101, Hyogo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Hyogo Prefecture > Toyooka > Kinosaki Onsen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Toyooka
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Toyooka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kinosaki Onsen Kojinmari 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kojinmari is 5 minutes walk from Kinosaki Onsen station, having only 4 rooms, Kojinmari is the smallest Onsen inn in Kinosaki Onsen area. (Kojinmari in Japanese means "compact and cozy".)Booking with bed only available and authentic ryokan life is fully enjoyable with restful rooms, fine homemade dishes, and friendly hospitality.Different room types to choose from; 2 Japanese rooms, a Western room, and a room with private outdoor bath.We recommend that you wear yukata (light Japanese robe) and walk around Kinosaki Onsen town to enjoy a variety of onsen bath houses and local shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Rakuten so you can book your Kinosaki Onsen Kojinmari reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kinosaki Onsen Kojinmari Japan/Toyooka, Hyogo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing