We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Destinia.com
Trip.com
StayForLong
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
View all 12 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (129)
Filter reviews
129 results
Traveler rating
72
42
13
2
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
72
42
13
2
0
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 129 reviews
Reviewed June 10, 2017 via mobile

Amazing ryokan experience.

Biggest draws:
- excellent location bang in the middle of Kinosaki's main avenue in walking distance of both the JR station and all onsens
- service level is second to none. Both in-room (prep of meals, futons) as well as on hotel grounds in general (umbrellas, keeping of shoes etc. all taken care of)
- the food is simply superb (refer to pics for diner). Great fish (crab), tempura and meat courses. The breakfast might be a bit of an acquired taste as it includes whole fish, noodles, rice etc. which could be a bit hard to stomach for some as first meal of the day.

Unfortunately no 5/5 due to the tired furnishing of the ryokan. Doors & walls are stained through use, the toilet is from the 70s (refer to picture) etc. (when spending some 20,000 yen per night excluding meals you'd expect a well appointed room). Some touching up and this would be a solid 5/5.

Date of stay: June 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank JoostG3
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2017

Our 1st ryokan experience. Though we had no other ryokan experience to compare with, we really enjoyed every bit of Yamamotoya.

Checking in was a breeze. Our room was ready with tea & light snack as we were briefed about the Kinosaki Onsen and given yukatas to dress in. After our evening baths, we came back to a marvelous in-room Kaiseki dinner. Tajima beef (Hyogo's specialty) was very yummy, the snow crabs (available during winter) dipped in white vinegar was deliciously sweet. Every dish was a delight and we were stuffed to the brim! Almost went into food coma but we dragged ourselves for another round of onsen that night.

Came back to our room where the futon was already set up.We enjoy a firm bed, so we had a very good night sleep on these. The in-room breakfast served was also full of variety. We also tried the bath in Yamamotoya, which I really enjoyed cause I had the whole onsen to myself that morning ;) They have a small outdoor bath too.

This is also one of the most centrally located ryokan, along the canal and in the middle of the 7 onsens of Kinosaki. At check out, they also arranged to send our luggage to the station, where we could pick it up later. Hence we could enjoy another few hours walking and relaxing around town.

The entire experience at Yamamotoya was very relaxing and hassle free. Would highly recommend, especially for ryokan newbies!

Room tip: When booking a room, opt for the Kaiseki dining experience.
Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank AliciaCLPhang
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2017

Stayed two nights at Yamamotoya. The ryokan is located in a beautiful spot in the middle of Kinosaki, 5 minutes from the station and within walking distance to all the 7 onsen if you want to try them all. Nice, spacious room with tatami mats and futon beds, and beautiful garden view. The rooms on the other side of the building facing the river and road should have nice views too, as Kinosaki is a beautiful little town.

We had two different dinner packages, both were excellent. Breakfast is great, too. They even brew their own beer! What more can you wish for? Try the stout or the "crab beer" (pale ale - ish), both very good.

Very friendly and helpful staff - not all speak english, but the manager does.

Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Knut N
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2017 via mobile

The service, the amenities, the location, and the food were absolutely amazing! There was also a small craft beer bar in the lobby which was nice for a nightcap. We unfortunately could only stay a night but if we ever find ourselves visiting Kinosaki again in the future, this place would definitely be on top of our list!

Date of stay: January 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Rémy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2017 via mobile

The location is perfect. It's right in the middle of town and the 7 onsens where you can go onsen hopping! They also brew their own beer which tasted very good. The room we had faced the canals where the all the activity goes on. It was an amazing experience and atmosphere where everyone strolls the street in a yutaka going from onsen to onsen. Much recommended for a good break!

Date of stay: January 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Sharon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews