We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best places I stayed during my trip!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kinosaki Onsen Onishiya Suishoen
Ranked #4 of 126 Hotels / Ryokan in Toyooka
Certificate of Excellence
Greater Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“One of the best places I stayed during my trip!!!!”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

I only got to spend a night but I loved this hotel! I plan to spend at least 3 nights on my next visit! Lovely friendly staff, beautiful room and view. Food was amazing (we had dinner and breakfast served in our room), lovely public bath.
Was a longer journey than I envisioned from Osaka, but I will plan my next trip better!
Thank you for the lovely experience!!!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MelbKatie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    33
    8
    3
    1
See reviews for
33
31
15
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We were escorted from the rail station via free shuttle bus (look for someone wearing an information tabbard) and were greeted by the very friendly and willing to help staff. Only problem was poor english but most of the tourists here are Japanese also, and with a bit of sign language and repetition you could get your point across ok.

The rooms were spacious and traditional japanese with tatami mats and futon beds (comfortable!) but there was a lingering pungent smell (?cooking from the restaurant? which you got used to after a couple of minutes). The hotel provided free yukata for male and female to walk around the town and go to the baths in and was an interesting experience! (Don't worry the staff will teach you how to put it on!)

The hotel provides free drop off and pick up at various points in the town making transport easy; only issue is one has to telephone the hotel and can be costly if using mobile telephone internationally.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zchaa64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2012

This was easily the nicest hotel I stayed in the whole 2+ weeks in Japan. It was also the most expensive, but even taking that into account this place really is great. The whole hotel has that nice traditional Ryokan feel. There's a nice lobby, restaurant area, and it has its own private baths which rivalled/ bettered anything you could get in town.
On arrival, you are collected from the train station and checked in. You leave your shoes at the lobby, and in your room you will find your yukata (light robe that everyone walks around town in, in between visits to baths). I stayed in a western room (you cannot book other rooms travelling on your own), but the traditional rooms looked stunning. I had the breakfast in the hotel, and really loved it. One of the best meals I had, full of ceremony and delicious treats. I would recommend probably also taking the dinner, since I struggled to get food in town as most restaurants closed at 6pm. I didn't realise this was because most tourists did take the hotel meals... so I had to rustle something up from a convenience store.
The bath I would most recommend in town is Satono-yu. It is a bit further from the others, but well worth it. All those in town were very similar to each other in my opinion. The hotel gives you a pass you can use to gain entry anywhere. And they will drop you off and then pick you up for free. Worth noting that the hotel is not really in the town, and isn't close walking distance, but in the hotel's transport you can get anywhere in about 7 or 8 minutes.
Overall a great hotel, wonderful service, and a really nice central courtyard to enjoy at any time. The baths were also on a par with anything in town (often better), so you can have a nice relaxing bath and can then go straight to bed for one of the most relaxing sleeps you'll ever have!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alseliko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kobe, Japan
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2011

Unfortunately, our reservation at this ryokan was cancelled the afternoon before we were supposed to check in. We got to see the lobby and lovely garden before they took us to the busy, crowded family hotel across the street. As two women traveling, we would have preferred the Onishiya Suisyouen and we would have preferred that they not cancel our reservation.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank PeripateticLibrarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2011

The Onishiya Suisyouen hotel in Kinosaki-onsen offered a great service, big and clean rooms and is very peaceful. The stay was great, and included the entrance of one of the 7 public baths in Kinosaki-Onsen.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellingiswhatido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toyooka hotels
Kinosaki Onsen
Kinosaki Onsen Nishimuraya Honkan
Kinosaki Onsen
Yamamotoya
Yamamotoya
#7 of 126 in Toyooka
96 reviews
Kinosaki Onsen
Mikuniya Ryokan
Mikuniya Ryokan
#3 of 126 in Toyooka
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kinosaki Onsen
Morizuya
Morizuya
#2 of 126 in Toyooka
118 reviews
Kinosaki Onsen
Tsukimotoya Ryokan
Tsukimotoya Ryokan
#14 of 126 in Toyooka
23 reviews
Kinosaki Onsen
Kawaguchiya Riverside Hotel
Kawaguchiya Riverside Hotel
#13 of 126 in Toyooka
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kinosaki Onsen Onishiya Suishoen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kinosaki Onsen Onishiya Suishoen

Property: Kinosaki Onsen Onishiya Suishoen
Address: 1256 Kinosaki-cho Momoshima, Toyooka 669-6102, Hyogo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Hyogo Prefecture > Toyooka > Kinosaki Onsen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Toyooka
#9 Best Value Hotel in Toyooka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kinosaki Onsen Onishiya Suishoen 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Japanese-modern ryokan with onsen hot springs. Free WiFi and PC available. Pick-up at Kinosaki station offered. Rental bicycles also available at no extra charges. Limousine or van shuttle offered in every evening, to the main area of Kinosaki town. Help yourself for a cup of coffee or Japanese tea in the lounge at any time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Rakuten, Ctrip TA, Priceline, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Kinosaki Onsen Onishiya Suishoen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kinosaki Onsen Onishiya Suishoen Japan/Toyooka, Hyogo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing