We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Up Scale resturant with authentic Italian food”

Luna Rossa Restorante & Pizzeriea
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Cardinal
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Up Scale resturant with authentic Italian food”
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Went Luna Rossa when we stayed in Coronado
the hostess/ owner is from Italy
very pleasant and freindly
the resturant is clean and quiet
food is very good but don't be in a rush it sometimes takes a while especially if the place is buisy
portions are good but price is a little to high for the area

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank RDSCardinal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    79
    22
    11
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
marathio
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“One Of The Top Restaurants in Coronado”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We are residents of Coronado and LunaRossa is one of the very best restaurants in the region. When the new owners, Lisa Capelli and Stelvio Pacchini took over the restaurant, they brought with them an exceptionally talented cook from a 5 star restaurant in Florence. He has not lost a beat and Dario (who is also their nephew) turns out some of the best Italian food in all of Panama, Their tagliatelli is home made as are many of their pastas. Their sauces are true” best of Italy recipes” and are also used in many of their other recipes. Recently, I ordered grouper Siciliano which was so good that it defies description. My partner had their spaghetti with mushrooms agliae oila. It too was excellent. Their menu is varied and if you are looking for a great filet mignon (top quality filet is hard to find in Panama) then I highly recommend their filet in red wine sauce. The meat was tender and the sauce was light and piquant. Their gelato is home made and one spoonful brings you back to the streets of Florence. Finally, of course, their thin shell pizza is not only popular and extraordinary but is also available for take out.
I read another comment about service and I must address it. Everything is made to order in this restaurant and that takes time. If you are looking for a meal on the go, McDonald's is done the street. But if you have any issues (and there are very few but this is a popular restaurant) then just let Lisa or Stelvio know. They are always in the restaurant (as good restaurateurs are) and will take care of whatever needs to be done.
LunaRossa is one of the oldest restaurants in the beach areas and when it closed, many of the who-whos of Panama mourned its closure. Now that Lisa and Stelvio have reopened it, they have exceeded even the original reputation. If you are in Coronado, this is a must-visit. Excellent food and reasonable prices.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fmainero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Luna Rossa January 2013”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Enjoyed Luna Rossa very much both times eating there. The owner/hostess was very friendly and treated us like guess in her home. The food was reasonably priced and very tasted. My favorites were the Octopus Carpaccio,Grilled Grouper, Tropical Salad and the Bomba ice cream.

Yes, there was a little wait for the food. However, we were served fresh bread and a olive oil dipping sauce while we waited. Which allow time for a few glasses of wine and conversation for our group of seven. Like most places I have travelled outside of the states it takes a little longer. Normally worth the wait. We were on vacation.....why rush it? It goes to fast anyway. Besides after 11 days of sun and 85 to 90 degree weather, I return to snow the very next day. Now that I could have really waited for.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jeffbados50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Palmar, Panama
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Don't go on a Saturday took 1 1/2 hours to get our dinner”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We arrived at 9pm - had reservations as suggested. We sat at our table for 15 mins before anyone even came over to give us water or a beverage. Ordered appetizer and pasta dishes for two persons after 1 1/2 hours still no food - no one came over to check on us. The pasta dishes - especially the spinach ravioli were very good. I would give them one more chance considering how busy they were. Suggestion for the male owner at the door he should go around and ask his guests "How they are doing?" Doesn't seem to engaged with the business...from my view.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carmen I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa Coronado, Panama
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Authentic Italian Food in an Upscale Setting”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Beautiful atmosphere, tastefully decorated. Owner Lisa and her husband are eager to insure their guests enjoy their dining experience. Full bar service and excellent variety of authentic Italian dishes.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kimberely412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Luna Rossa Restorante & Pizzeriea also viewed

Playa Coronado, Cocle Province
Playa Coronado, Cocle Province
 
Playa Coronado, Cocle Province
Playa Coronado, Cocle Province
 

Been to Luna Rossa Restorante & Pizzeriea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing