We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location if you like to golf”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BlueBay Coronado Golf & Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Playa Coronado
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We booked the last room available but by arrival it didn't look like the hotel was fully booked. Our room was located just next to a fountain which was running all night and kept us from sleeping. The room was large but terribly outdated. The hotel sits on well kept gardens, but we didn't like that the pool was full of leaves and didn't like that we had to drive for 5 min to the beach.
All by all, the hotel is overpriced.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank magdak13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (395)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

105 - 111 of 395 reviews

Reviewed February 13, 2013

My husband and I decided this would be a nice place to spend two nights with our 2 year old daughter. They offered one of the "new" rooms, and I thought that would be great because there wouln't be any smells caused by humidity (which is pretty high in Panama). Our mistake! Once we got into the room we felt nothing strange....there were two full beds, as promised. A TV with cable (small TV in our opinion, but we were'nt there to watch TV anyway) and a so so kids swimming pool. But.........after spending some time outside the room and re-entering, suprise! The bathroom expelled such a foul odor.......I immediately started looking for probable reasons (could that terrible smell be caused by my daughter's diapers???) but couldn't find a reason other than terrible construction and plumbing. We called the front desk and asked what was going on; they said someone from maintenance would come to our room but we had to call an hour later to find out what had happened with this maintenance person who didn't appear. When the person arrived, guess what he had in his hand? Some odor controlling product! He started spraying it in the bathroom and after performing this "ceremony" told us that there was nothing else he could do, as this was a plumbing issue. As we just stayed two nights there and spent most of our time in one relative's home located near the hotel, we didn't ask to be moved to another room. We just kept the bathroom's door closed and hoped for the best. Very bad experience with these "new" garden rooms.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aura D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBCoronado, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at BlueBay Coronado Golf & Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2016

Dear guest, for our management is gratifying that our customers spend few minutes to rate the experience that we provide in our BlueBay Coronado Golf & Beach Resort. As it can’t be different, we will coach each of our employees not only know, but to understand the importance of your comments. Thanks for your rating and feel free to visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Stayed here twice for a total of 3 nites during our December 2012 trip to Panama. Both times had a wonderful stay. Beautiful rooms, large and very clean. Very nice facilities. Large very nice pool on the main property, and a shuttle bus to take us to the private beach club, which also had a lovely pool. Although very few of the staff spoke English, and our Spanish is poor, they went out of their way to be helpful. We were there in off-season, but the rooms were very reasonably priced for a beautiful facility like this.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SaraRuth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012

And we golfed every day for 7 days. I like to walk and pull a cart so they fixed me up. Not many people on the course so we were able to play in 3.5 hours. Then to the resort bar for some lunch and $2.00 bottles of Balboa. Then a dip in the pool or a short shuttle to the beach. At 4 PM everyday went out for some twilite golf in a riding cart with a few rum/cokes . Then showered changed and back to the bar for dinner.

The golf course is beautiful and in great shape and greens are cut everyday. Long course for long hitters but had choice of 5 tees.

Ate in town 1 nite and found it expensive and not that good. So the rest of the time we at at the resort. Found prices to be very reasonable, the food was excellent and the service was spectacular. I had steak, grilled fish, ceviche, kosher hot dog, fruit platters, a great hamburger and their national dish the 1/2 boneless grilled chicken and rice. Also, try the mixed seafood soup and the chicken and rice soup. Steak and fish were the most expensive at $13.00. Add a $3.00 rum and I was in heaven. We sat in the outside bar where it was cooler and the manager let us order off of any of the 3 restaurants menues. How's that for accommodating ?

The best part is I only lost 1 ball on this trip.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012

We've been traveling through Panama for the last 2 weeks mostly staying at great boutique hotels for less than $100/night. We decided to check out this "beach resort" and weren't too impressed. The facility and grounds were nice and well maintained, but I give this facility low marks for the following reasons: 1) None of the rooms are at the beach. That's a 5 minute ride. Its a nice location, but if you want access to the beach from your room, this is not the spot for you. Note: if you want to drive to the beach, they couldn't even provide a map, 2) When we arrived I asked for a different room, since my hotels.com reservation was for a king and our room provided 2 queens. We were told this was the only room available. However, the next morning, we determined the hotel was virtually empty, and saw our room's "view" was overlooking construction materials. 3) Finally, the 'discount' price on hotels.com was $140/night, and by Panama standards I was expecting much better ambiance and location for this premium price.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2012

The resort itself is quite lovely and the rooms are spacious and very comfortable. There is only a small fridge in the unit and no kettle for making tea or coffee, which limits you to service at the bar or restaurant.
There is free Internet (but it's a bit slow) and a good sized LCD TV, which is oddly placed in the middle of the room on a swivel so that you can watch it from the couch or the bed. Unfortunately, you have to walk around it all the time and at night this can be a problem on your way to the washroom.
The biggest problem is that the beach is quite a distance from the hotel. You can't walk there and must either drive or take the free shuttle. At the beach the hotel has a bar and small restaurant as well as a small pool, which is just as well since the beach is black sand and not very attractive.
The main pool at the hotel is older but large and well maintained.
A nicely equipped gym is free and there is a spa where a wide range of services are offered for reasonable prices provided by cheerful, competent staff. There apparently is horseback riding, but we never saw it.
A hiking trail is open about 3 kilometres away at the Bosque seco (dry forest), but it's pretty boring and not worth the walk.
Unless you have a car, you are restricted to eating at the hotel restaurants. The prices here a reasonable and the quality of the food is quite good -- definitely better than the nearby all-inclusive Royal Decameron over at Farallon.
You can walk to the only other restaurants nearby, the Picasso Pizza place (open only at night) and the Gourmet Pizza place (open for lunch and dinner), but it's a 2 kilometre walk and there are no sidewalks on the road. Don't risk it at night.
A $3 taxi ride will take you 4 kilometres to the small town of Cornado on the main highway where there are two grocery stores and a few fast food joints.

Room Tip: The end units at the back facing the golf course have large windows on two sides which make the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DanoCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

We booked this hotel on a long weekend as our usual choices in the area were already fully booked. Although some sections have been renovated this hotel still doesn't measure up to some of the other newer hotels and options along the pacific coast. Rooms are large but there are no sea views and despite renovation the furniture is still aged and dated. Probably a good choice for golfers as its right on a big golf course but not if you want pool and beach. All the pools were dirty and full of leaves and were not cleaned during our stay. The children's playhouse was dirty messy and smelled of urine. The breakfast buffet however was decent and the staff were very friendly. However no information or instructions were given on the facilities. You had to guess where everything was. We got a deal on Expedia for a garden room for USD160 which was a very spacious room with king bed living space with two sofa beds and dining table. However we will not be returning. We would rather pay a bit more for nicer facilities pools and convenient beach access for us and our two small boys.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MLRH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Coronado
15.8 mi away
Sheraton Bijao Beach Resort - An All Inclusive Resort
0 mi away
Express Inn Coronado Hotel & Camping
22.1 mi away
Hotel Riu Playa Blanca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.8 mi away
Nitro City Panama Action Sports Resort
17 mi away
Los Mandarinos Boutique Spa & Hotel Restaurant
Los Mandarinos Boutique Spa & Ho...
#1 of 5 in El Valle de Anton
433 reviews
20.2 mi away
Royal Decameron Golf, Beach Resort & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BlueBay Coronado Golf & Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BlueBay Coronado Golf & Beach Resort

Address: Ave Punta Prieta | Chame Dist, Playa Coronado 4381, Panama
Location: Panama > Cocle Province > Playa Coronado
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Playa Coronado
Price Range: $174 - $406 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BlueBay Coronado Golf & Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your BlueBay Coronado Golf & Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coronado Golf & Beach Hotel Playa Coronado
Coronado Golf And Beach Resort
Coronado Hotel Beach
BlueBay Coronado Golf & Beach Resort Panama/Playa Coronado

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing