We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little gem hidden off the highway”
Review of El Platanar

El Platanar
Ranked #9 of 14 Restaurants in Santa Isabel
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A little gem hidden off the highway”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

On our way to the airport from Ponce, found this little gem. Great service, great food overall a great time even though we were in a bit of a hurry to get to the airport, we truly enjoyed the food. The portions were huge and very filling. Service was what we expected laid back and not rushed as the rest of the island. If you are expecting the same rushed service you get in the states, PR service in general is not for you.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lizp1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    30
    29
    17
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birchwood, Tennessee, United States
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“If you like to be ignored...this is the place!!!”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

My dad who lives in PR took us to this restaurant which he goes to regularly. I guess he is so used to it that he does not notice what is going on. The service is awful, starting with the waitress who took forever to even take the drink order. Then after the drinks and taking the order it was close to an hour before we got out meal. The pork chops were over done and so dried we could not eat them even with a gallon a water. The rice was bland and overall a terrible meal. It took another hour to get the check and another half hour for the waiter to come back with the receipts and never mind he was very rude and obviously did not care if he got a tip or not. The only good thing about the restaurant is the view and that the breeze flows nicely through their establishment cooling it down because there is no air conditioning. I will not be going back next visit.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Idaly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good Food - worth the wait!”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

You can see from the pictures that the food is unique. An interesting mix of a Plantain restaurant with HUGE servings. Most menu items are for 2 or 4, but can be ordered for just one. But get a doggie bag anyway!! Service was slow, but that seems to be the Puerto Rican way. This is not fast food – and it doesn’t taste like it either!
Nice cool breeze on a mountainside, the outdoor dining is pleasant. Live music on the weekends, and a huge wine list (admit we did not try it however). Certainly recommended, but come hungry!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JimmyKanz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Worst experience ever!!!!!”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

It is understandable that on Mothers Day it would be a waiting time but it is unacceptable a waiting time of five hours and no even an update on the order.The staff was not friendly at all!! and they kept forgetting the drinks and beverage.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank shernandez31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birchwood, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“One of the worst expereinces ever !!!!”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

If I have anything good to say, it would be that the view is a beautiful and that the portions are very large....that is where anything good ends.....The waiter could have cared less if he waited on us or not, we would have to ask 3 or 4 times for something. I ordered the 2 lb. pork chops, my wife and I were sharing. It was so over cooked that it was like leather and so dry. Anyone could have cooked it better, secondly half of the pork chops were fat. No one would serve what they set before us. I have traveled a lot over the years and I would rate this as one of the worst restaurants I have ever ate at.....Don't waste your money !!!! I fast food hamburger would have been much better than what we had.....

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank raul r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Platanar also viewed

Santa Isabel, Puerto Rico
 
Santa Isabel, Puerto Rico
Salinas, Puerto Rico
 

Been to El Platanar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing