We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Have to agree; one of the best for Puertorrican food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Fonda de Angelo

La Fonda de Angelo
Ranked #1 of 13 Restaurants in Santa Isabel
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $25
Cuisines: Caribbean, Latin, Puerto Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Cabo Rojo
Level Contributor
60 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Have to agree; one of the best for Puertorrican food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2011

Located downtown Santa Isabel in a old traditional wooden locale with a bar and informal tables. I can say that if you want to experience what Puertorrican food is all about this is the place to go. Plantain fritters, rice and beans can mingle with duck, lobster, churrasco, fish and other dishes delightfully prepared by its owner. The only inconvenience could be parking... so arrive early for lunch.

  • Visited April 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank crp_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    17
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
iowa
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The best food in Puerto Rico”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2011

I had been eating at 30-40 dollar a plate restaurants all week when I was brought to this location for lunch. I can say, without doubt, that this is the best food I ate while on this island, and some of the best food I have eaten in my life. The food is definitely authentic Puerto Rican. The first time for lunch I had a fillet of Grouper (Mero), in a light, salt, pepper, garlic, and oil sauce, with a side of tostones, and green salad. Second time I had Conch and Octopus on greens with a light olive oil based dressing, tostones, and tomatos (Ensalada de caracol marino y pulpo). This place will haunt my dreams until I can get to it again.

  • Visited January 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank docchilie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Riley, Kansas
2 reviews
“Great Puerto Rican food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2011

If you are looking for a place to eat good, authentic Puerto Rican food, this is the place to go. They have an extensive menu to choose from. The staff is friendly and the atmosphere is festive. You do have to be prepared to wait. It is a small restaurant but a lot of people from all over come here. It is worth the wait.

  • Visited January 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank hprock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caborojo13
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Home cooking”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2010

My friends and family stopped at this restaurant last Monday....and boy are we glad we did. The food was superb - the chef came out and explained some of the items on the menu. The service was very good. This will definately be a stop for all of us on the way to cabo rojo via the autopista. Thank you Mr. Angelo for all the attention you gave us.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank caborojo13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
1 review
“Where the mayor eats”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2009

This is a 'local' hangout. So much so that this is one of Mayor Questell's favorite spots in town.
Great fish and cold beer.

Helpful?
Thank quagsi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Fonda de Angelo also viewed

Santa Isabel, Puerto Rico
Santa Isabel, Puerto Rico
 
Santa Isabel, Puerto Rico
Santa Isabel, Puerto Rico
 

Been to La Fonda de Angelo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing