We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A new and modern hotel with friendly staff and a good location.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Lisboa Almada
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Almada
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 10, 2013

It's not the first time that i stayed in this hotel and i can say that the staff is always friendly, the hygiene conditions are always perfect, the bed it's very good as the pillows. Hotel's location it's really good for the price as well the comfort provided. I highly recommend it for executive and leisure purpose.

Room Tip: The first floor apartments are equal to the higher floors, therefore cheaper because the window will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank web_mg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joao C, Gerente geral at Mercure Lisboa Almada, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

Dear web_mg ,
Thank you very much for your review. We are very happy to learn that you are a repeated guest at our Hotel, please note that we've changed the name to Lisboa Almada Hotel due to our locsation just 20 minutes off Lisbon city centre from the south bank of the river Tagus. We look forward to welcoming you soon. Kind regards, Joao Costa-GM Details Hotels & Resorts (gm@detailshotels.com)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (355)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

67 - 73 of 355 reviews

Reviewed December 27, 2012

It was with trepidation that I ended up staying at this hotel – on paper it appeared inviting – new contemporary design, modern, clean and catering for the business end of the market.
However my concern was about the distance from Lisbon as this hotel is in the Almada district – which seemed a little much having to catch a tram/bus then a ferry just to get to Lisbon proper.
However this was soon forgotten as the journey to and from the hotel was actually pretty enjoyable in itself – the locals are so friendly, the trip especially across the harbour was quick and regular and the view enjoyable – but you do have to factor this into your decision if staying here
The hotel itself couldn’t be faulted the staff were near on perfect, friendly helpful and very obliging, the rooms comfortable, spacious and tastefully designed,, the superior rooms especially had refreshments available 24/7, and Wi-Fi was included in the price. All in all a great stay in a wonderful, warm and inviting city.

Room Tip: If possible try and secure the superior / vip rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank blade70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Stayed at this great hotel for a week and I can't say enough about it! Firstly though, if you are a party of 3 as we were, there are no triple rooms at the standard rate, so a camper bed is provided which was a bit of a pain but at the same time, I'm not complaining as this is what we signed up for!

Firstly, the hotel itself is bright and modern, spotlessly clean and with great staff. It is within easy reach of Lisbon city centre, just hop on the number 3 metro (at the bottom of the hill beside the hotel), get off at the last stop and hop on the ferry over the river. The ferry is less than €3 return and takes about 7 minutes. Then it's a straight walk to the major attractions.

Almada itself is just lovely, a good sized, hilly town with great shops and cafes. If you're really up for shopping, get a taxi from the hotel reception to the Almada Forum. It costs about €10 and is well worth it! A great shopping centre with all the big brands! Loved it!! Hotel receptionist organised taxis for us, a great plus when you don't speak the language!

Breakfast at the hotel, in my opinion, was perfect! A hot and cold buffet, good coffee and lots to choose from. Breakfast is served until 10.30. In the evenings, the hotel restaurant serves fantastic meals at unbeatable prices! €7.50 for a soup starter, steak and fries (for example) and dessert. There are other, even cheaper options. Could not fault the food nor the service. A glass of wine comes in at about €2 and bottled beer around the same.

I loved the hotel and the location also and would have no hesitation in recommending it to anyone! A great stay.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Janie_Bop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for two nights. The hotel is in Almada on the south side of the Tejo river. It is easy to get to central Lisbon by tram and ferry or tram and suburban train. The room was modern, clean and comfortable with large screen TV with many Portuguese and foreign channels, including BBC World News and BBC Entertainment. Many other channels are in English. The bed was comfortable with choice of two pillows, or both! The hotel served an excellent breakfast, included in the price with hot and cold choices. In addition there was an evening restaurant which served a first class buffet dinner. On the second evening the buffet was not available and the choice was limited. If your aim is to visit Lisbon for a reasonable cost then this is a good choice hotel, if you just want an overnight stop it is also easy to get to by car and overnight parking is free.

Room Tip: Rooms to the rear do not get the afternoon sun, which does warm the room (although the aircon is goo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank caprontee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Would not recomend this hotel for holiday makers unless it's an overnight stop.
There is nothing close by to do or see. It's all a taxi ride away.
Having said that for the business user it's fine.
I stayed on the 7th floor, which I think is a business floor, tea, coffee, juice, biscuits, cakes right outside the lift before you even get to your room.
Beds comfortable, pillows great, room spacious, bathroom lovely, TV OK (a few english channels), Mini bar stocked Coffee maker in the room, nice coffee.
Breakfast nice, plenty of selection. The bar was a little understaffed in the evenings so kept having to go to the reception to get served. It can be popular with coaches of tourists doing a stop over, on route, so get into dinner before them if you want any of the evening buffet left. Food was good and wine great (even the house stuff).
You are almost mid way between the coast and the city so it might suit you if you intend to drive to both over a weekend.
All in all, a good hotel.

Room Tip: Try to get on the 7th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank welwyn_steve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Almada Business hotel was great choice for holidays in Lisboa! First of all- close to Costa de Caparica, one of the most beautiful and widest beaches in Europa. Also perfectly situated close to the El rio Tajo and Puente de 25 Abril and Cristo Rey. Easy reachable of various means of transportation- metro, train even ferry across the river.
Room and bathroom was big and comfortable. Breakfast was ok, just a little bit more of variety of food would be great. Staff was helpful and friendly, english and spanish speaking. Building is new, well maintained and modern designed.
We really enjoyed our stay in this hotel. It is great not only for business but perfect for holidays in Lisboa!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ausiis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2012

This hotel turned out to be a perfect choice for our stay in Lisbon, during Easter holidays. The hotel, though named Business Hotel, is perfect for short family vacation. The building is new, well kept and maintained, simple and modern-style furnished. Rooms are rather spacious and really clean, bathrooms included. We were really surprised about how quiet the Hotel was, in spite of having rather big groups of tourists, coming and going with buses. We managed to have, booking quite in advance, two communicating rooms (414+415) and this is a really good solution for families with kids. The staff is really friendly and helpful, though discreet. Breakfast is great, continental style, never missing fresh peeled fruits and local pies and tarts. The dinner buffet is also very good and convenient, all courses at your disposal. Surroundings are nice residential areas, where we felt safe even taking trams late evenings. The tram station is really 3 minutes walking from the Hotel. In 10 minutes tram takes you down to the river boat terminal (Cachilias) where, within another 15 minutes, you reach Cais do Sodrè, the main Lisbon public transportation hub. A tip for runners: don’t miss a run to Cristo Rei early morning.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank alem159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Almada
3.3 mi away
Aldeia dos Capuchos Golf & Spa
Aldeia dos Capuchos Golf & Spa
#1 of 6 in Costa da Caparica
641 reviews
4.1 mi away
TRYP Lisboa Caparica Mar Hotel
TRYP Lisboa Caparica Mar Hotel
#3 of 6 in Costa da Caparica
202 reviews
5.3 mi away
Evidencia Belverde Atitude Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Mercure Lisboa
Mercure Lisboa
#93 of 255 in Lisbon
1,383 reviews
4.6 mi away
Novotel Lisboa
Novotel Lisboa
#119 of 255 in Lisbon
2,821 reviews
6.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Lisbon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Lisboa Almada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Lisboa Almada

Address: Rua Abel Salazar 9 | Pragal, Almada 2805-313, Portugal (Formerly Lisboa Almada Hotel)
Location: Portugal > Alentejo > Setubal District > Almada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Almada
Price Range: $57 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Lisboa Almada 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star Mercure Lisboa Almada is situated just a short drive from Costa da Caparica's beaches and 1.4 km from the iconic Cristo Rei Statue. It offers modern rooms with a picturesque view of Almada. The tastefully-decorated rooms at the Mercure Lisboa Almada have an LCD TV with cable channels, a work desk and air conditioning. Free WiFi is provided throughout the hotel. Free indoor parking is available for the hotel's guests. The hotel was inaugurated in 2010 and was the 1st 4-star hotel in Almada. The hotel offers a restaurant serving international dishes inspired by the Portuguese gastronomy, and a new lounge concept with a variety of freshly prepared juices, teas and flavoured waters, as well as refreshing mocktails and other non-alcoholic drinks. Lisbon's popular historic centre is 9 km away, featuring iconic areas like Chiado, Rossio and Bairro Alto. The hotel is 3.7 km from the Forum Almada shopping centre. Mercure Lisboa Almada is only a few steps from Almada's centre. It is also near the A2 highway and the ferry, railroad and light rail stations. Lisbon International Airport is 17 km from the Mercure Lisboa Almada. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, getaroom.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Lisboa Almada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing