We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Literally a re-treat”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Auroville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Temple Tree Retreat
Ranked #3 of 25 Auroville B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 16, 2014

We stayed with Temple Tree Retreat during the Christmas of 2013. The rooms are comfortable, spacious and decorated in the most beautiful manner. The hotel is nice and quiet and the little house/room for meditation is wonderful.

The hosts are one of a kind.... Wonderful breakfast and helpful with any request we had. We will be back.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helene B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (36)
There are newer reviews for Temple Tree Retreat
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 36 reviews

Reviewed March 8, 2014

Of All the places I have stayed, this one is WITHOUT A DOUBT my favorite. The setting and tasteful decor coupled with the vivid landscape will leave you in sheer awe as you are transported to a different planet where Utopia is a reality.

Setting: Beautiful landscaping, elegant ponds with fountains, and a breeze that is to die for.

Service: You are treated like ROYALTY. And yes, it is capitalized for a reason. The owners Nalin and Gabriela are so friendly, they make you believe that the world B a truly magical place filled with good people.

Value for Money : I paid 5000 for a room for 1 night and when you see what this place has to offer, Money is never an issue.

We were in the orange cottage and let me tell you, the cottages are very comfy with great decor and high ceilings. The furnishing is great and with a very modern designer feel.

All in all, this is one spot you don't want to miss.

Not to mention the breakfast is varied, delicious, and will leave you begging for more.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
2  Thank ArvinThomasIssac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

I was there few years ago when it was just opend. I m so glad to find now this location on trip advaisor
The room is it was so big ...very confortable , great taste, great breakfast in the terrace not last the very nice conversation with owner !!
I suggest to rent a motobike then the beach is at ten minuts ..Pondy halph hour ..and close to Auroville
I will be back soon

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sagadawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Nalin & Gabriella welcome you into their "Non Hotel " as a guest in their home.Beautiful and spacious, the retreat is a place where you can transcend into another mental plane. The soothing architecture with lots of water bodies instantly relaxes you. The rooms are spacious and as inviting as the outdoors. The furnishings are very elegant and tasteful. A weight gain alert ! - you will be spoilt by them at the breakfast table with the choice of cereals, Breads, viennoserie, Cheese, eggs, & Fruits. On some days there were piping hot idlis and wadas. Chef Nalin can rustle up some superb egg dishes too!
On our first trip to Auroville , we were welcomed with loads of information and introductions to various people to make our visit fruitful.
My artist wife was inspired to paint a few canvases on our stay there.
We will surely be back and recommend this place to everyone.

Room Tip: The green and purple room are the closest to the lounge and have a larger garden at the back.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DhirenK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2013

Temple Tree Retreat is a beautiful place physically - the grounds are lovely, the rooms are high design, and the atmosphere is tranquil, regardless of the hustle and bustle of the roads outside the gate. Breakfasts are also delicious and plentiful.

No matter how lovely the surroundings, it's the owners, Nalin and Gabriella, make it unique with their hospitality and help to a very clueless first-time visitor and a woman alone.

India is not easy, and Auroville can be confusing. The staff was so kind and helpful when I got a little sick from eating food outside the hotel. Then, when the kiosk couldn't get me a sim card after a week, Nalin brought me one, put it in my phone, and charged it for me. He planned my trip, taking care of all the customer service people who can be very challenging to work with here. He found me cabs here and in Cochin. Everything was taken care of, as though this were a big luxury hotel.

Gabriella and Nalin make India a very foreign place very easy to be. I recommend it unreservedly.

I loved my stay. I'd recommend it unreservedly.

Room Tip: All rooms are cottages. The only thing that is a little confusing is the light switches (there are...
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 56NewYorkerInLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

I paid 4500 INR for a cottage /room in this B&B. The place is simply stunning and looks like you've stepped into a Wallpaper Magazine design special. Sleek, modern furniture, clean lines, lots of space, airy rooms with large bathroom.

All windows have musquito screen so you can leave them open instead of using the AC. The bungalows are set in a luscious garden with small streams and fountains. Beautiful and calming.

Breakfast was superb with both Indian and Western food, fresh fruit, and excellent masala chai. The owners are welcoming and helpful.

The one thing to be aware of is location- we had our own wheels and without those I don't know how you could get here.

I'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Hello_Bamboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank CecileM39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Auroville
2.1 mi away
No photo provided
The Tea Road
#3 of 3 in Auroville
4 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Promenade
The Promenade
#8 of 82 in Pondicherry
1,134 reviews
8.0 mi away
The Windflower Resort and Spa Pondicherry
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Olive de Villa
Olive de Villa
#2 of 25 in Auroville
71 reviews
0.7 mi away
Purple Resorts
Purple Resorts
#18 of 25 in Auroville
151 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Dune Eco Village & Spa
The Dune Eco Village & Spa
#38 of 82 in Pondicherry
739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Temple Tree Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Temple Tree Retreat

Address: Bommalapalayam - Kuilapalayam Road | Opp: Djaima, Kuilapalayam, Auroville 605101, India
Location: India > Union Territory of Pondicherry > Auroville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Auroville
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With six en-suite rooms offering peace and tranquillity within the Temple Tree Retreat’s 4,000 m² of luscious tropical gardens, guests are offered a very private atmosphere with an individual porch and garden for each room. In addition to this you will always be heartily welcomed to thespacious common lounge and veranda area for interaction and communication with like-minded guests as well as with your hosts.Architecturally a blend of Western and Asian cultures, the buildings are set in green and colourful surroundings, which include lily ponds with fountains and a natural-water swimming pool open to the blue sky. A separate pavilion for meditation and for massage/fitness affords moments for rejuvenation. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing